We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Positano”
Review of Dimora del Podesta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dimora del Podesta
Ranked #6 of 54 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We took our daughter on a European trip for a birthday present in march 2013. Our trip included a two night stay in Positano. We stayed at Dimora del Podesta after reading trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The road into Positano is a one way circular drive down to the coast. This bed and breakfast is nicely situated about half way down. So it's an easy walk down to the sea and it isn't too far to walk back up! The best part is looking out on the balcony to the sea below and the houses on the hills above us. The weather was nice enough to have our breakfast set up for us on our balcony. We were delighted with the two brothers who helped us check in and counseled us on the best way to tour the Amalfi coast... Even providing us with tour books and maps. A nice benefit was their restaurant next door to the rooms. After a long day of driving, it was a relief to be able to relax, enjoy the view and walk down some stairs then walk outdoors a few steps and have dinner!
Our room was very clean and the family who run this bed and breakfast were very friendly and accommodating. I recommend Dimora del Podesta. I would definitely stay here again when returning to the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisemom321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

A friend and I are doing a masters program in Florence and decided that for our spring break, we wanted to go to Naples and Positano. After the frenetic chaos that was Naples, Dimora del Podesta in Positano was the most perfect, relaxing tonic! I wish we had planned to stay there longer! Pietro and Elia were SO nice, always available to answer my questions via phone or email, and were waiting to greet us and give us a tour of the facilities upon our arrival. The hotel room was absolutely gorgeous - it felt like a palace! - and we had a private balcony looking out over the Mediterranean. Absolutely stunning. The beds were luxuriously large and comfortable, and I can't stress enough how charming the decor was. Breakfast in bed the next day was a real treat, as was the family's delicious restaurant located right below the B&B. The food there was amazing (best pizza I've ever had outside of Naples), and as guests of the B&B we got special treatment - free prosecco, limoncello, and a discount on our meals! Location is central, service was phenomenal, and the price was very reasonable (35 Euro/person), especially for two budget-minded grad students. The only tricky thing is getting to Positano itself - the metro del mare was not running in the winter, so we had to take the Circumvesuviana to Sorrento, and from Sorrento catch the Sita Bus to Positano. On the return trip, the Sita bus was very full, and we got the last two seats. I imagine this would be more of a problem in high season, but in any case, a little bit of careful planning is necessary for a successful and stress-free Positano trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyJay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 teenagers and 1 child) booked this online. we stayed in a very large room which had a fireplace, balcony, couch, coffee table and still plenty of room for a cot and another single bed. the room and bathroom were both very clean, beds were comfortable, the balcony had a beautiful view and the breakfast was better than expected. We opted for breakfast in our room, because the morning was a little chilly. they provided everything we wanted, and more. (croissants, toast, bread, trancetto, capuccino, juice, cereal, not eggs or bacon). They were able to assist with all of our questions about things to do and see. They assisted us with bringing our luggage up the flight of stairs and made arrangements for parking very close. Their restaurant was very good and reasonably priced for the quality. the only bad thing is that we were only staying one night. would love to go back and make it our home base for exploring the coast. If you're thinking about it, book with them!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My twin sister, myself and my niece went to Italy for holiday but didn't expect feeling so much at home at Dimora del Podesta. I can't say enough about this lovely little hotel and the family who ran it...one of the highlights of our trip. We had the corner room which was large by Italian standards, very clean and perfect for three people. The weather was amazing so we could keep our balcony doors open for a beautiful breeze from the lovely little balcony where we had breakfast every morning. After a day of hiking, exploring and boating we were excited to have a glass of wine on our balcony, enjoying the view and people watching. We also fell in love with their family restaurant and the pizza we enjoyed there almost every night.

We can't wait to return.

Rosanne, Joanne & Gabrielle

Room Tip: Corner room had the largest space and lovely balcony (narrow but nice). This is Europe so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dimora del Podesta is run by a warm, friendly family, who seem happy to go out of their way to be helpful. Thanks to their advice and information, we explored areas we might otherwise have missed. Our room was lovely and perfectly clean, with the most comfortable bed and pillows of our entire trip, lots of storage, and a balcony overlooking Positano and the sea. Other than the occasional gypsy music performance at the restaurant below, it was also very quiet. Continental breakfast was served on the flower-entwined balcony, and we loved sipping our morning coffee, while gazing at the beautiful town and the sea. Next to us was a larger suite-style room and bathroom (unfortunately beyond our budget), exquisitely designed and decorated in Mediterranean style. The colors, tile work, and furnishings combined to make it the most beautiful room and bathroom we'd seen in a B&B or hotel. The location, halfway between the port and the top of the town, made it easy to take the stairways up or down for the various buses (some stop near the port and some above the town) and ferries to other areas of the Amalfi coast. It's also closer to the quieter, more local beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a wonderful stay....the room was very spacious and pristine! The balcony and terrace overlooked Positano and it's shores. The Fornillo district of Positano is a must....much quieter and less touristy with better restaurants.

Pietro, Elia and the family were so hospitable....they own the restaurant located next to the B&B which is really convenient! Breakfast was served every day in the room on the terrace so you could enjoy the beautiful flowers and sweeping views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PathologicalTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived to our bed & breakfast, we were greated by the family. The bed & breakfast was located on top of their four generation owned resturant. Rooms were Very clean and comfortable. They had down feather pillows and blanket. Comfortable sized personal bathroom with tub. We had French doors opening to our balcony where we enjoyed breakfast. Breakfast was not only brought to our room but set up for us on our balcony. This was a very beautiful experience. The family was Very kind and warm!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 38 in Positano
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Casa Nilde
B&B Casa Nilde
#13 of 54 in Positano
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#2 of 54 in Positano
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Liparlati
Maison Liparlati
#14 of 54 in Positano
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimora del Podesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimora del Podesta

Address: Via Pasitea 256, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $133 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed&Breakfast Dimora del Podestà is located in Positano that is one of the most beauty place of the exclusive Amalfi coast.It's the perfect solution for relaxing holiday or short stay...Come and discover the atmosphere of a simple ancient house in the heart of this little paradise on earth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Dimora del Podesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing