We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, but you may find better deals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pros :
*Great location
*Great terrace (shared or private depending on the room) on the sea
*Great veranda for breakfast
*Sympathetic business owner
*Clean
*Great breakfast

Cons :
*A little bit noisy (within the pensione)
*Bad bed (as usual in Italy). not to bad though
*Be careful to deals you make with the owner, and make sure he remembers the price / conditions (breakfast included) you discussed by email or when you arrive

Overall, this is a very great place to stay in, but we have actually found a better place for quite the same price in Amalfi in the next days. So, maybe, you can find better deals on the coast (maybe).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks end of Aug/Sept. Wonderful host Giancarlo. The property has a lot of charm but its very humble in standard. There are a lot of ants that appear daily but spray helps. Don't expect luxury. However the views from room 6 are amazing and the bed faces the sea. Even the bathroom has a sweet round window that faces the mountain villas. There is no fridge in room , shared ones only in lounge room on reception level. The lounge room is a beautiful space to enjoy and have a snack and meditate on the view! It's very quiet here as its not on main street. The beach is just below cliff, there are 1000 steps, not recommend for older people or little kids. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Pensione Maria Luisa on July 2012. We found everything we needed for a perfect stay: good price (70 euros for a double room without private balcony), good location (although it's a 15-minute walk from the center of the city, Positano is so small that the location is still great. Plus, as it's on top of the hill the views from the shared terrace are spectacular), the pensione is run by its owner (Giancarlo is very nice and hospitable) and although the mini fridge in our room was not working, we got access to one in the lounge area, which gave us the chance to buy groceries and drinks for breakfast. The pensione in itself is very simple, but it's the kind of place where you feel at home. There's a restaurant called Saraceno d' Oro located just 5 mintues away from the pensione where we had dinner several times. It's owned by one of Giancarlo's sisters and you get a 15% discount if you stay at the pensione. It's worth going, all the meals were just perfect.
You can get a continental breakfast for 5 euros at the pensione and there's a shared terrace with tables, chairs and umbrellas for having breakfast or just chilling out. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were recommended this pension by our friends who told us to book a sea view balcony room - they told us it was basic but very clean and great value given the beautiful views from the balcony. On arrival we were not disappointed. The room we had was large and clean and the balcony was huge with a table, 2 chairs, 2 sunloungers and a stunning view.

The room is perfect for those wanting to enjoy some meals in the pension - we went to a lovely delicatessen down the street on our first day and bought fresh fruit and yoghurt for breakfasts and meats, cheeses, olives etc for dinner time. The room has a reasonable sized fridge and provides clean plates, bowls and cutlery each day. Given how expensive restaurants can be in Positano we loved having the option to have dinner and wine on the balcony.

The location was also great, being located above Fornillo Beach - a beautiful clean beach which is much quieter and nicer than the main beach in Positano.

Overall we absolutely loved staying in this pension and thank Carlo for his lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Juke8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place was absolutely perfect! We are so grateful for Carlo, the owner, as he made our stay so easy and fun! Also, our view was incredible -- ten times better than the more expensive hotels up on the main street!! Please do yourself a favor and stay in this place -- and if you are a couple and you want a romantic view, please ask for Room #6! There is a huge private balcony overlooking the sea with a table and chairs -- you can eat there, or watch the sunset, or just sit and look at the beautiful view! The rooms are simple, but clean and very nice! Best place to stay in Positano!!!

Room Tip: Room #6: Huge private balcony overlooking the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amybroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, first in a room on the second floor without a private terrace, and then got a room with a private terrace for the last few nights. The first room was basic but inexpensive, but squeaky clean. I think the maids gave us new sheets and towels every day! The room was right next to a church bell (room 12), which was very, very loud. But the shared terrace was quite nice, had a great view and we met some other interesting guests here. The room with the private terrace (across the hall from room 12) was great - still basic but nicer than the first room. And the large private terrace (say 12 square metres) had a view that would rival any 300 euro suite! Just the beautiful blue Mediterranean with little fishing boats bobbing in the water. Carlo, the host, is quite friendly but unobtrusive, and was always willing to provide advice and directions.
Tips: on the opposite side of the one way street next to the pensione there is a small travel agency. We booked an afternoon tour of Pompeii. We ended up with a driver and 2 other couples in our own very clean van - and a private tour guide at Pompeii. Great value!
Also, if you hike the Path of the Gods, take the bus from Positano to Nocelle and then hike to Bomerano and return (4 hours). These are the easiest logistics and an easy hike. Where the bus drops you off near Nocelle go down the stairs and follow the signs.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private terrace are worth the extra money. Definitely stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilomycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in the Pensione Maria Luisa for 7 nights towards the end of May 2012. My travel buddy and I had the most amazing time in Positano and our accommodation made the stay even more wonderful. Located half way up the hill the Pensione was far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre but close enough to walk up and down to the smaller of the two main beaches (Spiaggia del Fornillo with its 387 steps one way), town centre, boat departure / arrival point and various restaurants daily. The location was perfect!! The accommodation was very reasonably priced and was basic, clean, comfortable and spacious with private shower / toilet in all rooms. Some rooms offered small balconies and some (on the rooftop level) offered larger balconies. The communal dining / kitchenette area had floor to ceiling glass windows and offered the most spectacular view over Positano as did the rooftop terrace!! The owner Giancarlo was so helpful and always available for a chat or to offer suggestions on what to do or where to dine in Positano. Overall the experience we had at this pensione exceeded our expectations. It had a wonderful family run and owned feel about it and this made the experience even more fabulous. I would certainly book again...actually I enjoyed it so much I would probably not stay anywhere else in Positano! I am planning to visit Giancarlo and the Pensione Maria Luisa again in 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juls_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#37 of 38 in Positano
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Address: Via Fornillo 42, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Price Range: $151 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing