We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint & gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maresca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Maresca
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint & gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in July of 2013 and booked Casa Maresca last minute. The views were amazing! The owners were really sweet and helpful. Within walking distance is a great restaurant (Positano Cafe- we ate there every night) and a food market.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnikaXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

From our initial point of contact we received a very warm response.
Once booking was confirmed we were provided detailed directions to Positano from Rome. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Lucia.
The location and the views were spectacular. The accommodation itself provided everything we needed from Wifi to air conditioning. All that Positano had to offer was a short walk away.To top it off Paul and Lucia were very hospitable and made our stay very pleasant. We highly recommend Casa Maresca!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Everything about this delightful, small facility revolves around the ability of Paul and Lucia Clark (owners) to attend to every need of their guests in a quiet, unobtrusive way. The Clark's are always helpful: arranging restaurant reservations, car and boat travel and offering special tips that makes a vacation memorable. We have traveled to many countries for business and pleasure, and feel qualified to praise Casa Maresca. The patios and balconies present a fantastic, picture-perfect view of the sea and surrounding buildings. The location is prime, close to the action and an easy walk into town, but very quiet and private during the day and night.The beds are comfortable. We have already made a reservation to return for the 9th year. Bravo, Clark's! Ellen & Paul

Room Tip: All 6 accommodations are equally fine, depends on how much room is required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel's location made the walk up and down this town's steep terrain quite tolerable. The owners Paul and Lucia were like family and kept the rooms extremely clean. Our group had the entire 4 room first floor occupied with a spectacular and very large terrace overlooking the sea. This is a vintage European facility and the only shortfall is the small inconvenience of no stand up shower in some of the rooms. By Positano standards this is a fine facility at very moderate prices with owners that make every effort to make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakedweller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The owners, Paul and Lucia, are what make Casa Maresca the place to stay in Positano. Even before the trip, Paul helped to secure our transportation to/from Naples and provided valuable recommendations for restaurants, excursions, banking, and such. The decor is standard, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was fresh and looked recently remodeled. The view was excellent and an easy walk into the main town center of Positano. Lots of shops, restaurants and small grocery stores close by. We will be sure to stay here again whenever we return to the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: The top room has both a balcony and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The owners helped me with a place to park (Parking Anna) that is a short walk uphill from their place. It has a private locked door from the balconies to the outside stairs which is nice. The view is spectacular. Casa Maresca is located about 30 minutes walk to the beach. Maybe a little further. You either need to walk down the windy road or down lots of stairs. (this is true for most places here). You can also take a bus down. If you are driving, be careful and do not go too far past. The road is only one way and you cannot turn around and go back so if you miss it, you will have to do a full loop before you can come back again. Parking Anna is a good marker. Do not go much past that because it's the last garage before the B&B. Cost there is 18E per day.

It's funny to me this is a bed and breakfast because really it's just a bed. The breakfast is coffee/tea and store bought croissants or dried rolls with packaged jam/butter. The owners realize their breakfast is not up to international standard (Italians dont really eat breakfast. they just eat a croissant with a cappucino or something) but they don't care. They tell you to visit the market if you eat something other than a croissant with butter for breakfast.

We had 3 people for 3 days so were told to rent one of the apartments. I am assuming the word apartment means with a kitchen. We bought food to cook for dinner one night to find out that the kitchen use is only if you are staying for 5 days. Of course, we had not heard that before-hand. we got the owners and they turned on the gas, but acted like it was a big deal. I dont really care either way, but if there is a stove I am not supposed to use then that would be nice to know when checking in and not when i'm standing with a bunch of raw food ready to cook... At check-out, they said no extra charge for the kitchen like they were doing me a favor.

It would really be doing me a favor if their hidden rules and how to use the apartment were written down somewhere. The wifi code, where the lights are on the balcony, and if the kitchen use is included are all useful things to tell people staying at your place. The wifi works alright- mostly it works better out on the balcony but it was fine. You can hear the neighbors and see them at breakfast (the balcony is shared so everyone's tables are out there). It's a little lacking in privacy because if the neighbors are out on their balcony and you are in the room, they can see in, but you can also close the curtains if that bothers you.

I am not sure if I recommend this place or not. There are lots of options for a place to stay in Positano. This place has a beautiful view, but there are a lot of places with a view (ie MOST).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After doing a personal pilgrimage to St. Padre Pio and Sta. Filumena, my sister and I decided to just kick back and relax. Luckily, we decided on staying at Casa Maresca in Positano. The room was very clean - again, luck on our side, we got the 3rd floor and the view was postcard-pretty. We woke up, got up and out to our veranda where the view of the sea, the cliff houses and the mountain made us look up and thank God for this beautiful world. But what made this a special place was Paul and Lucia's caring hospitality. We felt like we were with our own relatives. The wifi was excellent. Paul and Lucia were very helpful - guiding us and answering our questions intelligently and efficiently. It was also good that they spoke English. This is a definitely come-back place. We will not hesitate to recommend this place.

Room Tip: If possible, third floor - has a veranda and a terrace on the side. Although all rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#36 of 39 in Positano
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#30 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#23 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#26 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maresca

Property: Casa Maresca
Address: Via Lepanto N. 17/21, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#14 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling above the Fornillo beach and immersed in green, Casa Maresca is a small family run Residence. It is ideal for a quite and tranquil stay in Positano and is just a few steps away from the main road where there are local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Maresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maresca Positano
Casa Maresca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing