We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
Ranked #2 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was my second visit to Mamma Rosa's in three months and this visit was just as magical as the first! My niece and I ended our travels at Mamma Rosa's and it was the best decsion I have ever made! I stayed in the B And B in March and in the flat with this visit. Both are incredbily well appointed and clean and the views are something that you must experience - put it on your bucket list!. As before Angelo arranged everything to perfection! Our first night he made reservations for us at La Terra restaurant. What an incredible setting. The view, the platters of fresh, grilled seafood, the local wines and to top it all off - fireworks over the Mediterranean sea celebrating the festival of St. Anthony. Truly a memorable atmosphere and experience. Angelo arranged set a breakfast table for us at our preferred time (every motning!) The next day we walked into Positano and relaxed on Fornillo beach. What a gorgeous setting. I so enjoyed watching the boats bob up and down on the water and simply relaxing. There is a cafe at this beach - order Mojitos! yum! Angelo arranged dinner later that evening at his cousins restaurant - Il Ritrovo in Montepertuso- and we were treated like princesses. The food and the wine, again, were superb! We wish we could ship multiple cases of their local food and wine back to the States. Our third day we walked into Positano and enjoyed shopping, eating and drinking our way back to Mamma Rosas in Montepertuso. Do not worry about making your way back to the B and B - there is a bus in town which drops you off at the foot of the stairs, or local drivers are available in the town square. Before dinner, we were able to visit with Melania before Angelo gave us a tour of the families garden. One of the best highlights of staying at Mamma Rosa's is enjoying a home cooked meal. It was devine in March and they did not disapoint in June. We were well hydrated with their home made wine and the appetizers and main meal (spinach (from their garden) stuffed ravioli was in one word - magnifico! If i could put Angelo in my suitcase and bring him back to Chicago I would! The people of this region are incredibly friendly, accommodating and love to live life!. I plan on returning in September but staying for a full week and hope to enjoy a wine tour offered through Mamma Rosa's and more local activities. Thank you Angelo, Melania and Mamma Rose for a fabulous and memorable experience. This is a must stay for anyone considering a holiday in this region. In fact even if you were not considering this area of Italy I hope this review and others change your mind. Trust me, you will feel the same way!

Room Tip: It does not matter if you stay at the B and B or the flat. Both are comfortable, clean and hopefull...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 422 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights in June and had an amazing stay. The drive up the coast was a little stressful but worth every minute of it for the view. The stairs kept up in shape and guilt free from all the pasta we ate. Angelo met us, helped with the larger piece of luggage and made dinner reservations for us at a nearby restaurant which was great. Dinner was prepared for us on day two by Melania and it was superb and very inexpensive. After a long day of sight seeing it was nice to just sit and enjoy the B&B and the view.
A must if you go to the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a great stay. We were kindly greeted on arrival by Angelo and his father at the bottom of the steps to help us with our luggage. They had waited in the pouring rain for us until we found our way there! There are quite a few steps up to the place but when you see what awaits at the top, it is worth every step. The B&B is a beautiful place and the view is breath taking. The bedroom was big, spacey and well designed with a terrace overlooking the amazing view of the coast. It is within walking distance of Montepertuso where Angelo recommended a fabulous restaurant, IL Ritrovo, very friendly staff and delicious food and wine with an amazing view. Positano is only a short bus trip away where you can visit the lovely town or catch the boat to places such as Capri or Amalfi. Angelo was very friendly and helpful and did everything he could to help us with planning our day trips and making our stay an enjoyable one. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh every morn with good coffee served by Angelo. We would have loved to have stayed longer had we more time. Would love to return for another visit some day. Thanks for everything Angelo and family. Kindest regards, Ciara and Damien

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the greatest hotel/B&B I have ever stayed at - EVER. Angelo and his sister Melania are the greatest of hosts. We came to Positano for just 3 short nights during our honeymoon and all the great reviews of Mamma Rosa and amazing pictures did not and will not ever do this place any justice.

Mamma Rosa is settled above Positano in a town called Montepertuso, and getting there is just a short bus ride away or via taxi if you so choose. Angela made us breakfast every morning - fresh croissants filled with fruits or chocolate, fresh cappuccino, fresh fruits, fresh everything. He also made it for us based on our schedule. Every morning we left earlier than the stated 8AM breakfast, and he woke up early just to have everything set for us. He gave us great tips for exploring Positano - beaches, hiking the Path of the Gods, going to Capri, etc. He also recommended various restaurants, one of which is just a five minute walk from Mamma Rosa to a place called La Tagliata (set, five course meal with no menu, family run restaurant with the mother and father as cooks) - one of the highest, if not the highest, rated restaurants in Positano. Angelo and his family also cooked us dinner one night with all the produce having been grown by his family including the wine.

Angelo also planned for our trip back to Rome and told us exactly how to board the next bus/train at each stop (Positano to Sorrento to Naples to Rome). Three nights was far too short, and I hope that we will be able to return in the future. Mamma Rosa was also much cheaper than many of the hotels settled inside of Positano, and I am 100% certain that my wife and I had a much better experience than everyone else. Do yourself a favor and stay here. You will NOT regret it.

Thank you for everything, Angelo and Melania!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Out of 44 nights, most of which were in Italy, and no stay was longer than three nights, this will be the only review that I will write. All were great, but not like this. This place was something special. It will be the one remembered more than the others. When Angelo showed me how booked he was for the next several months, I wasn't surprised. I do realize that writing this will make it all the more difficult to stay there again, but this review is the least I can do and I really do think that you should check it out. No it is not photo-shopped. It really is that beautiful. And take that hike; it is without a doubt the most gorgeous and picturesque you will ever experience. And you can eat there for dinner as well. I highly recommend it. (And if you're lucky Angelo will make you some homemade gnocchi.) All the best, Angelo. Ti ringrazio a tutta la famiglia. Fai il bravo.
Alex and Rebekah
from Chicago

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexmaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Angelo and his family could not have been more accommodating!!! We were brought breakfast in our rooms every morning which was a FEAST and included warm from the oven cornettos (Italian croissants), homemade jams, and organic fruit from the garden. Angelo made sure we knew the bus schedules, places to see, places to dine, and would always greet us when we were coming or going. The view from our terrance was AMAZING and the room was OUTSTANDING!!! We had EVERYTHING we needed to make our honeymoon the BEST it could have been. My husband and I would also HIGHLY RECOMMEND taking the cooking class offered by Melania and Mamma Rosa...all we can say is WOW!! We learned so much and then to be able to enjoy the dinner that we made was very special...add the organic wine from their gardens and it was perfect!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment which had a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom with a wonderful t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We absolutely loved staying at Mamma Rosa in Positano. Just came back from our trip to Italy and the 2 nights we spent with Angelo and his family were far too short... we already miss it there! The apartment was very clean and very well equipped (shower that also has a steam bath, flatscreen tv, balcony with a wonderful view of the sea and the Li Galli island). It is a little bit "up there" - not down in Positano, but in the beautiful little village of Montepertuso, but there is a bus going regularly and you can walk down through a beautiful landscape as well. Angelo was the perfect host, he got us into every restaurant that was already fully booked, made delicious breakfast on our balcony every morning (with fresh fruit from the garden) and even served us dinner one night that could compete with even the best of restaurants there (including the house wine with grapes from the garden). On top of everything he is just very, very kind (helped us book and organize stuff, carried our bags and helped us find whatever we could even possibly need) and funny! There cannot be enough good things said about him! We will recommend this place to all of our friends, young or old, as it was just beautiful and felt like home away from home. Thank you Angelo and Mamma Rosa :)

Room Tip: We had the apartment and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.8 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Mamma Rosa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Mamma Rosa Positano

Address: Via Tagliata 79, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $106 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Mamma Rosa B&B in Positano if you want to have a travel experience like locals! Trekking paths are nearby my property so you can enjoy walking on the Path of The Gods with amazing views overlooking the Amalfi Coast. Positano centre and the beach are only 10 minutes by bus that runs every hour from 7.30 Am until 11.20 Pm every day. We have 4 great restaurants near by so you can enjoy great Italian food with spectacular views overlooking the bay of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Mamma Rosa Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing