We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
156
100
20
5
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
100
20
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil capitanobeautiful viewsuperb staysuperior deluxebig bathroomrooftop bardining terraceair conditionerstayed at this hotel for nightsbreakfast roommaking reservationsthe room was niceother hotelsjacuzzi tubstar hotellounge chairsmain beach
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 293 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was perfect for us! We spent 3 days of our honeymoon here. It is a great little hotel, perfectly located, with the best view and a great restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful! We are already planning on returning next year =)

A stunning view that will not break the bank!!!! Absolutely stunning!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantonelli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

When we arrived, we noticed that the hotel is not in the level of the street, so we needed to walk down 2 stairs to get into the reception. After this, we had to walk down another stair, follow a corridor, to finally go down the last stair. It was definitely not easy with our big bags, considering that there was neither a porter nor a lift.
The so commented view was nice from the balcony we had breakfast, for sure, but not from our standard room, that was 50% filled by the roof of the house below us. I asked for another room but there was nothing available, except the one that would cost 3 times more what we have paid, and in our opinion, would not worth it.
The room was large enough, but the window was not working properly, so we were always “enlightened”, at night with the outside lights, during the morning with the sun light, so, if you like darkness to sleep, forget it. Also, because of the little street below our window, there were always people walking and talking, when not also screaming just below us. Although apparently clean, the bathroom was stinky, specifically next to the place where the toilet bowl was located.
The parking lot is located before the hotel, 5 minutes walking, and costs 20 Euros / night. We found another place, also close to this, that charged us 16 euros per night.
We will not come back again, and we do not recommend! But we have to thank Gian Luca, the very friendly receptionist that did his best trying to help us, he was really concerned, and nice.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms, and check the view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleRafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel with it's great location - parking upon request on site - and very friendly staff was a highlight for us. Good value for money. The Il capitano restaurant has one of the greatest views, fantastic food and atmosphere.. The included breakfast was generous, fresh and again had wonderful views.. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend Hotel Montemare or to stay there again.

Room Tip: request a sea facing room.
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyr2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

hotel has good views and clean rooms.....staff very unfriendly and unfair....views are great but the stafftakes their lead from the headmistress and she tries to be mean and intimidating....long walk to beach....food is very average.....a good value but i will never stay nor would i recommend to others because of the very poor staff.....it was satisfactory for a late booking one month before travel.....they do not have a great deal of repeat business

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciraldoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I cannot comment on the hotel, but had the misfortune to try their sister restaurant 'il Capitano'.
We were lured by the fantastic views from the terrace; but were left sorely disappointed by the service.
We ordered food, but key ingredients listed on the menu were missing. The hygiene was questionable, the waiters were rude, dishonest and argumentative. I ordered a glass of wine, it was a large glass with the smallest amount of wine, to the extent of being laughable. When I mentioned this the waiter simply said, "more would be too much" which when translated means "that's all there was left in the bottle and I'm not opening another one for you"! The waiter admitted that the soup was from a can!

Do not be swayed by the views, if the view is amazing, the food rarely is. There are 40 other restaurants between here and the harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank bonvoyage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews