We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST! BEST! BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed here for our pre wedding and honeymoon 1st night! It was the most wonderful! Beautiful views, great rooms, wonderful staff, yummy breakfast and restaurant! Many of my friends and relatives also stayed here and the staff was truly wonderful and helpful to us! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DandDCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 626 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2008

We just returned from 15 days in Italy. Our 1st stop was Positano on the Amalphi coast. We stayed 5 nights at the Villa Gabrisa, a wonderful family run hotel that adds sparkle to this ocean side resort. Prior to arriving we had had correspondence with Gabriele, who arranged for 3 of the attic rooms, good size doubles with small balconies and great views, and the large deluxe middle room on the second floor that had a huge garden balcony with an incredible view of the town and the ocean. He also set a table aside for 11 of us in the Hotel's restaurant. He was very accommodating. This was a great way to start our vacation. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was fairly priced and the food was very good. The breakfast that was served each morning was more than sufficient to get us on our way each day. I looked forward to my cappuccino each morning..... We truly enjoyed this Hotel and Robyn and her family made us feel at home. Highly recommended.....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommuterDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed in the honeymoon suite on the first floor - room 2 i believe and it was HUGE!!! It was the middle of the three rooms on the first floor and had everything we could wish for. There was a kitchen area as well as a lounging area and the bedroom area. On top of that was a small balcony which got the sun from about midday all afternoon. Wireless internet is available on the ground floor only for about 10e for a 5 day pass or 3e per day - or 15 mins free if you watch an advert! This was about the cheapest thing in Positano however!!! Shopping is expensive and eating out is not cheap either however ALL the food we had was delightful and had no quarms paying the money we did for each meal as they were so good. We ate a good few times at a restaurant just one set of steps down from Gabrisa in Saracen D'oro and it was both well priced and great food. Very friendly staff too. Back to the hotel - the staff were good, the room was great and the relaxation was 100%! Dont go to Positano if you want to go shopping / sightseeing it really is a chill out place in a beeautiful location. Oh apart from the steps everywhere which are a bit of a killer.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarkNewham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

This was an excellent location for access to both beaches and requiring an uphill walk back to the property from town or most of the restaurants.

The staff is a family run joint and could not have been nicer.

The room was very spacious, as was the balcony access for each of the 2nd floor rooms. You may here your neighbors occasionally upstairs or next door due to thin walls, but we are light sleepers and nothing bothered us that mucn.

Breakfast was adequate with cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee and juice. The restaurant was closed for renovations (and down season) but we heard great things about it from guidebooks and locals in town!

The views are great here and we spent most of our time on the terrace. We'd stay here in a heartbeat when back in Positano.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kridot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Converted from a large house a few years ago. Perfectly fine large rooms, domed ceilings. Super views, of course. It's just a few feet from the "Best Western" (i.e., Pasitea) hotel.

Utterly helpful staff - incredibly helpful! The patron of the hotel is a lady who moved from New Zealand to Italy decades ago, hence flawless English and Italian of course.

It is about half-way down the one-way road that makes up Positano. ie, it is no more or less convenient or inconvenient to get to than any other hotel in Positano.

Parking is no better or worse than any hotel in Positano - no problem. You might be lucky and score a park out the front, or, you may easily park 100 meters along where there are a couple of parking facilities carved in to the cliff, no problem.

As with any of the hotels to get down to the beach-shopping area you would take a taxi, the bus which continually loops around, or maybe walk down the steps or the road.

Be sure to go with their suggestions for tasty restaurants! A really helpful and generous hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Villa Gabrisa in early October. I made this trip with my father and grandfather. The suite that we were given was very accomodating for three grown adults. It had a small kitchen area and sitting area. The topper was the beautiful balconey which we would sit out on and look out upon the Sea. It was truely beautiful. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. This is a family run boutique style hotle and the owners treated us very well. They were helpful with questions on the area and dining choices. The dining at the Villa Gabrisa is grand. The food they prepared was marvelous and the price was right too. They definately go the extra mile to make you feel welcome there. I will close by saying that I left somthing very dear to me in the hotel when we checked out to continue our tour of italy. Our hosts went out of their way to get my documents and photos to me in Naples before I was departing back home to Massachusetts. I highly recommend if visiting Positano do not pass this hotel up you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LMA942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Positano was the last stop on our Italian Honeymoon. Villa Gabrisa was an amazing resort and by far our favorite place. The hotel is family owned and they were very helpful throughout our stay. We were greeted with an upgrade to the luxury suite with a huge garden terrace and a bottle of champagne. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was delicious. We would often get a bottle of wine from town and watch the sunset from the balcony and then head to dinner. Every single thing we tried was fabulous. Villa Gabrisa was affordable and still romantic and wonderful. We would highly reccommend this hotel and restaurant! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NewYorkJenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $157 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing