We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, rustic, stunning views and lovely Carlo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked this hotel based on reviews and sooo glad we did. Arrived in Positano by bus from Amalfi (make sure you get off at second Sita bus stop in Positano (from Amalfi) called 'Chiesa Nuova'. A downward stroll with luggage to the hotel (which all the locals we asked knew well) took about 15 minutes. Very glad we didn't arrive by boat as Positano is very steep and the hotel is situated up high. Met Carlo who was such a lovely host and so warm and welcoming. Our room no.4 was smallish but had everything we needed and was clean, basic and rustic in a charming and relaxing way. The real wow of this room was the view - just open the doors onto your private terrace and take in that amazing view of Positano! Definitely go for a room with a private terrace. Sitting in that sun having breakfast and relaxing there during the day was just the best. Absolutely the place to stay on a budget and for unforgettable views. Location was great and a stroll down to the nearby beach was easy but returning up those steps needed a bit more time! Lots of stylish restaurants nearby and a few little supermarkets as well. Would very happily return here! Thanks Carlo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 256 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews, it’s affordability and availability. I travelled to Positano with my family and booked 3 rooms. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. The location is good and it is located high up in Positano. It is rustic but that’s what we liked about it and one of our rooms had a magnificent terrace looking out to sea. Carlo who is the own/manager was adorable and so friendly and helpful. He was always available to help us. We needed to print our boarding cards and asked him about a printing service in town. He offered to let us use his own printer, but it wasn’t working at the time so he rang his sister who owns another hotel down the road. He arranged for us to use her printer. He didn’t have to but he did so with a smile. Another night we asked him if he sold water at the Pensione and he just gave us free bottle he had in his office. We asked about a Laundromat and Carlo said we could use the in-house washing machine. Carlo always went above and beyond his call of duty, which was touching. Can’t wait to come back to explore more of the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Here is the low-down: the rooms are basic and some are small, but you can't beat the location, price, or the views. The true gem of this place however, is darling Carlo, who will attend to your every need. He is so genuine and charming, a far cry from the glitterati and pretentiousness we found in every corner of Positano. It makes you feel like this is what the true Amalfi Coast is about. Views, nice people, and a rustic feel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelambbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I'd stay here again! The rooms were very simple but clean and a great price compared to others in Positano. The location is great - a nice view over the sea and town, but not too far to walk into town. There is also a great little roof terrace where you can have a nice picnic overlooking the sea! It's also a short walk to the beach which is much better than the main beach - less people and shops and the drinks at the beach bar's there are HALF the price of the bar's on the main beachfront.
But most of all, Carlos is lovely and very helpful! He even found a bread board for us to use on our rooftop picnic :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was recommended this pensione by my dad who had previously stayed here and I was not disappointed. The accommodation is very basic, but with the little time you actually spend in your room, its not a problem. The view from our private balcony (which you can also see from the shard terrace if you opt not to pay for a balcony) is just breathtaking. Many afternoons we would sit on our balcony after spending the day in the hot sun, and just watch and have a couple of drinks with an amazing view. Carlo is very friendly and was happy to answer any questions we did have.

Location wise, I think it is perfect because its sort of at the start of the hill, so you get to walk past everything in order to choose a restaurant. Carlo's family owns two restaurants very close by, and you get 10% off by going there. we ate at both of these restaurants are they were just devine. you are close to the beach, not the main beach but this beach is better! its less crowded and the chairs and umbrella's are half the price.

ONE small downside was that there was no aircon - which only meant we slept with the doors open and left them open during the day.

Cant wait to come back to positano and stay with Carlo again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a room with a private balcony, and the view was amazing !
There was a fridge in our room which was great, and some plates and cutlery, so we good eat on our balcony.
The only bad thing was that the bathroom stank.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra 10 Euro for a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Basic yes, there's not a lot of frills or lavishness to this place. However the view of the Amalfi Coast from our balcony was breathtaking, it was brilliant day or night. It is a little outside of the main tourist area of Positano but that made it all the better for us as it was too busy down there and it was nice to get away from it all. Also, it meant the prices were not as eye-wateringly high for other services.

They have family links to two restaurants nearby and offer a 10% discount which was nice, we ate in both and my favourite of the two was called Saraceno. They also offer a private taxi service which we used for getting to the airport, very handy.

The owner is a guy called Carlo, the happiest man on the planet and very nice to boot. Very helpful and good english.

Room Tip: I think ours was Room 3, and i'm pretty sure it was the best room in the house with the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#28 of 38 in Positano
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Address: Via Fornillo 42, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Price Range: $150 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing