We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely, COPD friendly B&B/Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely, COPD friendly B&B/Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Positano is famously vertical and, as a COPD sufferer, I needed to stay somewhere that could be entered directly from the street ( rare in Positano ) and that had elevators to upper floor rooms. Villa Gabrisa satisfied these requirements and much more. This is a hotel with generously large rooms, beautiful terrace/balcony views, excellent location (just a few steps from the intra-Positano bus stop), full breakfasts,in-house bar open all day for drinks and snacks, and warm, caring staff.
The furniture and furnishings have been chosen with an attention to detail that is reflective of the professional way in which this hotel is run. It was a pleasure to return to our comfortable room after a "hard day" on the streets of positano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    87
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
406
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited last June but still think often of our trip and how beautiful the view was from our room at the Hotel Villa Gabrisa. The staff was nice, and the hotel was as we expected. Being surrounded by bougainvillea and the turquoise sea was spectacular. We hope to one day return to the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Choose a terrace room on the top floor to have a good view!! It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were very well received by the hosts and shown to our room No. 5 We were impressed. We got a big room with a balcony which was large and had a spectacular view. The room was nice and clean. Delicious breakfast in the morning. Despite large differences in height was no problem. It went shuttebuss every half hour right outside the hotel which took you down to the center of town. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose room nr. 4-5 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an attic room, which while on the small side had a balcony equipped with a table and 2 chairs. The views are why you come to Positano and the balcony didn't disappoint. The balcony is in the sun from the morning through to late afternoon, so you can sit back a drink and snacks and stare over the water.

The minibar was very reasonably priced, so we happily took out drinks straight from there. For example a Peroni beer for €3 and potato chips for €1.

We had Rainbow Limos car service bring us to the hotel from Naples, who I highly recommend for this trip. A huge advantage that this hotel has (over many others in the town) is that it is located on the road, so a car can drop you off right at reception.

Warning: A large number of hotels in Positano require you walk several steps up or down from the road which could be a problem for lots of people, as Positano has a LOT of stairs. We didn't know this before we came to Positano and got lucky with this hotel being easily accessible by car.

Excellent bathroom products (shower gels and shampoos were good brands, at least according to my better half).

Friendly staff and a better than expected continental breakfast were included, which came with a freshly made cappuccino.

Great tv channel selection (from an English speaking perspective) where we had 10 or more channels to choose from in English, whereas most other hotels in Italy just seem to have BBC World and CNN.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've traveled a good bit of the world. The Amalfi Coast is one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen. You never get tired of looking at the view. So it's important to have a room that gives you that advantage. Villa Gabrisa's terrace rooms exceed anything you could imagine. The town is spread around and below you. The sea twinkles. You are very aware you are in a stunning place every minute. The entire staff was very kind and very professional. My husband lost his wedding ring in the room. They found it and shipped it home. This must be one of the best hotels in Positano and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Going to Positano in late spring, staying in a small hotel perched on the hill and having my coffee in the morning on a balcony overlooking this incredible little coastal town was a dream I'd had for quite a while. Villa Gabrisa fulfilled this dream. And offered more than I'd hoped for.
We stayed in Villa Gabrisa four days. The room was huge (something rarely found in Italy), charming, with a rustic feel. There was a small balcony with picture-perfect views of the town and the sea. The breakfast was continental but perfectly adequate - ham, cheese, fruits, pastries, boiled eggs, juices... The night we arrived we were tired and decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. We were so glad we did! That first night at dinner we met Gabriele, after whom the hotel is named, Leyla and their gregarious friends. 20 minutes later we had everything organised for the next day - a cooking class with Gabriele and a tour around Positano with one of his friends - a professional guide - and we were cheering ourselves with chocolate Venchi prosecco! We had dinner at the hotel every night except one. The food was great, the wines Gabriele suggested were amazing - many of them from his own private selection, and Leyla's company and sense of humour - the highlight of our evenings! Occasionally we asked for things not on the menu, and Gabriele and Leyla would go the extra mile to accommodate us. We were taken care of splendidly!
This is not home away from home. This is way better. Villa Gabrisa made my dream come true. And fulfilled whims and wishes I didn't even know existed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went in February. Most of the city was shut down because of the winter season however we truly enjoyed our stay in villa gabrisa and positano.

the view from our room was simply to die for. you see the sea, the mountain and the city of Positano all the way down to the beach.

The hotel is relatively high up on the mountain away from the super touristy area. It is approximately 25 minutes walking to the "downtown" area on the beach. but there is a shuttle bus every 30 minutes if you dont want to walk.

The hotel staff/family is very friendly. they gave us restaurant recommendations and maps. The breakfast was basic with great coffee. The rooms are clean but a little old. so dont expect luxury.

I would definitely go back to Gabrisa if in positano.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#12 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Property: Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing