We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to get away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Nettuno
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to get away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wow, absolutely phenomenal views from your room at Villa Nettuno. The balcony opened up to the ocean and I just couldn't stop staring out from it! It felt like such a secret getaway and I loved the place very much.

The rooms, are as promised, very simple. It offers basic beds, closets, and a desk/chair to eat at. There's no TV or internet, but there are also individual AC units, which is the only necessary thing in the summer heat! Bathrooms were also huge -- but there are no shower curtains (please install them!) so water splashed everywhere.

I was helped by Claudio, who was an extremely friendly old man and made my stay super great! He smiled a lot, was good to make recommendations for restaurants (Saracen D'oro, super good), and was extremely genuine and willing to help.

The only downside about this place is you need to climb a LOT of stairs! Once you enter the "Villa," you need to climb maybe 3-4 flights of stairs up to the main building. Once you reach the main building, you need to climb again another 2-3 flights of stairs up to your room. If you have a lot of luggage, this might be problematic. I only carried a day bag with me, so it was very easy... but I can imagine if you had a lot of luggage, I wouldn't be too happy about staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked a double room with ocean view and were given a family suite! The extra space was great. I think the upgrade was due to being on our honeymoon. The room was large and clean. Furniture was outdated but we liked the it. Water pressure in shower could've been better, but it was good enough. The balcony was great and the views breathtaking. There was a bar fridge in the room which was really handy. Claudio recommended some good restaurants too, the best was La Guarancino. It is a pretty long uphill walk to the hotel, but it's well worth it for the views. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I returned to Positano after 30 years absence and when I started to come down the hill towards Positano I was actually crying.....it completely overwhelmed me...again!
My partner, my 23yo daughter and I stayed at Villa Nettuno (me for the second time) and it was all that I had been bragging about. It is a very modest, no frills place but the views are absolutely breathtaking.
We had a little fridge in our room, a fabulous little balcony and the view.......
We had two separate rooms, and the bathroom was large and roomy for the three of us. Both had the balconies and my daughter's had another window with another sensational view of the town below.
Claudio, the owner, could never do enough for us......heapful with anything we asked for.....recommended some fantastic places to eat (Saraceno d'Oro) the BEST.
I shall return again and again
Thank you CLaudio for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and we felt like this place was some sort of secret! The room is fantastic! It's large, has amazing views, with a good size bathroom and private balcony. You get a small fridge, room furntiture and beach towels on request. The room isn't flashy but simple and clean. No wifi or breakfast but for only 80 euros who cares? You can get free wifi when you dine at most restaurants on the beach front anyway. The owner is amazing! It felt like staying with family. This was the cheapest of anywhere we stayed in Europe but definitely one of our favourites. We would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

My fiance and I just left Positano after staying 6 nights in Villa Nettuno. The room was fantastic. Large but simple with the most spectacular view of the ocean and the coastline. Good oportunity to walk off all the pizza, pasta and wine as its perched up the hill. If you want facilities such as a restaurant, pool, TV, WiFi, maybe this is not the place for you. But if you want the best view and best value room in Positano, you could not be disappointed. Claudio the owner is absolutely lovely and so very helpful. Would recommend this place to anyone and would return in a heart beat :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 days over Easter. The room was large and a very reasonable price for the area. Claudo, the manager, went out of his way to provide us with information on Positano and the surrounding area. The view was spectacular, it was sensational to wake up and view the coast and the mountains from our balcony. The room was cleaned daily and had a small fridge, couch, wardrobe and desk. The shower pressure needed a boost but in an old building you can't have everything.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful hotel overlooking the sea in July 2011. If you are looking for a Hilton, you will be dissappointed. However, if you are looking for a quaint, distinctive, clean place with among the best views ever, you will like it. I was glad to read other review which showed that most had a similar love of the place. We had adjoining rooms on the top floor and it was perfect for a family.

The host was somewhat shy, but charming and very welcoming and helpful. While every place we stayed in Greece on our trip had very welcoming hosts, that was not always the case in Italy for us (no one was rude, just a little less interested in making us feel welcome). However, the owner here was really great and helped make our stay very pleasant.

The only downside was the hotel is a good distance/height above the beach so if you do not want to/like to/can't walk far, this may not be the best location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nettuno

Property: Villa Nettuno
Address: Via Pasitea 208, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nettuno Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing