We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An off-season delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An off-season delight”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful small hotel for eight nights in mid-November, which is decidedly off-season in Positano - a fact that helped make the stay so enjoyable. The hotel comes by the "Villa" in its name honestly - the structure was built as a private villa. There are only 9 rooms. We stayed five nights in Room 304, which is one of the three rooms with large terraces, and (because that room wasn't available for our entire stay) three nights in another room. The second room was actually larger, but had only a narrow balcony instead of a large terrace and the bathroom was smaller and less attractive. So definitely try for one of the rooms with large terraces. Views from both rooms were stunning - and in 304 there's even a view from the bathroom. The place is family run and friendly. It's well-located and you can walk anywhere (but be prepared for lots of steps; the town is near-veertical). The included breakfast is not elaborate, but good. We had great weather - 60's and sunny - for most of our stay and the lack of crowds in off-season made for a relaxing, romantic, getaway. And of course off-season rates are better.

Room Tip: Try for 304 or one of the other two with large terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobG17070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    92
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
429
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a great base for our stay in Positano. Room was small, but clean. Balcony and view were amazing. Service was so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again. Try the restaurant while you're here. Risotto in a lemon is amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca07476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed there with my wife in October of 2013. What can I say? Anything you want from a hotel and more is here. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Room was awesome with a great view. Hotel is extremely clean. Breakfast was good, restaurant (for dinner) is amazing.
I would come back for sure and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Positano.

Room Tip: We upgraded from the room on the top floor to the room on the first floor because of the upgrade pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Villa Gabrisa. It came highly recommended by friends who had stayed there in the past, and it did not disappoint. Our room was enormous with a huge terrace. The view was unbelievable. Breakfasts overlooking the ocean were a treat; the food was nothing special -- though completely adequate -- but the views were spectacular. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant (we actually sat outside) one evening, and the food was excelllent, probably the best we found in Positano. Would highly recommend as a great place for couples.

Room Tip: We got one of the larger rooms which had a huge terrace. It was gorgeous. But we also would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAN_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in the External studio suite for 5 days We loved everything about our suite. The view, the privacy we loved it. Leyla was such a big help to us, I had many questions for her and she was so patient with me with answering them. She took such good care of us. She booked all our transfers and also helped me the trains. We felt like we were part of the family. The restaurant at Hotel Gabrisa was our favorite. We had lunch and dinner there many times we kept going back. I am so thankful that our first time to Italy was spent at Hotel Gabrisa. I highly recommend this hotel. Thank you

Room Tip: External Studio Suite has privacy and is very quiet . The view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunsetColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice but not a 4 star location. It is a solid 3 star place. The staff (family) is exceptional and will attend to your every need. The restaurant outside seating is spectacular with great views of the bay. It is in walking distance of the main part of the town.

If you are not looking for luxury but want a clean, serviceable, very friendly hotel this is a good place for you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank steveswope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very well run family owned boutique hotel. Owner Robyn (originally from NZ), husband and children Isabella and Gabrielle made us feel at home and looked after us so well we did not want to leave. Our personal transfers from and to Naples were organised by Isabella and the company was reliable and efficient. Our seaview balcony room was at the front of the hotel and the views were amazing. We spent every afternoon on the balcony with a bottle of wine admiring the views and the passer bys. The bus stop for the town bus is located at the hotel door. The walk down to town and the beach is very pleasant with lots of photo opportunities and shops to explore. The walk back is uphill and includes stairs but there is always the bus. Robyn advised us where to catch the ferries to Amalfi and Isle of Capri. The Loccataine bathroom toiletries were beautiful, beach towels are available in carry bags for guests and WiFi access is complimentary. The hotel has an excellent restaurant with an extensive wine list and you really don't need to go anywhere else but as we stayed for 6 nights we did visit a few other establishments. A substantial breakfast is served and I loved how the friendly waitress would remember our tea and coffee order every morning. Well done Robyn and team, we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony - the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellovers2_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 38 in Positano
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
946 reviews
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Property: Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing