We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Punta Regina
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter break and loved it! The hotel is located a little out of the main town area but easily walkable (with amazing views!). Breakfast was fantastic, the staff were exceptional and extremely friendly and helpful. The views from the roof terrace were stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benedettar, Proprietario at Albergo Punta Regina, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Daer Guest,

Firstly we wish to thank you to have found the time to share your experience at the Hotel Punta Regina of Positano, here on TripAdvisor.
It is always a pleasure for us to read back from our guests and of course it is really nice to know that we have hit on the nail and have made you completely satisfied with the hotel position which is ideal to walk around, visit Positano and easily reach all the points of interest, with our rooms' comforts and cleaning, with the view that our position gifts the property and last but not the least, with the attentions that our staff dedicates to each one of our guests.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you soon again here at the Punta Regina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went to Italy with my cousin for our 50th birthdays. Found this hotel via Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The staff are AMAZING! The views are BREATHTAKING! We had a room on one of the higher floors and I could not get enough of the view of the water, the sounds of Italy.....just wonderful. The breakfast area is located on the top floor with a new infinity pool. The hotel is not directly in town, but we are walkers and it was a nice walk to town. We tried out a restaurant just down the street from the hotel called Next2 which was delicious! One place the hotel recommends to its guests is La Tagliata....DON'T go there. They have a van that picks you up, but it is too far away and the food was not good. There are plenty of other restaurants right by the hotel that are more worth it. Two other restaurants we enjoyed were Cafe Positano (great views) and Da Vincenzo. If I ever get a chance to come back, I would totally stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the views and further away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Audra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benedettar, Proprietario at Albergo Punta Regina, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guests,

we wish to thank you to have found the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Punta Regina. We are happy to read you have appreciated our location, our rooms, the breakfast terrace and all the attentions that day by day we dedicate to our guests.
We do hope to have the possibility to welcome you again here at the Punta Regina in Positano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. Hotel staff were wonderful and always helpful. Our room was stunning with a fabulous view over the sea from our terrace. We sat out there every evening sipping a glass of prosecco before we wandered down the hill to one of the many lovely restaurants for dinner. The hotel is a little out of Positano, but we were happy not to be close to the centre which was always bustling and noisy. Breakfast was excellent on the hotel's rooftop terrace with gorgeous views. will definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CandTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are going to visit Positano, which is sort of like an weird microcosm of US culture in southern Italy, the Punta Regina is the place to stay -- that is if you like walking. The hotel is located in the middle of the Positano hill, and is a substantial walk uphill from the beach. Because of that, it is a bit removed from the tourist crush near the bottom of the town.

Our ocean-view reservation was upgraded from the 3rd floor to the 2nd floor, the difference being that the lower floor offers a very large outside patio. (It is also a bit closer to the street which you can hear and smell -- motorcycle fumes, but not see from most of the patio.) Nevertheless, our room was large and lovely, and completely sound-proofed.

The hotel now has a beautiful 4th-floor outdoor terrace with a small swimming pool. You can dip in the pool and gaze out over the amazing landscape and sea views.

But the best thing about the Punta Regina is the hospitality. The folks that work here comprise the friendliest and most gracious staff of any hotel I've visited in recent memory. From the moment you arrive, actually before you arrive since the hotel will contact you to help arrange for baggage transport and the like, you will be treated with unmatched kindness and helpfulness. It goes without saying that the desk staff speak perfect English.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wobbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at Albergo Punta Regina at the beginning of a 2 week trip to Italy, and it was really a wonderful kickoff to an amazing trip. Guiseppina and Francesca were fantastic to communicate with as we were planning our arrival, sending bus schedules and offering advice on the best way to find them.
Once we arrived, we were surprised with an upgrade to one of the rooms with an enormous balcony - chaise lounges, a hot tub, table and chairs - and the room was also amazing! Very clean, tile floors, a big bathroom with a full sized tub and shower, and a king sized bed. We felt very pampered.
Guiseppina gave us a tour of the property when we arrived to show us up to the roof terrace where the pool and bar/breakfast area were located. Both nights that we stayed, we went up for a pre-dinner cocktail to look at the lights of the town - gorgeous.
The staff at Punta Regina are top notch - there aren't many of them, but they are all very helpful and were willing to help us with dinner reservations and directions in the town.
Thank you to the staff - even without the upgrade we would have had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CbusTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We only wish we had more time to spend at the beautiful Albergo Punta Regina in Positano. The hotel was our favorite of all five hotels we visited in Italy during our two week stay. Our room was spacious and immaculate with a large outside area (more than a balcony) overlooking the Mediterraen. The rooftop terrace was an elegant setting for breakfast and cocktails. The highpoint for us was meeting Francesco. She seemed to be at the front desk day and night always eager to help, charming and cheerful. Her restaurant suggestions were wonderful . I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to get the chance to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend requesting a room with an ocean view. It was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy51177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were very warmly greeted by Francesca who throughout our stay was extremely helpful and professional. The Hotel is ideally located as it sits in the middle of Positano which is built on a hill so it cuts down on those up hill walks, which shouldn't be under estimated. Our room was very large and comfortable and kept clean and tidy. The hotel has a roof top terrace where you eat breakfast which has fantastic views. One downside is that the snack menu is very limited so aaprt from a drink and a sandwich you will need to eat out. I would stress that this isn't too much of an issue as there are plenty of restaurants in Positano you just need to be prepared to climb those steps !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Punta Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Punta Regina

Address: Via Pasitea 224, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#11 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $210 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Punta Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punta Regina is a charming and romantic hotel with 18 rooms in the heart of Positano.Originally a private villa it has been carefully restored, combining original characteristic charm with the best of contemporary features.The building lies on Via Pasitea, the main street in town, and is easily accessible.Built on four levels, the Hotel has a breath-taking view of the Mediterranean waters, that has made Positano famous.While relaxing from your terrace, not only will you enjoy the sight of "Li Galli" island and the tower "Clavel", but also the many boats sailing in the blue colored waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Punta Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Punta Regina Positano
Albergo Punta Regina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing