We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B and excellent value”
Review of Villa Palumbo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Palumbo B&B
Ranked #22 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B and excellent value”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a lovely B&B and would highly recommned it. It is a little away from the beach and you wil have to either get the stairs down or catch a bus down. Bus stop is not far from the B&B and you can get the internal poitano one or the SITA one coming from amalfi etc.

The breakffast is delivered to your room and its very nice and the owners are politce and charming. no complaint with this place and would hghly recommend it.

The wifi did not work in our room. The phones say they are connected but couldnt get it to work but that was the only complaint.

Room Tip: Ask to have a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
84
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and we had a great time.
The room is very clean and cozy and the administrator is very friendly and helpful.
I recommend this B&B, even though some will say that it is far from the beach, because in your way down you have the possibility to enjoy again and again the incredible view.
I would recommend the following Restaurant C"era una volta..., Bar- Pizeria, Tratoria - Via G. Marconi no. 127. It is very near to the hotel, very good food, very good served and cheap as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This B&B is excellent value for money with fantastic views of Positano from your balcony where the breakfast is served every morning - lovely! The room was a good size with everything you need & clean towels every day. The owners live on site and are always around if you need anything. It is close to the bus stop for the local circular bus down into Positano and for others taking you along the Amalfi Coast. There are lots of steps into town. We normally walked down & got the bus back - its only about 5 minutes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 1 night here and its located about 10 mins walk (via lots of steps), from the centre of Positano. The rooms are clean, spacious and the bed is large and comfortable. By far the selling point of this place is the beautiful balcony with great views of the town. Breakfast is served on the balcony each morning and is simple but sufficient.

Great value for money and excellent service! Thanks Antonio and hopefully see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissApril77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in Positano. Originally we'd booked a much more expensive hotel with a sea view, but then spotted this one and thought it looked charming. It didn't disappoint. The staff are lovely, really helpful and friendly. The rooms are beautifully refurbished and immaculately clean with a great shower room and our own balcony with an amazing view over Positano.
Each morning breakfast is brought to your room and it was delightful to take this on the balcony. Breakfast is served from 8 till 10.30 so we explained that as we needed to leave at 7am on the day we were checking out, we wouldn't be able to have breakfast. The nice man said they could serve it early, if we called him at 6.30, he could bring breakfast then. We called and breakfast arrived in 5 minutes.
All this for 80 euros a night.
We loved Positano and we will definitely return and we will certainly stay at the Villa Palumbo.
Just one other thing, parking is very restricted. There are a few private car parks but they are expensive. Parking on the street is very limited with lots of residents only bays and meters were 3 euros an hour. We parked for free but it was about a mile out of town on the first day and moved the car onto a meter on day 2.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaDri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, when I booked Villa Palumba and put it's price into perspectice (relative to Positano as a whole), I was skeptical that it would even go close to meeting the expectations set by the Trip Advisor reviews. I was wrong.

The staff are exceedingly friendly - albeit somewhat limited with their english, but this is my fault for being so poor with Italian. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, but the highlight is certainly having breakfast served on your private balcony overlooking Positano from the Villa's lofty perch. It's an incredible experience to wake up to every morning.

The best advice I can give is to ensure that you get off at the FIRST Positano bus stop (top of the hill). The villa is a short walk from here. I was too consumed by the view to realise I had missed the stop, and consequently had to hike through the town from the other side, then all the way up the hill with my backpack including about 8kg of camera equipment. Not nice. Also, be sure to use the shortcuts that are mere narrow staircases.. much quicker than following the road.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I are 26 and took a 9-day Italy trip (2 in Positano). This B and B was phenomenal. Here's why (labeled by what's important to me):

1. Safety- Safe place to begin with, but locked gate and double locked room doors. We never felt unsafe.

2. Location- Although you have to descend/ascend 300 stairs to get to/from the center of town, the top of the stairs is about 15 ft. down the street of the B and B. But if you have bad hips/bad knees you may want to get a B and B in the center of town (or not go to Positano at all- just see Cinque Terra). Views were phenomenal for the price (we paid ~80E/night, I'd heard of 100+ for alley views), from our balcony we could see the whole town (almost the water but not quite). It was also sort of perched in between the two beaches.

3. Service/friendliness- Staff were great. It was quiet, they didn't speak much English, but they were super nice (wouldn't accept any tip). Very helpful when asking about town. We had breakfast included, and each morning all we had to do was call, and ten minutes later they would bring breakfast (and an actual good one, by European standards) to our balcony to eat and watch the morning unfold on the town. So awesome.

4. As far as cleanliness, toilet, shower, etc. everything was great. We even had an extra bed just for kicks apparently.

Room Tip: I think we were in 14, which I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Positano B&B
Positano B&B
#38 of 48 in Positano
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Casa Belvedere
B&B Casa Belvedere
#27 of 29 in Positano
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#13 of 48 in Positano
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Verde
Villa Verde
#39 of 48 in Positano
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Palme
Hotel Villa delle Palme
#7 of 48 in Positano
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Antonietta
Villa Maria Antonietta
#21 of 48 in Positano
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Palumbo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Palumbo B&B

Property: Villa Palumbo B&B
Address: Via Pasitea 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
villa palumbo is a bed & breakfast family owned where you will find all the courtesy and hospitality. An ideal location of tranquilly and quiet created to enjoy one of the most enchanting landscape in the world positano the pearl of the amalfi coast.Villa palumbo provide air conditionated rooms,minibar,internet wireless,private bathwith shower,and phon. Every room has a view terrace surrounded of flowers, a delicious breakfast is served'till 11,00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Palumbo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing