We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
Ranked #2 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mamma Rosa's B&B was undoubtably the best accommodation we had over our two month trip through Europe. Angelo and Melania were super friendly and always willing to help. It felt like we had our own house in Positano as the B&B only has two rooms each of which has an ensuite. The view is amazing, we were just content to hang out on the balcony drinking local wine. Montepertuso is a little far from Positano but there was a great bus service and the view is worth it! Listen to Angelo and Melania's restaurant recommendations- we enjoyed the best meal of our trip thanks to them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this gem for a weekend in April. At first, I gave the owner a hard time about climbing the stairs until found out HE DOES IT FOR YOU, e.g. gratefully carries your luggage up the steps. But I soon saw why this place was worth it -- the VIEW WAS INCREDIBLE!!! Moreover, they get it right for picky travelers: clean, super comfy, spacious rooms with large private full bathrooms with tubs; kitchen; breakfast/dinner cooked if you wish; etc. And you really can meet Mamma Rosa! :-) Moreover, Angelo speaks perfect English, has a great sense of humor and work ethic, and is there to truly, truly, truly make his guests happy. If you want something, they'll do it. They were so personal, cozy and attentive, that if felt like we were staying with doting cousins!!!! We ADORED our stay. Can't wait to go back. Note: use buses and cabs to get up and down the hill to the beach. It's cheap and easy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mamma Rosa! The view was breathtaking and the location in Montepertuso (thereby avoiding the tourist masses) is great for hiking, dining and experiencing Postiano in every way. Angelo made us feel so at home and Mamma Rosa's cooking was excellent! On our next visit to the Amalfi coast we will definitely stay here again. You won't find a better place to stay in the whole of Italy!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are similar. Both with a balcony and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohe025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Mamma Rosa. Wish we could have stayed longer! Beautiful room with the most amazing view. Really comfortable and couldn't recommend it enough.
Angelo made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of great local advice.
You must stay here!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 653rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

In a word, excellent. Loved the location - removed from the tourist crush in the town below, surrounded by picturesque small vineyards vegetable gardens and olive groves and blessed with wonderful balcony views. Ideally suited our adult family of 4.
Angelo was a most congenial host with good English (after living in Australia in an earlier life ) and his sister bakes the best croissants ever. At various times in assorted locations, we also met their uncles, aunts and cousins as the family is spread over a large chunk of the mountain side and own several local business. Whilst staying here our family spent the morning at his cousin Salvatore's restaurant Il Ritrovo learning to cook Italian. Belissimo and so much fun!
All in all, terrific. We left feeling we had experienced an authentic slice of Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I dont even know where to start or what to say that hasnt already been said. I can only say, I fell in love with this place. Sure, it was off the beaten path and there were a lot of steps to travel up- but I assure you- I would (WILL) do it all over in a heartbeat. Having come from Sorrento, I honestly didnt think my vacation could get any better- but Mama Rosa B&B surpassed all expectations. Angelo and family are friendly, hospitable, and genrous. The tiered farm was a treat to explore! The view can NOT be beat. The atmosphere- perfect. Food- delicious. Bed- comfy. Bathroom- SPACIOUS (European by no standards). The list goes on. We left Positano to move on to Capri and regretted it the moment we said our goodbyes. My sister and I both agreed that we wished we had spent our full two weeks here. Dont pass this place up. Thanks Angelo for an amazing time in Positano! I am already talking with friends about another trip in 2015. :)

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. I dont think you could go wrong with either. Make sure to get a tour of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is the true meaning of bed and breakfast. Angelo, Melania and of course Mamma made us feel so welcome and right at home... if my home were a breath-taking-ly beautiful Italian home overlooking the sea. This B&B and these beautiful people are simply the gems of this country. Not only did they help us with our heavy luggage, they greeted us with a smile and much needed cold drink, made us delicious meals (complete with excellent homemade wine), took the time to chat with us, gave us excellent tips and stories from around the region and, above all else, made us feel cared for and re-energized for the rest of our trip. Lastly, the rooms have a perfect view, plenty of space, comfortable beds, private balcony and bathroom and a large garden tub. Next time we are in town we will stay much longer. My sister and I were traveling through this region in late April/early May and this was a perfect time of year, not too many tourist. GRAZIE MILLE!!! XOXO

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.9 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.8 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Mary Suites
Villa Mary Suites
#1 of 53 in Positano
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Mamma Rosa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Mamma Rosa Positano

Address: Via Tagliata 79, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $104 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Mamma Rosa B&B in Positano if you want to have a travel experience like locals! Trekking paths are nearby my property so you can enjoy walking on the Path of The Gods with amazing views overlooking the Amalfi Coast. Positano centre and the beach are only 10 minutes by bus that runs every hour from 7.30 Am until 11.20 Pm every day. We have 4 great restaurants near by so you can enjoy great Italian food with spectacular views overlooking the bay of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Mamma Rosa Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing