We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence La Tavolozza is fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Tavolozza
Ranked #14 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We recently returned from a 10 night stay at Residence La Tavolozza in Positano. The owner, Celeste, arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport in Naples and bring us to the hotel (90 Euros). The driver (Sergio) was fantastic, and I would highly recommend this option. We also used Sergio's car service to bring us back to the airport in Naples (at 5:40 AM).
You absolutely will not find a cleaner hotel than Residence La Tavolozza, in Positano, or anywhere else, in any price range. We had room 3, which has 2 huge rooms, and its own private bath. Large glass doors open up to a view that matches any view, at any hotel, on the Amalfi coast. Francesca, Celeste's daughter, along with Celeste's sisters were wonderful hosts. They were extremely helpful, and made you feel like guests in their home. The breakfast, available for 11 Euros each, was wonderful. I would place a call in the morning for breakfast, and it would arrive about 10 minutes later, along with a pot of Celeste's great coffee.
We would highly recommend this hotel. It is located close to the town center, close to a fantastic deli, and a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Residence La Tavolozza serves as the perfect base for exploring Positano, and the rest of the Amalfi coast. We checked out several other hotels in Positano, and couldn't be more pleased with our choice of Residence La Tavolozza.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arisgrampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2008

My husband and I got away for my 40th birthday. I was determined to head to the Amalfi Coast, since my prior trips to Italy didn't include this region. Despite the dollar being so weak, we planned our trip. When we initially looked in Positano, we were only finding places for minimum of 150 Euros (our stay in town was for 3 nights), around $240 per night. That was just more than we wanted to spend!

My uncle found this place for us on Rick Steves website, and we were a little wary when we saw it was around 80 Euros per night. We didn't know if it would be too small, not clean, out of the way, etc. Then I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and they were all glowing, so we booked it.

What a gem! Celete and Francesca and the other people there are wonderful -- accommodating, warm, helpful and calm. It is in an incredibly convenient location -- less than a 10-minute walk down to the main beach area. There is a delicatessen nearby as well as a wine store with wonderful cheeses/meats.

We had room 7, which when booking they described as the room with only a partial view of the water. It was more than fine for us. The deck was a bit small but my husband and I still had wine, cheese, grapes, and prosciutto every night out there. Dreamy.

You will not regret your decision to stay here -- and you'll have that much more money to spend on eating and drinking!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank positanoinsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Our four night stay at this amazing Residence was simply not long enough. It was immaculate with amazing views of the town, mountains and the sea. We had room #5 - one of the biggest terraces. Our private washroom was across the hall and it too was spotless - no problem that it wasn't directly in the room! The location is perfect. The Delikatesen just down the stairs and to your left (about one minute away), supplied us with our morning breakfasts - yogurt, fruit, cereal etc. and lots of beer and snacks to tide us over until dinner. The beach was also convenient - about a five minute downhill walk - although we found Fornillo beach less hectic but a bit farther away - ten minutes - great walk! The town is touristy but cute and very friendly.
Our main activity each day was hiking up into the hills. There is a guide book by Julian Tippett called Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri that lists many hikes to take in the area and provides bus schedules and even shortcut hints. One hike not to be missed is the Sentiero Degli Dei which starts in Praiano (Vettica Maggiore) and takes you up to Colle la Serra where the Degli Dei connects you to Nocelle. That stretch is breathtaking! This hike requires a certain amount of fitness as it is quite steep - safe - but tiring!
When we would return from our hikes, we would meander down to the beach, have a swim and return to our terrace with a beer and an unmatched view to do some reading and relaxing. We are certain that there are some wonderful restaurants in Positano. We, however, had a hard time tearing ourselves off the terrace. Bruno's- just up the street from the Residence, had awesome pasta which they graciously packed up for us to go. We would dine and sip wine until the late hours of the night on the cleanest, most serene and breathtaking terrace anywhere in the world. (This rivals - and may even beat, Santorini, Greece!) When we come back - not if! - there is no other place we will stay than with Celeste and Francesca, who were wonderfully helpful and friendly. We were truly treated like houseguests. Thank you!
***TIP*** If not renting a car, the best way to get from Rome to Positano is by Marrozzi Bus. It departs Tiburtina Station in Rome at 7:00 a.m. It stops at Naples, Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi. It arrives at Positano shortly after noon. Be sure to get off at La Sponda (pronounced Schponda) stop. La Tavolozza is about a minute's walk down Via Columbo on your left. The tickets are purchaseable online from their Italian website - ~ 20euro per person! Convenient and reliable with little to no stress!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandWWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We went to Positano for a wedding and stayed at the Tavolozza in Rm 4 for 4 nights and cannot say enough good things about this place. It was clean, comfortable and had the most stunning terrace - we could lay sun loungers out on it and sunbath. We popped down to the Deli (5 mins away) every morning for our breakfast and ate it on our terrace with the wonderful coffee from the B&B. We even had an impromptu drinks for 8 friends on the terrance one night before we went for dinner - and they all agreed it was a steal of a deal. (our bathroom was across the hall from our room, but that wasn't a problem.)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmurrayDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We just returned from a five night stay at La Tavolozza. Celeste and Francesca were wonderful hosts - very welcoming, helpful and they give your holiday that personal touch. We stayed in two different rooms- both rooms very charming, spacious, and spotlessly clean. One was in the old part of the Residence built in the late 18th century with high ceilings and a large veranda with views and the other was a mini apartment with a large terrace with views from the bedroom and the main room. The location of this Residence is perfect - not too far down from the beach and yet the views are still stunning. The price was extremely reasonable and there is a reliable car park just down the road. Positano is stunning and I would choose Positano as a base to see the Amalfi Coast any day. We hope to return very soon and would definitely recommend this place to all our friends. You are definitely not just another number at La Tavolozza

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Amif79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Let us add yet another rave review about La Tavolozza in Positano. My wife and daughter stayed there for 5 nights in June as their base for travel along the Amalfi Coast. They came back raving about everything and more - the location, the room, the terrace, the views... Celeste and Francesca were terrific! All of this for an unbelievably affordable price.
While you're there, go see Christina in the pottery store across the streeet - she does great English-speaking tours of Positano - and her husband runs a great market/butcher shop nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marylandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

All of the reviews posted here were helpful when my husband and I were preparing for our trip to Positano. They described the beauty of Positanno, the cleanliness of La Tavolozza, the warmth and hospitality of Celeste, Francesca, Paola and Anna. Rick Steves raved about the place. But the reviews didn't fully predict the sense of WOW, that I felt when I walked into our room. The view is stunning. You are high enough to be in the quiet zone, but not too far from the beach (the walk down and back is not strenuous), and you are truly dead center for the most gorgeous view in Positano! Every direction is a picture worth holding on to.

We spent most of our time on the terrace, but I have to say our room was lovely & had a feeling of "home". These ladies work very hard to make this a welcoming environment, and as everyone has said, it is spotlessly clean. They were also very helpful whenever we had questions. I think someone said that Celeste doesn't speak English, but she's learned a lot in a year - we communicated just fine. She makes the best cappuccino!

My husband and I LOVED La Tavolozza. It was the nicest of all of the places that we stayed in Italy. Highly recommend this residence.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CanadaMapleSyrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#9 of 38 in Positano
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bougainville
Hotel La Bougainville
#21 of 38 in Positano
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Tavolozza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Tavolozza

Address: Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $139 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence La Tavolozza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Tavolozza Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing