We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dimora del Podesta
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Eden Roc(Positano)(Great Value!)
$550
$520
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)(Great Value!)
$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
$241
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$458
$429
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,020
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$753
$715
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,767
$1,475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast(Positano)(Great Value!)
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Hotel Savoia(Positano)(Great Value!)
$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
202
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairsb bhonesty barevery morningfamily owned restaurantceiling fanfamily runrooms are hugevisit positanohelpful familyitalian coffeewonderful hospitalityplace to staybalcony overlooking the seabed and breakfastamazing hostsbreakfast is served
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 218 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This B&B is a 10min stroll away from the center of Positano. The value (compared to B&Bs and hotels in Positano itself) is absolutely great! We had a gorgeous, spacious room with a balcony and sea view.
This is a true find, and we definitely would come back to Pietro and his family, who made this stay something special - Thank You.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectic_ccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights in beautiful Positano and decided to stay at this small b&b after looking at the reviews. Pietro has been very fast in replying my emails and made sure everything was well taken care of even before we reached. The two rooms were perfect, esp La Musica, which can easily fit 3 persons and has a long balcony where 5 of us had breakfast every morning. I was initially abit worried at the lack of air-conditioning as we were there during peak summer, but the room was so cooling at night with the breeze from the sea. Pietro would come by every morning to serve breakfast at our balcony and gave us advice on our plans for the day. And the family restaurant right below was also a lovely place to have dinner every night. We enjoyed sitting at the balcony listening to the jazz band who would come by every night to perform for the restaurant guests.

Room Tip: La Musica is the best room, corner room and spacious, router inside the room so wifi reception is always very strong.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i-ben10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

One of the best accommodation experiences we have had was at Dimora del Podesta. Five nights spent in La Musica room was an absolute joy. The room was so spacious and light filled and furnished very tastefully.
The highlight though was the breakfast out on the balcony in the sun. The croissants! ! I miss them already.
Many thanks to Pietro and Elia - you made our stay so enjoyable. We are most grateful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OzeRooRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had narrowed down our B&B choice to 2 places in Positano and went with Dimora because they could guarantee that we would get a room with a view of the ocean. We could not have been more pleased. We were in the Las Musica Room and it was huge – there was a queen sized bed with nightstands and dresser, and then a whole additional part of the room that had a sofa and a large coffee table. There was an attached bathroom that also had a separate vanity area so there was plenty of space. We had 2 sets of French doors that lead out to the balcony. I only got a quick peek at one other room, but browsing through the other traveler’s pictures, it does seem that La Musica is by far the largest room. I am not sure how rooms are assigned but we booked it a few months in advance and stayed 5 nights. I am also not sure if there is a price differential between the rooms as we were only quoted one price, and were not given any option between the rooms.

The view is lovely as the rooms are on the 2nd floor. There is an ocean view. Because of how the town is situated on the mountain side, there are limited views of the town itself, but the ocean view alone is wonderful to wake up to. The balcony is a decent size and can fit a small table and chairs for breakfast to be served. Breakfast is served every morning starting at 8:30AM until 10:30AM and you simply open your door to let them know that you are ready, and one of the brothers will whisk in with croissants, toast, cereal, yogurt, an assortment of cookies, coffee, juice, and milk. I think they may have baked the croissants themselves as a few mornings, the hallway smelled delicious, like a bakery. There was one morning where no one was to be found until 9AM, but fortunately we did not have any buses to catch and thus could enjoy a more leisurely breakfast. There is a small kitchen area on the same floor where guests can only use the fridge for storage. There is an “honesty bar” in case someone is in dire need of snacks in the middle of the night. There is free internet in the rooms and it was great to be able to check your email on the balcony while enjoying the ocean view.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is decorated with colorful tiles. This B&B and run by 2 brothers, and the 3rd brother works in the restaurant next door, which is owned by the same family. We did eat there once, and as mentioned by others, you get a 10% discount for staying in the B&B. There was what sounded like live music at the restaurant a few days of the week which last until 10:30 or 11PM which could be heard from the room. The brothers are very kind and helpful. It is located closer to the smaller beach, but about halfway up the hill. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the main beach if you take the stairs as shortcut. Coming back up on the road (less steep than taking the stairs), it’s about a 20 min walk. It is closer to the chiesa nuova SITA bus stop (the first one coming from Sorrento) in front of Bar Internacional – but be warned that there is a decent amount of stairs heading back up to the bus stop (there are a lot of stairs everywhere though), or you can choose to walk along the curvy road and the switchbacks to avoid stairs. The local Positano bus stop is just down the street from the B&B.

We really enjoyed our time in Positano. If you like sweets, I highly recommend La Zagara which is located closer to the main part of town (take away prices are cheaper so do take away and eat them on your balcony with the ocean view!). We hope to go back someday and would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend & I had the great pleasure of staying at Dimora del Podesta but for only 2 nights in early July, 2013; we wished we had more time to stay, and hope to return. We had the Mimi suite, and loved it!! It was very clean and bright and spacious, updated, and had a very inspiring view of the sea and the village when you opened the french doors out to the patio. Pietro and his family are very warm and gracious, hospitable. This was our favorite B&B while visiting Italy; the family treated us like royalty! Soon after opening our door in the morning, Pietro was ready to set up our patio for a private breakfast of caffe, juice, croissants and heart- shaped cookies, cereal, and yogurt. I also loved having the kitchen available for us (on an honor system) to satisfy a thirst for soda, beer, water, or wine. A nice touch. Pietro provided wonderful information about Positano and the Amalfi Coast area, on things to do along the coast and in town, and was more than willing to make a call to reserve a great spot on Fornillo Beach - the smaller, more secluded beach, which we preferred. We went to dinner both nights at the family restaurant with a 10% discount for being guests at the B&B. Terrific food and fabulous service!! We highly recommend Dimora del Podesta as homebase in Positano & the Amalfi Coast!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdcChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews