We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful family-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful family-run hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Going to Positano in late spring, staying in a small hotel perched on the hill and having my coffee in the morning on a balcony overlooking this incredible little coastal town was a dream I'd had for quite a while. Villa Gabrisa fulfilled this dream. And offered more than I'd hoped for.
We stayed in Villa Gabrisa four days. The room was huge (something rarely found in Italy), charming, with a rustic feel. There was a small balcony with picture-perfect views of the town and the sea. The breakfast was continental but perfectly adequate - ham, cheese, fruits, pastries, boiled eggs, juices... The night we arrived we were tired and decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. We were so glad we did! That first night at dinner we met Gabriele, after whom the hotel is named, Leyla and their gregarious friends. 20 minutes later we had everything organised for the next day - a cooking class with Gabriele and a tour around Positano with one of his friends - a professional guide - and we were cheering ourselves with chocolate Venchi prosecco! We had dinner at the hotel every night except one. The food was great, the wines Gabriele suggested were amazing - many of them from his own private selection, and Leyla's company and sense of humour - the highlight of our evenings! Occasionally we asked for things not on the menu, and Gabriele and Leyla would go the extra mile to accommodate us. We were taken care of splendidly!
This is not home away from home. This is way better. Villa Gabrisa made my dream come true. And fulfilled whims and wishes I didn't even know existed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    87
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
406
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went in February. Most of the city was shut down because of the winter season however we truly enjoyed our stay in villa gabrisa and positano.

the view from our room was simply to die for. you see the sea, the mountain and the city of Positano all the way down to the beach.

The hotel is relatively high up on the mountain away from the super touristy area. It is approximately 25 minutes walking to the "downtown" area on the beach. but there is a shuttle bus every 30 minutes if you dont want to walk.

The hotel staff/family is very friendly. they gave us restaurant recommendations and maps. The breakfast was basic with great coffee. The rooms are clean but a little old. so dont expect luxury.

I would definitely go back to Gabrisa if in positano.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The view of the room was amazing, I can dream with it! I loved the hotel, the breakfast amazing, you take your breakfast in front of the positano bay! Positano is a city that I loved. The hotel, the staff is great! We put our car on the parking free charge, It's wonderful, if not you need to carry by yourself and there is some stairs to reach the hotel. That guy that carry our bags is wonderful! I'm so thankful for him and this service! To reach the beach you need to follow a lot of steps, but in Positano there is not other way! The service on the beach and Restaurant was amazing! The breakfastwas great !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helmuth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
385 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the first week of January 2013 and had a second floor deluxe room. Several weeks late, we are still trying to mentally check out of Hotel Villa Gabrisa.

Getting there:
We rented a Fiat Punto from Naples but could have taken a bus to the junction of Marconi and Via Pasitea and walked 500m down the road with rolling luggage. If driving you turn as this point and drive down several switchbacks and Gabrisa is on the right 60m after the U turn at the lower part of Villa Franca. You need to pull over here and find a parking space to unload luggage - thin Italian when you do this, get the space and don't drive on because its a one way street that loops back to Marconi - a 5km loop. Parking for the hotel is at the next U turn down the hill about 150m away - its 18 euro per day - they will take your car from hotel reception to the lot and deliver it back if you call. Generally we walked down the hill to the car and bought drinks for the day at the Garage.

Front of house/Food: Personal efficient, organized and welcoming. The restaurant is adjacent where you have breakfast. The restaurant as such is closed from October to Easter and is rated highly by locals. The breakfast is continental style with cereal, fresh breads and pastries, fruit, juices, water, salami, ham and cheese. It comes with an expresso coffee of choice or tea. While the restaurant was closed, sandwiches, coffee and salads as well as wines and other beverages are available on request. They will do a picnic lunch for you to take hiking on request. For 4 euro they bring breakfast to the room and set up on the balcony. We considered this, given the sunshine and postcard views but interaction with the family and staff at breakfast especially the Kiwi expat lady of 38 years. We got advice and options on where to go, how to get there, where to buy drinks and food along the way.

Room: We opted for the deluxe room on the second floor, which was large with tiled floor and rugs, comfortable Queen sized bed, electric kettle, flat screen with Sky, wireless internet for 2 devices. The minibar was well priced. The balcony is almost the size of the room again, teracotta tile, garden, view. The day we arrived we watched the sun set over 2 hours before we unpacked. The rooms on the third level are smaller with a sloped ceiling, good bathrooms, smaller balcony but with good view. The place is spotlessly clean. There is a laundry/dry cleaners 30 m up the hill.

Bathroom: Shower over a full bathtub, separate bidet. Power sockets: European, adaptors for loan from front desk.

During this time of year, some restaurants and shops are closed or closing. There are sales leading up to the Epiphany Sunday, which even tempted us where we had intended to buy nothing. We do want to try the restaurant at the hotel but there are many options within 3 mins. Further afield, many of the restaurants will send a car to pick you up. In the Winter, if you are intending to go to a restaurant then get the hotel to call ahead to make sure its open. The bonus of going at this time, where the weather was very good, is that there are relatively few tourists around.

This was very good holiday for us. We will come back and will stay here. We would take either the deluxe room or third floor depending on budget.
This is not a 5 star resort but for us it was a perfect family hotel for a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Even though it has been 3 years since we stayed here a week in October, I have read several posts discussing how to get to Positano which has no direct train service or airport. First let me agree with others that this is a spectacular hotel with great rooms, service and food. Most people fly to somewhere In northern Italy and work their way to Naples. This is where it gets interesting if you stay on land. You need to patch together local trains, buses and taxis. If you are not watching your euros, you can just hire a car and driver. I could find any reputable travel source that recommended the casual tourist drive a car around Naples or on the twisting coastline highways, plus you do not need a car in Positano.
Here is what I recommend: Fly or take high speed train to Naples. Take a ferry from Naples directly to Positano. You may need a travel agent to coordinate your arrival time to Naples and departure time from the port. If you do this, you avoid many hassles of the multi-modal land travel.
Once your standing on the beach in Positano, your problem is getting yourself and luggage to the hotel halfway up the nearly vertical town. A taxi is an oblivious option, but you will probably need to figure out how to get "up and down" daily. We used a luggage delivery service called "Blu Porter"
which was reasonable and reliable using a 3 wheel motorscooter. Then take the local orange bus to the hotel. You will find it relatively easy to walk "down" the winding streets, stopping along the way at shops and restaurants. Then take the bus back "up" to the hotel.
The ferry service is good way to take day trips to Amalfi or Capri.
At checkout, send luggage ahead to the ferry via Blu Porter leaving an easy downhill walk to the port.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a terrace overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RoyDallas_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived in Positano by bus from Amalfi. From the bus stop at Bar Nationale, Hotel Villa Gabrisa is a 5 minute walk downhill. We had an attic room on the third floor, there is a lift which goes up to the second floor. The hotel has a small reception area with a nice dining/breakfast section and an outside terrace. Our room was very clean, comfortable and had a small balcony. The location is great, giving you unbeatable views of Positano. Yes there are a lot of steps should you chose to take short cuts down to the beach but it is also a very comfortable 20 minute stroll along the winding road which gives you different scenery to absorb at each turn. We just had a one night stay in January and found many of the shops, restaurants etc closed, but on the other hand it was practically tourist free.

Room Tip: Chose a 2nd floor room with terrace if staying for more than one night and can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of days on the amalfi coast and stayed in this lovely hotel overlooking the sea and dramatic landscape. Both staff and owners were excellent and very helpful. We stayed in one of the famous "attic rooms" and loved the view and feel of the place. A greatly run hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schradd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Property: Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing