We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montemare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montemare
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
La Quinta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

VIEWS, VIEWS, VIEWS!!!!! Beautiful Hotel high up the hill with stunning views of the Mediterranean. Bright and fresh rooms....Love this hotel! Great restaurant with beautiful views of the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolemotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    81
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
141
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, the room was large and clean though pretty basic. It's main attraction beside the beautiful view for us was the fact it had parking, as we hired a car in Naples and drove down the coast. However only the first 2 days of parking were free. One of the days we hired a scooter from Pipi's about 200m down the street towards the main beach and parking overnight for the scooter was free too. Wifi was fairly slow, but we found that everywhere we went in Italy. Service was only fair, yes we did have to carry on our luggage, but when we did have a question staff did try to help. The other big plus was the jacuzzi, which we filled every afternoon after walking back up the hill and used it to cool off. We dined at the restaurant one night because of it's beautiful view, however we had much nicer meals and service at other roadside restaurants around Positano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends for a long weekend in Positano.
The location is good, a short walk down to the heart of Positano's main square and shops.

The room was a good size, but very basic. The beds weren't very comfortable and the furnishings are a bit dated. The doors and locks were creaky and in need of replacement.

The low points was the service. The lady at reception greeted us with "Passports please" and didn't even advise us on breakfast, WiFi or anything about the hotel. There was no one to help us with our bags even though we were two levels below the reception level. We were told off by the same lady when we returned from our afternoon swim saying that we had to leave the keys in reception if we going to leave the premises. If she was helpful enough to tell us that upon check in, we would have!

Breakfast was basic and not very appetizing and the WiFi was barely available as it keep on dropping in and out and when connected was extremely slow.

We asked for extra towels only to be asked why? Don't you have any in your room?

Our friends were staying at a different hotel in Positano (Hotel Miramare) who had the sweetest, friendliest lady on reception who was more than happy to help us, even though we weren't staying at her hotel!!! It just made us think that we really lucked out with Hotel Montemare.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank farrahmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel - the review is regarding their restaurant. This restaurant takes advantage of its position in that it suckers you in to asking for a table they then proceed to deliver the poorest food and service in the whole of Campania! We had to ask for our main course, given no explanation and no apology. After asking the first time it still didn't arrive and the waiters seemed to do their best to avoid eye contact..... Positano has so many wonderful restaurants and most with great views so give this one a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ri1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have visited this hotel on many occasions and it has never disappointed. My husband and I made a point of visiting on our honeymoon. The rooms are wonderfully decorated in colourful tile. The location is just perfect as it is above the craziness of the tourist streets just below, and we didn't mind walking as we were able to take in the full length of the street shops. The hotel has a restaurant associated with it and the food is fantastic. The view at night time overlooking the water with all the boats lite up is quite the sight. Even if you decide on a different hotel - the restaurant is a great one to try out one night.
The family runs the restaurant and are very accommodating. Breakfast is held in this beautiful blue veranda overlooking the water - breathtaking.
We have recommended this time and time again to family and friends and they have never been disappointed.
Also, the price, can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is definitely not a 5 star...but was much nicer than most European 3 star hotels in my experience. Rooms are very large - and most have balconies w/ a spectacular view. Front desk was super helpful in providing info on the area (like where to catch the bus, copy of ferry schedule, etc). Even though I didn't love the breakfast (somewhat typical European fair of meats and cheeses, rolls, yogurt, and assorted pastries & fruit), it was nice to have it available. And the views overlooking the water from the terrace where breakfast was served were amazing! Cleaning service in the rooms each day was also excellent. Overall, I was thrilled w/ my stay...and would have given it a 5 rating had it not been so outrageously priced. TA price range listed was WAY lesss than the price per night that I paid.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Second_City_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have stayed here on two other occasions and love it. The view is fantastic and most of the rooms have a view, there is a fantastic balcony that overlooks the whole of positano with a restaurant and bar. Beautiful food. A family run hotel with staff very friendly. Breakfast is provided in the price and we could get a wide range of pastries, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cold meats. Tea, Coffee and Cappacucinos. Would definitely stay here again, the other good thing about this hotel is there is only a couple of steps from the hotel to the road. Rooms are extremely large and spacious with the most fantastic shutters on the windows as well. I think most of the rooms have balconies. On both occasions that we have stayed we have had a balcony. The website photos are extremely accurate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Talamo
Palazzo Talamo
#32 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#31 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemare

Property: Hotel Montemare
Address: Via Pasitea 119, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemare 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing