We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il San Pietro di Positano
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was our second time at ISP. The first time was perfect so wasn't sure this time they could keep up with that level of perfection. They did.
The service was perfect in every occasion, from the parking upstairs to reception to breakfast and beach. This year we were on honeymoon and when they knew it (when i made the booking i didn't specify) they promtly sent a bottle of prosecco to our room.
We had a standard room under the terrace. Very quite and nicely decorated. Maybe the wardrobe slightly small for a long stay but a large drawer instead.
The terrace always breathtaking and perfect to read a book or to have a drink before dinner. This year they introduced yoga at 9 am opposite the tennis court by the beach which we thought was a good idea. We didn't dine at the hotel so cannot comment on that.
What distinguish this hotel is the atmosphere and the feeling the hotel and the staff is able to transmit to the guests. We feel very comfortable and welcomed. They are warm, friendly but without stepping too much over the line. The reception staff was very precise even on the little details.
Maybe a couple of "negative" details: i think they can do better with the croissant in the morning, Italian style cornetto is full of cream or jam, these were a bit dry. Espresso coffe was good but not excellent. The choice of jams at breakfast was a bit limited.
A great and consistent stay which will make us go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommySan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 902 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

We spent one night in the hotel after our week boat trip along the coast. It is our third time in Il San Pietro and I believe that the hotel is the best in the region with exceptional service and fantastic views. Michelin star restaurant their is very testy with a lot of fantasy from the chief.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Konstantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our stay at San Pietro was truly spectacular. We worked with our travel agent (Four Hundred) to confirm dates that worked perfect with our itinerary. This hotel is without a doubt, one of the most beautiful in the world. We found the daily boat trip (complimentary) to be extraordinary. The staff and management are true hosts and are the epitome of hospitality. Il San Pietro di Positano has a special place in my heart! Thank you for such a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rohina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the best property in Positano. Absolutely stunning views, excellent service and 10 minutes from Positano. The property has it's own grotto to swim in, a boat available to charter and a pool on the upper floors. Built into the cliff-side with a lift that runs through the rock to a private beach and Oceanside dinning

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sighansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've been to the il San Pietro every Summer the past three years and never once did it disappoint! It is very rare for a hotel with such a unique location and consistently rated the best hotel in Amalfi coast if not the world and not becoming complacent. It just keeps on improving in every aspect and is superbly maintained (again a rarity for Italian hotels). Thank you, Vito and your entire crew there. See you next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cakarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have just returned from our annual Southern Italian pilgrimmage which included our 12th stay at Il San Pietro - we go every other year. From the moment of arrival on a cliff top with glorious views, burgeoning bougainvillea and manicured gardens to the languid elegance of the lounge and reception, and your ooooh!! as you enter your room or suite, you know that you have entered a very special place - a cocoon of understated luxury and sybaritic delights. Everything has been thought of. Andrea Esposito in charge at the front desk doesn't miss a beat. Michelin-starred Zass restaurant is run by Pasquale and his excellent attentive team. Food is innovative and is presented from home grown gardens and couldn't be fresher. Jump into the Mediterranean from the rocks or from the little private beach - or go to the pool. Carlino's restaurant is at the beach which you arrive at via a lift inside a cliff. Or you can walk down steps through the gardens to get to it. All the rooms and suites are different and all are lovely. The views are spectacular. There are some of the superior rooms which are more than spectacular. There's also a delightful and large terrace on which you can have your drinks or meals at whim. The spa is divine and the gym facilities (why go there?? enjoy the extra pounds) top notch. If you can bear to drag yourselves out, you can arrange boat hire, go to Capri or just have a couple of hours out on the hotel's boat daily at 11am. We cannot wait to go back, and cannot recommend ISP highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are beautiful, regardless of which one you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was our third stay at the San Pietro. This time we brought our family. The hotel is very sophisticated but comfortable, warm and welcoming at the same time. In this regard it strikes a perfect balance.
The views are spectacular. The hotel itself is beautiful and personal, public rooms, dining room, terraces, beach area, pool area and rooms, all are perfectly maintained. The landscaping is magnificent. So much care is given to every detail. The staff is helpful and caring and friendly. The food is very good. Breakfast is wonderful. If there are flaws or faults we never encountered them.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms t the San Pietro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
3.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Spa Hotel in Positano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $463 - $2,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il San Pietro is widely considered to be one of the best hotels in Italy. It is built into the rock with panoramic terraces magnificently overlooking Positano and the Coast. Each uniquely decorated guest room comes with a private terrace decorated in the sophisticated local style with hand-painted ceramic tiles and furniture upholstered in sumptuous fabrics. Its one star Michelin-rated restaurant, the Zass, serves a variety of superb local and international cuisine and, weather permitting, guests can enjoy the unparalleled terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing