We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and lovely terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo Punta Regina
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and lovely terrace”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Super friendly and service minded staff, great breakfast, stunning terrace with pool. We had a large and nice room however without balcony due to late booking. The Hotel took care of our car and luggage while we spent 3 days in capri after our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Åsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    79
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
98
487
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Forget Il San Pietro and La Sireneuse. Have dinner there. But spend 1/3 as much, and stay at the Punta Regina. Not only is it a great hotel with great rooms and terraces to die for, it has Francesca, who greets you everyday with the warmest smile, and takes care of your very need.

Because we booked late, we could not get the same room for all 3 nights....What luck!!!. Room 25 is medium-sized, but it has a terrace that is at least 500 sq feet, with flowers on both sides for privacy (the smell of the Jasmine was off-the-charts), and huge trumpet vines on the trellis overhead. As you sit there looking overlooking the rooftops, with the cliffs and sea in front and Positano rising on your right, the flower petals literally fall right on you. If that wasn't good enough, Room 33 is very large with the bed facing the sea and a small terrace -- only this terrace has an outdoor jacuzzi. When the clock struck 2 AM, I had to pry myself out.

The hotel sits just above the shopping district, sort of in the restaurant area, so it is out of the maximum bustle but not too far up the hill from the action. In the morning, have breakfast on the rooftop terrace (best bacon anywhere outside of Portugal), and in the afternoon spend some more time up there enjoying the pool, lounge chairs and view. When you get back to the hotel at night, the steps up to the l,obby are covered with flower petals from the bougenvelia overhead.

We learned of this hotel from our travel agent Marie Notot of Elegant Europe. She is recommended by the Karen Brown Guides, and knows how to find special places like the Punta Regina.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a beautiful experience to stay at this amazing location, in a hotel with stunning views
and friendly and helpful staff. We spent 4 nights here and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Roof top breakfast is just so beautiful and just lets you know that you have found a little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: We had a large terrace room, which is fine if you want to sit out on the terrace but I think a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Where do I begin? I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Firstly, the staff were amazing, so friendly, helpful & hospitable... nothing was ever too much for them, they went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect, particularly Francesca and John-Luigi! The rooms were spacious and cleaned three times daily! Our private terrace was huge and had amazing views! As did the rooftop where breakfast was served daily, best breakfast we had during our European travel! The hotel was about a 10min walk down the hill to the main area and restaurants and beach, I would definitely recommend taking the bus back to the hotel though unless you want a really good workout! Although there are also several restaurants metres away from the hotel. I loved everything about this hotel and Positano, one of the most beautiful towns I've been to! I would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
288 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,055 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed 4 days at this beautiful property. It´s located at the long via Pasitea, very close to the best city restaurants: "Next2" (Tripadvisor´s #3, 170 meters), "Da Vicenzo" (#4, 210 m), "Da Gabrisa" (# 9, 220 m), "Casa e Bottega" (#11, 600 m), "Saraceno D´Oro" (#12, 180 m), "Mediterraneo" (#17, 160 m).
There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, the ticket cost 1,20 Euro. If you chose walking it´ll take about 15 minutes to the main beach or 12 minutes to city center (downhill).

We booked a superior room with a sea view at the second floor (room 26). The views from our private terrace were fantastic! Our room was an average size but it had a massive terrace with panoramic view, a small table, 2 chairs and 2 lounge chairs. Very charming. Beds were extremely comfortable. Rooms were cleaned twice a day. WiFi signal was very strong.

Customer service was just perfect: Francesca and Giuseppina at reception; Pina at night turndown and Gian Luigi at breakfast. They were always dedicated to meet our needs.

Breakfast was superb and taken at the terrace (4th floor) with an extraodinary view.

We recommend Albergo Punta Regina 100%!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Punta Regina over Easter long weekend. They had just opened for the season but everything appeared to be up and running smoothly. We booked a Superior Deluxe Special room and we were a little confused upon arrival. The photos on their website are a bit deceiving. Under our room category, it showed very large rooms with outdoor spas on the terrace however our room was of average size and there definitely was not a spa outside. We did, however, have a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom which I suppose is what was promised in the write up on their website. It was because of the photos provided with the description that we were initially a little disappointed. Our room was fine, but I'm not sure what the difference is between the the Superior Deluxe Special, the Superior Deluxe and the Superior (aside from an average bathroom jacuzzi.)
With that said, our room was immaculate and the terrace was massive with a small table and chairs and two lounge chairs. Everything seemed of high quality within the room and the property as a whole was really well maintained. We were also impressed with the location. While it's not in the centre of town, it was an easy 10 minute walk down (a little longer on the way up) and there were plenty of restaurants nearby. It was nice to be a bit higher up for the views.
The service at the Punta Regina is really what helped this hotel excel. Francesca was so lovely and helpful. Upon asking for restaurant recommendations, she immediately pulled out a map and drew on 12 options all of varying degrees which were invaluable for our time in Positano. She was also great about helping us with excursions or anything we wanted to do. In addition, the gentlemen who worked at the breakfast bar always remembered our coffee order without having to ask. We loved the personal feel never once having to give our room number or name. We also had the hotel arrange our transfer to and from Naples which was well worth it.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Punta Regina and only wish we had more time to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. The room was large and had amazing views. The hot tub bath outside on the terrace was so good after a day of walking and sight seeing to relax and soak up the views. The bed was big and comfortable. It was very quiet at night and we slept very well. The breakfast was very good and again with great views from the roof terrace. The staff were exceptionally good especially Francesca and Giuseppina who were so helpful, friendly, warm and welcoming - thank you for making our stay perfect.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Punta Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Punta Regina

Property: Albergo Punta Regina
Address: Via Pasitea 224, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#11 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Punta Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punta Regina is a charming and romantic hotel with 18 rooms in the heart of Positano.Originally a private villa it has been carefully restored, combining original characteristic charm with the best of contemporary features.The building lies on Via Pasitea, the main street in town, and is easily accessible.Built on four levels, the Hotel has a breath-taking view of the Mediterranean waters, that has made Positano famous.While relaxing from your terrace, not only will you enjoy the sight of "Li Galli" island and the tower "Clavel", but also the many boats sailing in the blue colored waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Punta Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Punta Regina Positano
Albergo Punta Regina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing