We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
156
99
20
5
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
99
20
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil capitanobeautiful viewsuperb staysuperior deluxebig bathroomrooftop bardining terraceair conditionerstayed at this hotel for nightsbreakfast roommaking reservationsthe room was niceother hotelsjacuzzi tubstar hotellounge chairsmain beach
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 292 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel with it's great location - parking upon request on site - and very friendly staff was a highlight for us. Good value for money. The Il capitano restaurant has one of the greatest views, fantastic food and atmosphere.. The included breakfast was generous, fresh and again had wonderful views.. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend Hotel Montemare or to stay there again.

Room Tip: request a sea facing room.
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyr2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

hotel has good views and clean rooms.....staff very unfriendly and unfair....views are great but the stafftakes their lead from the headmistress and she tries to be mean and intimidating....long walk to beach....food is very average.....a good value but i will never stay nor would i recommend to others because of the very poor staff.....it was satisfactory for a late booking one month before travel.....they do not have a great deal of repeat business

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciraldoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I cannot comment on the hotel, but had the misfortune to try their sister restaurant 'il Capitano'.
We were lured by the fantastic views from the terrace; but were left sorely disappointed by the service.
We ordered food, but key ingredients listed on the menu were missing. The hygiene was questionable, the waiters were rude, dishonest and argumentative. I ordered a glass of wine, it was a large glass with the smallest amount of wine, to the extent of being laughable. When I mentioned this the waiter simply said, "more would be too much" which when translated means "that's all there was left in the bottle and I'm not opening another one for you"! The waiter admitted that the soup was from a can!

Do not be swayed by the views, if the view is amazing, the food rarely is. There are 40 other restaurants between here and the harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank bonvoyage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The view of the room is amazing! Our room was big, clean and with a great jaccuzzi. But the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriscilaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Upon our arrival we were greeted by an older woman who knew our names prior to our saying a word. My wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon and were looking for a comfortable room with a view second to none. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious, the bathroom enormous and so spotless you would have thought it had never been used before. And the view! Beyond words beautiful We had a huge terrace which we fully enjoyed every day. Gianluca was especially helpful with making dinner reservations and securing transportation to restaurants as well as ferry and limo service. We fell in love with Positano and Hotel Montemare was the perfect spot for an unforgettable memory in our lives. We look forward to returning and celebrating special occasions at The Hotel Montemare

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scottay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews