We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Nice... at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il San Pietro di Positano
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perched on a cliffside about 3 mins outside the actual city, HSP is a world-renowned marvel of a hotel. Other than the price, there is not much to complain about and even that it is somewhat mollified by the excellent service, numerous amenities and unparalleled setting. Breaking it down:

Location:
We flew into Rome and took a car service from the airport directly since we had some hefty bags for a 9-day trip. The other options would have been to take a train to Naples and then bus it from there to Positano, or possibly fly to Naples and bus/taxi from the airport in Naples. The car ride was about 2-3 hours and we slept most of it, arriving at HSP just after noon. The hotel is not actually in the town of Positano which I considered a plus since most of those properties have very little actual property. It is on a cliff a few windy roads out of town but they provide a shuttle service (FREE!) to anywhere you want to go and at any time. They really are incredibly good at being there to take you and pick you up quickly and it feels good to drop into and then escape out of the steppy, touristy town of Positano.

The Physical Plant:
One would be hard-pressed to find a more beautiful setting anywhere in the world and I do not say this lightly. I would easily put it up against any hotel in the world in terms of sheer beauty both in terms of physical upkeep and view and care that they give the property. The "beach" is actually a stone platform that juts out from a cliff 100 feet below the hotel itslef in the bright blue Mediterranean. It has a bar, comfortable lounge chairs, small cocktail tables and an attentive staff. You can get there via elevator that descends into the cliff or stairs that meander down and around their own terraced farms and gardens where they grow fruit, herbs and flowers. The groundskeeper picked figs off the tree and have it to us as we went down - I mean, really?? They use the yield for their own restaurant. BONUS: From the beach deck, a free 90min boat trip takes off every morning at 11:30am for about an hour and tours around the Amalfi coast - there are some delicious snacks, beers, wine and sangria offered as well. For free! That would usually cost 100 euros easy. The pool is small and located on the 2nd floor of the hotel and except for the wise-alecky pool guy who thought he was very funny by saying 'No' to everything you asked for and then conceding, was very nice. There is a tennis court at the base of the cliff as well which I saw being used once but swept constantly. The spa/gym is servicable and clean but we didnt use it so I cant comment too much. There is a patio that looks down onto the Sea where you can have a drink and they will bring you complimentary almonds and olives. Yumm! The lobby has a sneaky little pin-tucked bar in the corner where someone is seemingly always available to pour a prosecco or an espresso while you wait.

The Room:
We were given the Deluxe room at first which was a a simple bed and bathroom and our view was pretty but the balcony overlooked the hotel Terrace so we asked to be changed. Don;t be shy to do this because they are very happy to show you more options as they did for us. We were shown an equicvalent room and then one for 100, and 200 more Euros/nt. We actually upgraded us to a room which was slightly larger and much more private, with a view that was so nice it practically seizure-inducing. They provide a nightly water for you at no cost and a fruit basket in the room on arrival. Breakfast is served in the room and is Continental (fruit, breads, yoghurt) unless you want to order more at a price - not necessary. They will bring it onto the patio and it is actually one of the great pleasures of the stay to have coffee and breakfast on the patio looking over the incredible views.

The Restaurant:
Very pricey, gorgeous views, high-end haute cuisine at a very high price. Honestly, it was delicious but so expensive and there are plenty of options outside the hotel itself that are much more affordable and typical of the coastal region. Save the high end stuff for New York or London. On the one morning we chose to have breakfast in the restaurant (to my wife's extraordinary dismay) we witnessed them actually pulling the day's fresh bread out of the brick oven! It was then served to us with cheese, jams, and fresh fruit. I still believe that one morning it's worth a try - my wife might not agree.

Everything else:
It's expensive but there's expensive and not worth it and then there is this. The hotel staff, concierge, cleaning staff, all seem to be there to make your experience as wonderful as it can be. If you are willing to splurge you will not be disappointed and if there is a place in the world to make that splurge, the Amalfi Coast would be it.

Room Tip: See a few rooms before you choose. Walk the stairs down to the pool
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank StopPagingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Il San Pietro di Positano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 869 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our stay at iL San Pietro was outstanding. Everything from the clean, beautiful room to the daily boat ride, lunch by the beach, or enjoying the sunset by the sea, even working out at the hotel....it was simply perfect! The service is warm and wonderful.
My daughter and I stayed there for 6 days in July. Perfect amount of time. My husband and I are booked for next July. One of the absolute vacations I have ever had. It is truly paradise

Room Tip: Any room is good. They all have a balcony with magnificent views of the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargotV176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

World famous cliffside hotel. Amazing views. Great restaurants.

If you're going to travel this far you might as well go to Capri. You can find great hotel rooms for half the price ($700 v/s $1,500) or maybe they're $1,000 in Capri. I can't remember. But Capri is much better than Positano! :)

Advice:

limo drive up the Amalfi Coast to the airport

day trip via private yacht to Capri.

Room Tip: upgrade to get better view with balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChampagneVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed in IL San Pietro twice and absolutly loved it. It is located few minutes away from Positano, it is very private and absolutly gorgeous. The views are stunning. Worth to pay extra to upgrade to a "special" room. Those are rooms which are larger in size and unique in decor. Service is excellent

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the ll San Pietro for a week in June 2012. We considered staying at Le Sirenuse, but I’m so glad we didn’t. Firstly because of the location, which was breath-taking, as it’s situated on its own cliff, just outside of town so has uninterrupted views of Positano and the coast. Secondly, because they make the best peach Bellini’s in the world.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the service was outstanding. We enjoyed the beach side restaurant the most - the courgette spaghetti was divine.

We stayed in a superior room, which was huge and beautifully decorated. Most of the other guests we spoke to return every year which speaks for itself. We're definitely going to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the coast - so you can't go wrong !
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This has to be one of the great hotels in the world, built into a cliff with a breathtaking view of Positano. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. The lobby of the hotel has an incredible view of Positano and is a great place for a drink if you can't sit outside. Outside is the terrace and that too has an incredible view of Positano. It is a wonderful place on a warm evening. Our room confirmation says our room was a deluxe double, but we may have been upgraded because deluxe double understates the grandeur of the room. It was incredibly spacious. There was more closet space than in my house. The closet doors were all painted with frescoes. The bathroom was spacious with double sinks. We had a small terrace with a view of the Mediterranean and the town just to the south, Praiano. The hotel has its own private beach. You take an elevator, that was seemingly carved through the middle of a cliff, from the lobby level down to the water. There is a bar and casual restaurant down there as well. It is very quiet and private. I had 2 issues with the hotel which is why I did not rate it excellent. We had a bad experience at the gourmet restaurant. It is terribly expensive and while the food is presented in a gourmet fashion, the quality is not gourmet. See my review under restaurants. I also did not like the shower. Our bathroom had a huge tub with jacuzzi jets. The shower seems to be an afterthought. It is like a phone booth. It was a good shower just a small enclosure. There are jacuzzi jets in the shower also, but I could not get them to work. There are two things everyone should realize when they book this hotel. One is that it is some distance from town, a 5 minute car ride. The hotel provides a shuttle 24/7 and it is very convenient. Some people may want to stay in town, but I liked leaving the crowds behind and going back to my quiet, elegant retreat. The other is that in spite of the marketing material, not many rooms have a view of Positano. There are just a few on that side of the hotel. Most look out over the Mediterranean. A few have a view of Praiano. This is an amazing hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband & I have stayed at this property 2 years in a row (we have never done that before anywhere) Aug. 2010, Aug. 2011. This summer we choose to travel else where and although we had a nice trip NOTHING compares to Il San Pietro. It is special. We will back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
794 reviews
3.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
4.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
1.0 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#1 Spa Hotel in Positano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $469 - $2,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il San Pietro is widely considered to be one of the best hotels in Italy. It is built into the rock with panoramic terraces magnificently overlooking Positano and the Coast. Each uniquely decorated guest room comes with a private terrace decorated in the sophisticated local style with hand-painted ceramic tiles and furniture upholstered in sumptuous fabrics. Its one star Michelin-rated restaurant, the Zass, serves a variety of superb local and international cuisine and, weather permitting, guests can enjoy the unparalleled terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing