We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only if you are fit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rosa Dei Venti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rosa Dei Venti
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“only if you are fit”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

the views were stunning. the accommodation spotless. The pillows were awful - never slept on such lumpy pillows ever. Language was a problem. grandpa was is reception all the time and could speak no English. about 40 steps to get to accommodation and my poor husband had to walk up and down twice to carry luggage. I have asthma and walking up steps in extreme heat was difficult. He wouldn't even let me try the stairs 408 of them down to the beach and then back up again! unless you are fit - it was difficult.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    48
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
131
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delabole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great little hotel in a great location. Room with balcony with views over the bay of Positano. Within easy walking distance of some great restaurants (Saraceno one of the best). Staff very friendly and breakfast served on your balcony and brought to your room at whichever time you wish. Even 11.30am didnt seem to bother them. Not cheap. but then this is not a cheap area to stay. Expect to get a double for about 100 euros inc breakfast.

Room Tip: Email the hotel direct as they will do deals outside of Booking.com etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffyandDi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Rosa Dei Venti for five days in October, it was the first stop of our honeymoon in Italy. It could not have been more perfect. One of the challenges when planning our trip had been deciding the best way to get to Positano. The owner of La Rosa suggested we fly into Naples and he arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport and drive us straight to Positano. All of this went smoothly and we were relieved he had listened to his advice. He also made us reservations for our first night at Cafe Positano. We had a private dining balcony and the food was delicious.

The B&B itself was clean, spacious and while the people who worked the front desk did not speak english that did not bother us at all.

The best part of La Rosa was enjoying the view while eating breakfast that was served to our room every morning and laid out on the balcony. You can not possibly be in a more relaxing spot.

Our room was well cleaned every day after we had left to explore the town, the bed was large and comfortable. We felt very safe as the owners lock the door at night and only those with a key can enter. Not once did we hear other guests through the walls even though the place was full. The room had a mini fridge which came in handy to store our cheese and wine purchased at a small market up the road. Ladies, there was also a hair dryer which was a pleasant surprise since it isn't mentioned on their website.

They also provide beach towels to you free of charge, just ask them at the front desk (if you can figure out how to say beach towel in Italian I am impressed!). The wifi is free and works in the room, you need a password for it which they can give you at the front as well.

The weather was beautiful for our entire stay and while we enjoyed the beach we found suntanning on the balcony of our room while reading and drinking wine was more peaceful.

The B&B is half way up the hill so be prepared for lots of stairs, I had heard this warning before we left and it was true! I would still rather stay at La Rosa then closer to the bottom because it was quieter and there was a selection of great restaurants right down the road that did not seem to get as packed as the ones on the beach.

While the rest of our two week trip through Italy was amazing I have to say that Positano and La Rosa Dei Venti was the highlight. Thank you to our wonderful hosts for making it a trip we will never forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrozycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We (my husband, me and 3 of our children) stayed at La Rosa Dei Venti for 5 days in July 2012. It is in the old section of town but close enough to the center of things. We booked a double and a triple room. When we made the reservations via email, the gentleman offered us the Ostro and Tramonte rooms for one night, and then offered to move us to the Grecale and Libeccio rooms which he deemed were better but already booked for our first night. We agreed to that. When we arrived and were set up in the Ostro and Tramonte rooms, I wondered how there can be better rooms. We had everything we needed, and there was a lovely view of the Positano bay from the balcony. The bathrooms were very nice with great water pressure in the showers. The next day, they moved us to the Grecale and Libeccio rooms and being on the upper floor, the view of the bay was even more spectacular. However, all of those rooms were remarkable. We did have some problems with the internet connection when we were in the Ostro room being further away from the lobby. However, that may have been due to the fact that I may not have been on the correct server. It appears they have 3 different servers depending on the floor you are one, but I connected when we were in the lobby asking for the password. When we were in the Grecale room, the connection was excellent. Therefore, I think it was my problem and not the establishment. We started out each morning with the most relaxing Italian breakfast – coffee to order and a basket of cornetti and pane. You can also add yogurt and juice if you you’d like, as well as a few other items for a nominal cost. You request the time for breakfast, and it is brought to your balcony exactly on time with a smile on the woman’s face. That was the highlight of my trip. Eating an Italian breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Positano bay – heaven! The Furnillo beach is a smaller beach (as opposed to the Positano beach) directly down the steps from the establishment. Yes, there are over 400 steps but we did not find that a problem. The beach was clean and not crowded and we really enjoyed it. We did a walking tour with Christine and her tour Discover Positano and that was a very nice way to get oriented in the town. We would highly recommend LA Rosa Dei Venti, and we would stay there again the next time we visit Positano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRMTR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had one night planned in Positano, and I researched thoroughly thanks to TripAdvisor. This hotel was very reasonable priced, cute, nice rooms, very clean and good basic breakfasts included. But let’s cut to the chase – you visit Positano for one thing and one thing only – the amazing landscape and views. So if you book this hotel, you have to have an upper level room to get a view. I knew this going in and emailed the hotel to reserve such a room. I received confirmation of this as well. But when I arrived, oops, sorry – the only room available was the Tramontana – with a lovely power line running directly through your line if sight and a building to your left taking away any panorama. Read through the other reviews and find the photos - you'll see. Hotel management was apologetic, but it still didn’t make up for it. I only had one night. So be careful. You can't guarantee what you'll get.

Room Tip: Avoid lower level rooms, especailly Tramontana. Not good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yarrumdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visiting Positano in August is always a treat, crowds, heat, sky-high prices. But this little B&B oasis, a 20-minute walk up from the main beach in Positano, is an absolute gem. Mario, his son and daughter, and his parents run a very tight, yet casual operation. We stayed in the Maestrale room, ocean-front balcony where breakfast is served every morning. Room was very clean, daily servicing was impeccable and very helpful tips on getting around the Amalfi. Wifi connection in the room was spotty,and service was down for a few days. Not a big deal on holidays. Will definitely be back and try our a lesser peak season. Great location!

Room Tip: Maestrale was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGMontreal_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pa.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay in Positano. The view from our room was magnificent and we loved eating breakfast on our private terrace. Our room was very spacious and immaculate. The owners were very helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CathyMPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa Dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa Dei Venti

Property: La Rosa Dei Venti
Address: Via Fornillo, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rosa Dei Venti 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lovely rent room located in a old part of Positano, with all comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Rosa Dei Venti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Dei Venti Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing