We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view rules”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The view rules”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a room with a private balcony, and the view was amazing !
There was a fridge in our room which was great, and some plates and cutlery, so we good eat on our balcony.
The only bad thing was that the bathroom stank.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra 10 Euro for a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    93
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
35
127
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Basic yes, there's not a lot of frills or lavishness to this place. However the view of the Amalfi Coast from our balcony was breathtaking, it was brilliant day or night. It is a little outside of the main tourist area of Positano but that made it all the better for us as it was too busy down there and it was nice to get away from it all. Also, it meant the prices were not as eye-wateringly high for other services.

They have family links to two restaurants nearby and offer a 10% discount which was nice, we ate in both and my favourite of the two was called Saraceno. They also offer a private taxi service which we used for getting to the airport, very handy.

The owner is a guy called Carlo, the happiest man on the planet and very nice to boot. Very helpful and good english.

Room Tip: I think ours was Room 3, and i'm pretty sure it was the best room in the house with the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Of all the places we visited in Italy this May, Positano was one of our favorites. We stayed at the MariaLuisa Pensione for two nights. Carlo is the proprieter and was very helpful and accommodating helping us find shops, restaurants, and travel directions. His English is very good. We had the room with a balcony. The balcony provided a beautiful view and wonderful breezes, but you can’t sit out on it.
There are rooms that have private terraces and in the future we would reserve a room early enough to get one. There might have been around 8 rooms total and 4 with private terraces. We really liked our room which included a queen size bed, a small refrigerator, plates, glassware and utensils. Carlo even provided a carafe for our wine. Our bathroom was very nice however you must provide your own soap and shampoo. We used the common terrace often and enjoyed meeting some of the other guests. We would use the terrace to relax and have wine at dusk. As stated by other reviewers, the view from the terrace is exceptional. A computer and printer are provided in the common area used for meals. If you would like, you could purchase breakfast. To get to Positano, we took the bus from Sorrento which costs 3.60 euro one way and took about an hour. The bus moves quickly until it arrives in Positano and has to move very slowly on the narrow, curvy road. Most people like to sit on the right side of the bus so they can see the wonderful view. If there are no seats left on the right, try to get the seats on the left where there are no seats across the aisle due to the back door. This bus did not give us a choice to get dropped off at the top near the church, which would have been the preferred drop off point to get to the pensione. When the bus stopped to let everyone off, we got on the Internal Bus and got off at the Grotto stop which has many carved shrines right in the stone wall. Then the sign for the pensione was right there. We walked down the stairs about a block and it was right there. We passed donkeys coming up the stairs. Be aware that Positano is built on a hillside so you will be walking and climbing so wear good footware. We really enjoyed Positano and constantly wish we were there right now.

Room Tip: If possible try and get one of the rooms with a private veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Happytraveler1USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

they are very nice people, but unfortunaltly the room they had for us was not. They let us go to another hotel. I am allergic to cat and the cats were coming in and out of the room. We couldn't close the door to avoid the problem because no air conditioning and it was very hot and the very small bathroom was full of ants and very old and not so clean. The owner was coming in to but some ant powder to fix the problem. We had a room with a see view but our bed was not with a direct view to the sea , but was in a corner with no air, and no view ( has you can see on some pictures). My mother in law recommended it to me, I suppose some rooms are renovated or better than the one we had.
The beach with the chairs you see on pictures is a good walk from the hotel. Positano is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal_vacanciere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo M, Owner at Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Dear guest, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay!

We had a cat in the past when our guest stayed here. Today, we don't have any cat!

I'm also sorry about the ants: it happens that they come in summer time but we promptly eliminate them as soon as we or our guests spot them. We would also have offered a compensation if this would have helped to make you happy!

We provide electric fans for our rooms, which BTW remain pretty fresh in summer time!

Concerning the position of the bed in the room: we would have been happy to change location and place the bed where our guest preferred, if they had shared this with us!

We are always striving to improve!

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a lovely no-frills hotel that has gorgeous views of Positano, and is affordable compared to other Positano accommodations. We had a sea-view room which I felt was worth the extra money, since it had a good-sized balcony with gorgeous views, but we also checked out the public terrace that's available to all guests and I think it had the best view. The room we had was a little dated and the bathroom could have used some updating, but overall the room was spacious and comfortable. Carlo is really nice and made us feel very welcome. One thing to ask about is AC - our room didn't have air conditioning but luckily it was cool enough at night that it didn't matter, although I imagine in July and August it would be necessary!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you have Android, carry the offline (cached) maps of the area and use GPS to navigate to locate the hotel. Though its just off the main Positano thoroughfare, finding the exact side alley can be difficult, as you will see. This applies to not just Maria Luisa but most other places in the region. We were ourselves asked several times for directions by other arriving tourists with baggages while wandering about town later.

Note that Positano is located on a pretty steep hill. If you arrive by public transport, the SITA bus drops you off at main road towards the middle of the hill from where its around 1 km of a walk downshill, if you dont arrange for a taxi that is. There is a small mini bus that does the rounds inside Positano, but its frequency is every half an hour and I think they discourage luggage and/or charge extra for it. You could come by ferry from salerno/sorrento, but then its quite a walk from the marina too. The Fornillo beach is quite a downhill climb from the pensione, you cant be going up and down multiple times a day, unless you are super fit.

We statyed here for 2 nights in June 2013. As others have noted, its a pensione with great views, especially from the common patio on the top. Our room was clean and bright with soft pastel colors, (I think #14) had a view, I was hoping it would be the sea, but it was majorly the hill and if you stand near the window and peek out, you will get to see a 15 degree view of the sea. We had a double room with a mini fridge and cutlery in the room, which was great if you wanted to get breakfast, drinks etc and then have them on the patio. There was a microwave in the common area, which was great as my better half always prefers her coffee steaming hot. The double bed was actually two twin beds aligned together, so confirm that before booking.

It does have a homely feel to it and Carlo is every ready to help you out with questions. The ferry timetables and bus information is available which makes your day planning easier.The breakfast for 5 euro included coffee, bread, jam, butter, yogurt and fruit juice. Would be better if Carlo includes some meats and museli or cereals for an additional price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeptic_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and enjoyed the place! On the coast, it's close to the islands, the ruins and the volcano and transportation is easy with a 3-day card that covers train and buses. The room is basic but comfortable, the view is great and the owner is friendly and helpful. They offer a regular breakfast. Easy to find if you follow directions from the website and look for their name printed on the outside wall in big letters!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#37 of 39 in Positano
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#36 of 39 in Positano
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#28 of 39 in Positano
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Property: Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Address: Via Fornillo 42, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing