We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent service and views”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great boutique hotel with only 9 rooms w/ an attached restaurant by the same owners. It is family run. They are very helpful and speak english. We had a great time and the views were great. We stayed in room #8. I had an issue, I am 6'3 and the ceilings above the stairs and door frame were short and I had to duck every time I went up the stairs and to enter my room. Also the ceilings were angled and I couldn't stand in front of the toilet to relieve myself. I recommend this hotel on every level. Just be aware that if you are tall don't reserve a room on the top floor. I would stay here again, just in a different room.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationnutsPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    87
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
413
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just got back for 2 1/2 stay in Europe. The Hotel Gabrisa was a quaint boutique hotel we found on trip adviser. We stayed in room #6 with an amazing balcony. I have to say, THANK YOU!
The owners, staff, cleanliness, and amazing VIEWS!! Very good restaurant on the property overlooking the coast. We will ABSOLUTELY be coming back to this little slice of paradise.

Sincerely, Laurie Jordan

Room Tip: rooms with a big balcony.....a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had the best time here. Stayed for 5 days. It has the best view of Positano and the food in the restaurant is the best around. We ventured off a couple times, and each time we looked at each other and said "we should have just eaten at villa gabrisa".

I will not lie, it is not a quick easy walk to and from the beach. It takes a while and there are lots of steps, but that's what happens when you go for the best view. Didn't mind walking down, but had to take the bus back up (easy to figure out). ALSO good to know.. we liked the side beach WAYYYY better than the main Positano beach. Little quieter and had great options for lunch, much cheaper than at the main beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved villa gabrisa! The view from our room was amazing. The owners and staff were wonderful, friendly and so helpful. The restaurant there was great too. Food was delicious and the prices very reasonable. We loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_Pierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to Capri and Positano and enjoyed our stay in Positano more, mainly due to our experience at the Villa Gabrisa. Robin, Leonel, Isabella, and Gabrielle made our stay a most memorable experience. The hotel accomodations were very nice and the food was delish! We ate there the first and last night, the first night at the outdoor cafe. There were very helpful getting our trip confirmed to the airport. The continental breakfasts overlooking the coastline in the mornings were unforgettable. OVERALL, A GREAT TIME!

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms and I believe all have some porch area overlooking the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all, the basics about Positano: it is one of the most beautiful, most picturesque vacation destinations, and if you REALLY want to get the best of the views, you need a hotel on the hillside. No matter what, once you are in Positano you are going to have to contend with hills - because it is all one, giant hillside. Taxis run up and down regularly, but for the younger and fitter of the crowds, it's a beautiful climb! Villa Gabrisa is near the top of the hill and, as such, offers spectacular views. It is a family-run hotel, spotlessly clean and traditionally decorated, with a great restaurant. I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband, and ended up on the top floor in two of the three smallest rooms, which were still surprisingly large by European standards. We loved it so much that we are going back again next year, and have already booked all three of the rooms on the top floor. If you like your hotels unfussy, with a warm, friendly, family atmosphere and a real local flavor, this is the place in Positano. No question about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a large room with a view out to sea.
It was a long way to the beach, about 550 steps. That's not a bad thing, as the shops were busy with day trippers. We tried to have a drink in the seating area in the front, but gave up as the man who seemed to be a member of staff talked to his friends and ignored us completely, so did the waitress. We went elsewhere. Breakfast was in a lovely setting but for the price was quite basic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaseK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Property: Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing