We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a low-key visit to Positano”
Review of La Rosa Dei Venti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Rosa Dei Venti
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a low-key visit to Positano”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for three nights in "Scirocco". We had a great stay, the room was very clean, the bathroom had a new feeling and the star of the room was the great sea-view deck, which had a table and two chairs as well as a lounge chair. The balcony was completely private and no one could see into our room. We enjoyed the simple breakfast that was included (you can add eggs or meat/cheese for only a few euro) out on the balcony and it was a great way to start each day. The owner Mario and Vincenzo were great. Vincenzo went out of his way to assist us and could not have been any nicer, just a great guy to have helping you on a daily basis. Compared to the higher-end offerings throughout town, for the space and view, La Rosa Dei Venti is extremely reasonable. It is located in the Fornillo area of Positano, so its away from the tourist drag, but we found that to be a great bonus and couldn't wait to get away from the mob of people. You can take the steps down to the older beach and cross over to the main area from there, or wind down the main road, the staff will give you some good shortcuts to get to the main beach quickly. You can't go wrong choosing La Rosa Dei Venti. Also, be sure you make a reservation for lunch at Da Adolfo, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms on the upper floors, they have much better views. Also, have the staff book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tblumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    50
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
140
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a lovely, lovely place to stay in Positano. I stayed there with my husband for 5 nights and have nothing to say but great things. Large, cosy bedroom with a huge bathroom, great view, perfect breakfast served in the room. They even have skysports so we were able to watch the world cup games : )

Walk down the stairs to reach the smaller beach in Positano, which by the way is much better than the big one.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have sea view, but always worth it asking when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeloRighetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 7 days in Positano & were lucky enough to spend them all at the La Rosa Dei Venti.
Now if you don't like steps & walking then really don't go to Positano - I can't believe that some reviewers on web-sites complain about the steps for a town that is literally built on the side of a cliff - what do they expect, elevators? (it's like going to the North Pole & saying "Yeah it's nice, but really there is just too much snow")
This is a beautiful B&B run by a family- it isn't a Hotel, so don't expect all the "Bells & Whistles" that you get with one. What you get are lovely rooms - we stayed in the Grecale, which has fantastic sea views from the balcony. If you can have this room then believe me you won't be disappointed. There is a lovely large bed, a great bathroom with shower, SKY TV, a fridge & coffee making facilities. We didn't meet Mario, but both Alexandro & Vicenzo on the desk were very helpful & friendly - just ask them if you need anything & they will do their best to help. (Alexandro met us when the taxi dropped us off & carried one of our cases down the steps & did the same back up to a waiting taxi when we left...nothing was too much trouble.)
As many people have already mentioned, breakfast is served in your room - you leave a card on your door handle at night indicating what you would like from the options available & the time you would like it. Don't expect "100 options" though - this isn't a massive hotel complex & it's worth remembering that Italians do not eat a large breakfast, it is traditionally only a coffee & croissant. (So if you want Omelettes an English fry-up, or cheese/ham/beans with toast then you should look elsewhere!!)
The Rosa Dei Venti is perfectly placed for restaurants - just turn left from the door & there are many leading down into the town - Il Capitano is opposite the Pharmacy and is well worth a visit for the lovely food & views from the terrace - it is also a bit away from the busy road. Turning right from the door will lead you down the many many steps to Forniillo beach. This is the quieter of the main ones and €8 each a day will get you a sun lounger, a parasol & the use of the shower/toilet facilities etc. The guys at "Ferdinandos" are very friendly - these are the Aussie Green/Gold loungers - and their bar serves the best Panini's in town...in fact in any town!! (If you don't fancy the steps back up afterwards then follow the path around the beach - past Lo Guarracino which is another restaurant well worth a visit - and this will take you back through Positano town & the walk won't seem so tiring....it is, but it just won't seem it! Alternatively Ferdinandos do offer a little water taxi service back to the main beach area - but this is cheating really!)
In the main pedestrian part of town look out for La Zagara - the cakes are really something else, must try one..
Positano is a beautiful place to visit - although Sorrento is perhaps the better option for a longer stay. Having said that there are always boat trips & walks to keep you occupied.and fit. You will never get tired of the views & Italian people are just so friendly.
Would we return to Positano...oh yes definitely. And where would we stay?....without doubt La Rosa Dei Venti - every moment we spent there was perfecto!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Grecale - can't fail to love this one, beautiful sea view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianandLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here with my partner in the room "Tramontana" for two nights. We arrived early and were immediately greeted by an extremely professional, friendly and helpful receptionist - Vincenzo. He helped us find the parking - EUR 20 per day - very near to the hotel. The room balcony has beautiful views overlooking the sea (Spiagga del Fornillo direction). The rooms were very spacious - with a sofa - and very comfortable, clean. You have to fill out a card for breakfast and it always arrived on time to eat on the room balcony - the food very tasty. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Tramontana was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for three nights during a 4 week trip to Italy. It was Paradise found- ocean views, impeccable service, great location, beautiful rooms and lovely staff.

The beach is a short (albeit steep) walk away, the town is 5 minutes walk downhill. There is a stop for the internal Positano bus near the property, but it is really not necessary if you are of average agility.

This is a family fun business and the love and care for the property was felt during every aspect of our stay. The breakfast served each morning on the balcony was a highlight, our room was kept beautifully clean; the guys at reception were always willing to help with a smile, for anything we desired.

We made use of the boat offered by La Rosa Dei Venti- and it was the best holiday experience we've ever had. Stefano took us cruising on the coast from Amalfi to Capri, stopping for swimming and eating along the way. He brought Champagne, fresh fruit and biscuits and he was lovely company. The cost of this was great value for money compared to other quotes we received around Positano.

We will definitely come back and stay at this hotel- it was a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Choose a full sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaandjessgoeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights of a 15 night trip all over Italy. It was our favorite place we stayed.
The Staff was VERY nice. The location was quiet, 2 blocks of walking only path from the main street (away from car noise). On the way to the local's beach. The free breakfast was GREAT, you placed your order on a card and hung it on your doorknob at night and in the morning the staff brought exactly what you ordered to the room at the time you requested.
Breakfast on the Balcony overlooking the Med every morning was wonderful. The shower was big and hot w/ good water pressure. The bed was king sized and comfortable. The mini bar was cheap! WE ordered the local wine for 10 Euros per bottle to our room. The only slight issue was that the wifi was often un-stable.

we will stay here again for our next anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice B&B, 10min walking distance fron the center of Positano, offering nice views and places to eat around the corner. Spacious room, in-room breakfast which can be enjoyed on the small balcony. Very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#30 of 39 in Positano
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa Dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa Dei Venti

Property: La Rosa Dei Venti
Address: Via Fornillo, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rosa Dei Venti 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lovely rent room located in a old part of Positano, with all comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your La Rosa Dei Venti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Dei Venti Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing