We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montemare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montemare
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Stunning views but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stunning views as everyone else has said although it depends on your room. If you're in the 'cheaper' rooms downstairs, room 40 and under are ok otherwise your view is partially obscured by an old house in front. We had room 40 and it was huge, spotless and nicely decorated with a great jacuzzi (actually worth using unlike some). The staff wereostly lovely as opposed to some comments on here especially the woman at reception that was pleasant and helpful (but yes, what is with the señora that sits and watches over everyone eating breakfast?).

Nice surprises were a free bottle of limoncello, free beach towels and a good varied breakfast with more amazing views.

Only bad points were the patchy wifi that would sometimes work in our room and sometimes not (but is fine in the foyer - and what is up with this infuriating Italian username and password ticket system? You will find you are logged out so often you'll know the password by heart). Also, the hall noise permeates the rooms as do neighbors footfalls from above and beside you (very annoying) - worst if some selfish person walks around on the tiles in heels. So sleeping with earplugs is on the agenda if you're noise sensitive.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes on almost all counts bar price - AU$900 for three nights? I know Positano is ridiculously expensive but I could stay in Sydney in 5 stars for that!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    85
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
154
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was perfect for us! We spent 3 days of our honeymoon here. It is a great little hotel, perfectly located, with the best view and a great restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful! We are already planning on returning next year =)

A stunning view that will not break the bank!!!! Absolutely stunning!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantonelli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

When we arrived, we noticed that the hotel is not in the level of the street, so we needed to walk down 2 stairs to get into the reception. After this, we had to walk down another stair, follow a corridor, to finally go down the last stair. It was definitely not easy with our big bags, considering that there was neither a porter nor a lift.
The so commented view was nice from the balcony we had breakfast, for sure, but not from our standard room, that was 50% filled by the roof of the house below us. I asked for another room but there was nothing available, except the one that would cost 3 times more what we have paid, and in our opinion, would not worth it.
The room was large enough, but the window was not working properly, so we were always “enlightened”, at night with the outside lights, during the morning with the sun light, so, if you like darkness to sleep, forget it. Also, because of the little street below our window, there were always people walking and talking, when not also screaming just below us. Although apparently clean, the bathroom was stinky, specifically next to the place where the toilet bowl was located.
The parking lot is located before the hotel, 5 minutes walking, and costs 20 Euros / night. We found another place, also close to this, that charged us 16 euros per night.
We will not come back again, and we do not recommend! But we have to thank Gian Luca, the very friendly receptionist that did his best trying to help us, he was really concerned, and nice.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms, and check the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleRafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel with it's great location - parking upon request on site - and very friendly staff was a highlight for us. Good value for money. The Il capitano restaurant has one of the greatest views, fantastic food and atmosphere.. The included breakfast was generous, fresh and again had wonderful views.. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend Hotel Montemare or to stay there again.

Room Tip: request a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyr2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

hotel has good views and clean rooms.....staff very unfriendly and unfair....views are great but the stafftakes their lead from the headmistress and she tries to be mean and intimidating....long walk to beach....food is very average.....a good value but i will never stay nor would i recommend to others because of the very poor staff.....it was satisfactory for a late booking one month before travel.....they do not have a great deal of repeat business

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciraldoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

I cannot comment on the hotel, but had the misfortune to try their sister restaurant 'il Capitano'.
We were lured by the fantastic views from the terrace; but were left sorely disappointed by the service.
We ordered food, but key ingredients listed on the menu were missing. The hygiene was questionable, the waiters were rude, dishonest and argumentative. I ordered a glass of wine, it was a large glass with the smallest amount of wine, to the extent of being laughable. When I mentioned this the waiter simply said, "more would be too much" which when translated means "that's all there was left in the bottle and I'm not opening another one for you"! The waiter admitted that the soup was from a can!

Do not be swayed by the views, if the view is amazing, the food rarely is. There are 40 other restaurants between here and the harbour.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bonvoyage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

The view of the room is amazing! Our room was big, clean and with a great jaccuzzi. But the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscilaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#32 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemare

Property: Hotel Montemare
Address: Via Pasitea 119, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemare 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing