We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Punta Regina
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in late May with big expectations after some friends had recommended the hotel. It turned out to be a hit or miss experience which is not what we had signed up for. We wanted to save a little money and didn't plan to be in our room much, so we decided to forgo the seaview room. This was a mistake. Our room was literally at street level with both vehicle and foot traffic constantly disturbing us. Definitely splurge for the seaview room or don't bother staying here. The room was large and comfortable plus the TV had ESPN America (clutch). Breakfast was also above average compared to our other stays throughout Italy. However there were two main faults with the bathroom. First, the shower/tub, despite having a nice rainfall showerhead, had a glass wall that covered only half of the tub so it was next to impossible to keep the bathroom floor from becoming soaked after every shower. And second, we found a cockroach in our bathroom on our last night. We pointed this out in our comments to the hotel but have not heard back from them. It seems our experience was not the typical experience at Punta Regina, but needless to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must. Don't get stuck at noisy street level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YanksDude25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benedettar, Proprietario at Albergo Punta Regina, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you to have found the time to write about your staying at the Punta Regina, we are happy to read that even if you have not been completely satisfied at least our room, our breakfast and our services have made your expectation, by the way, we Always invite our guests to let us know if there is any thing that does not make tham happy, offering in this way the possibility to try to help them, make their stay memorable and avoid any mistake. Unfortunatelty once left we cannot change the past, but of course we will take any suggestion to improve ourselves. We do hope to have the possibility to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    81
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
108
519
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading wonderful reviews Stayed 9 night's 22/31 May in superior deluxe room which had great ocean views with a large terrace that had 2 sun beds and table and chairs
Can not fault this hotel from our arrrival welcome to our departure the staff made every day special
Great restaurants nearby and bus stop outside front door for getting around Positano
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Positano

Room Tip: Choose room With ocean views they are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladue, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Can't thank the staff at Punta Regina enough for a fabulous wedding celebration!!

We hosted a small family wedding for my wife and I along with our 4 children on the balcony of our suite at the Punta Regina. The staff was warm and welcoming, arranged flowers from a local florist and went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable and endearing.

In addition to our wedding celebration, breakfast each morning on the roof top terrace was outstanding. Fresh fruit, cafe americano, eggs, bacon, sausage and pastries baked at the hotel each morning-all with a stunning view.

Our wedding celebrant (Mister Raf - mr.raf@tin.it) and photographer (Massimo Studio, info@ae5.it) were very reasonable and captured the moment.

An elegant boutique hotel with great rooms, great location, stunning views and wonderful staff-can't say enough about the Punta Regina!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlouisltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Punta Regina hotel has amazing views of the water and gorgeous balcony's! The beds are big and comfortable and the bathrooms are first class! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful - making dinner reservations, explaining how to use the bus, how to get to the beach. The only negative with the hotel is that it is up in the cliff of the town so you either ride the bus to the middle of the town and walk down the steps, or walk the step path the whole way. I would not recommend this hotel for someone older or with walking problems or who cannot climb stairs. I hope to come back to this town and this hotel again some day!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the ocean with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently and we couldn't be happier with the hotel. The location was great, the view was stellar and all of the staff were incredibly nice and accommodating. Be sure to pay extra and get a superior deluxe room with a sea view. We had a large terrace with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. We spent every night on the terrace drinking wine, Sambuca or Limoncella or reading in the lounge chairs after a day at the beach. The room was a nice size and the bed was quite large by European standards. The mattress was very comfortable. Our room had tall ceilings with elegant, minimal decor. The marble bathroom was large and beautiful with a separate tub and shower. The breakfast on the terrace of the top floor of the hotel was very generous and delicious. There were lots of things to choose from. The pool looked very nice but the weather was a bit chilly so we never got in. We were warmly greeted by the staff every day who helped with directions, and dinner reservations, including having a car to pick us up. With only 18 rooms, the hotel was quiet and peaceful during out trip. You can pay extra for a garage space should you decide to drive to Positano like we did. Albergo Punta Regina was by far one of our best hotel experiences and I would love to return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeamschwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wow is the only word I can use to describe this beautiful hotel. We stayed here for the last 4 days of our honeymoon. When we checked in our room wasn't ready so we wandered down the town for a bit of lunch after being given directions by Guissipina( wrong spelling, sorry), we headed down the steps, going down was fine but coming back up was a nightmare, so steep!!! Returned to the hotel and our room was ready, large room spotlessly clean on the same floor as the reception. We asked about changing our room to one with a view and larger balcony, Guissipina showed me to the most divine room we have ever stayed in, Room 221, to see what I thought as we would have to pay for an upgrade. Now I have to admit I didn't think we would want to pay anything extra until I walked in the door. The view was the first thing to catch my eye, amazing.... Huge room with massive terrace with a jacuzzi. Needless to say we upgrade immediately, the best move ever. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were the most comfortable I have ever had in any hotel worldwide. The cleaning lady kept our room spotless, highly impressed with the bed turn down service with chocolate!!! The view from the roof top terrace was beautiful, really enjoyed our breakfast and felt so relaxed there.

We were recommended the Next2 restaurant for dinner, by far the nicest meal we had during our honeymoon. The staff were friendly and the food was out of this world. We were also recommeded to go to De Vincenzo for dinner, the staff here were so lovely, took their time explaining the menu, types of pasta on the menu and when I couldn't decide on what I wanted between 2 dishes, he recommended one over the other. But what surprised me was that even though I didn't order a starter he brought me out a sample of the other dish I couldn't make my mind up over, never before has this happened.

Can't rate this hotel highly enough, the staff made us feel so at home, so much so we would have loved to cancel our flight home to stay another week!!! All the reviews don't lie, this hotel is a gem and it's down to the staff who are exceptional. We will definately return some day

Room Tip: First floor has lovely large rooms but no view, worth the expense to upgrade to an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monkeysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our stay at Albergo Punta Regina was wonderful. Francesca behind the desk cheerfully greeted us upon our arrival, and every other time we walked through the lobby. Our room was spectacular. We had a large room with a small balcony where we could sit and enjoy a bootle of wine that we bought in town. The location was perfect for us, about halfway up the cliff. The walk to and from the beach was not as hard as we had heard from other reviewers. The rooftop patio and pool area was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the views of Positano. My wife and I would definitely stay there again if we every make it back to Positano.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzybear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Punta Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Punta Regina

Property: Albergo Punta Regina
Address: Via Pasitea 224, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#11 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Punta Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punta Regina is a charming and romantic hotel with 18 rooms in the heart of Positano.Originally a private villa it has been carefully restored, combining original characteristic charm with the best of contemporary features.The building lies on Via Pasitea, the main street in town, and is easily accessible.Built on four levels, the Hotel has a breath-taking view of the Mediterranean waters, that has made Positano famous.While relaxing from your terrace, not only will you enjoy the sight of "Li Galli" island and the tower "Clavel", but also the many boats sailing in the blue colored waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Punta Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Punta Regina Positano
Albergo Punta Regina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing