We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Definitely recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Tartana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Tartana
Ranked #11 of 46 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Would stay here again if I ever revisited Positano. It's small, cute and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and extremely clean. Location is fantastic as you are steps away from the beach - no need to walk up and down all day. Also every close to great food, the club Music on the Rocks and lots of little shops.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    67
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
151
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This small hotel was exactly what we were looking for. In the heart of Positano, Villa La Tartana is a very short walk through charming streets to the beach. It was clean and the customer service was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel!! From our check-in with sweet Camilla, to our seaside room, everything was perfect. Positano is a predominately pedestrian town. We parked our car once, and did not see it again for 3 days. The Villa La Tartana is a short walk from the closest garage, and your luggage is transported by porters in a small electric cart. When we entered our charming room, we faced the water, a magnificent old church, and one of the most amazing views that I have ever seen. Our room was well appointed, with lots of storage space, a flat screen TV, and plenty of light. There is wi-fi in the lobby if you are interested. The hotel is a half-block walk (downhill) to the beach, and the street, leading to the hotel, is lined with lovely stores and restaurants. The staff was so kind and helpful, and recommended some outstanding restaurants (Bucco de Bacco and Cafe de Positano). They also provide a nice continental breakfast in the morning. I HIGHLY recommend this charming hotel in the magical town of Positano!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We are just checking out of this lovely little villa in positano. It has been wonderful. We stayed in room 26. It has magical views of the beach and town and the best part is no steps from here to main square! The staff have been very accommodating. On our first night there was an error in our booking and they had no rooms, but the staff just found us a bed in the hotel next door! When we did finally get here the next day, they had arranged transfer of our luggage and when they opened the French doors to show us the view we thought we had died and gone to heaven. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tanmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in June 2012 and had a double seaview room number 26, which is just as you come up the stairs on first level.

As we walked in the room it was just incredible, the views are amazing and the room was spotless, everything looked perfect. There was a closet to hang you clothes and plenty of drawers to put things away. Bathroom was a bit on the small side but that seems to be common in Italy but we managed fine with the space we had.

Air conditioner worked fantastic and was on when we got in the room so it was nice and cool, the balcony was great had a small round table and 2 chairs and 2 lounge chairs to relax in.

Breakfast was good but mainly croissants and bread rolls, french toast and lots of spreads to go with it but we ended up buying some cereal and fruit just to change it up. Coffee was made to order and was great.

Check in and check out were quick and simple,Carmella was great and all staff were very friendly.
Positano is an amazing place and you would be hard pressed to find a more suitable accommodation, it is situated close to the beach and everything is easy to get to from the ferry dock to shops and restaurants, if we were to return I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd level has amazing views. Our friends had room 28 and their bathroom was slightly larger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SONYIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Villa la Tartana late June 2012 - what a beautiful surprise we had on arrival - easy to locate, lovely welcome by the staff with Lucca even carrying our very heavy suitcases up to our room on the second floor! ...... we opened our shutters onto the balcony and the view was to die for. We could not have been happier. It was the pick of all our accommodation in Italy and Croatia.

Thank you all the staff for your informative advice on Positano and surrounds - everyone was so very helpful including giving us ice for our G+T's - nothing was too much trouble.

The twin room we shared was spotless, the beds very comfortable, bathroom a good size, balcony delightful for a rest at the end of the day.

I would recommend this to anyone - you will not be disappointed
Di - Gold Coast

Room Tip: Book early - only 11 rooms in complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldCoastDisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Villa La Tartana, we were welcome by a fruit juice when we arrived, which was a lovely touch. The hotel owners clearly invest a lot to make the hotel welcoming. The reception area, and breakfast room, is very clear, clean and airy, there are acquarelles of Positano all over the hotel. While we were there, a huge number of fresh pots of petunias were delivered. The hotel is beautifully situated, very close to the beach and the harbour, right next to the church (which we did not hear at all). Nights are quiet up until 5.30 am. This was the only down side, all 3 mornings we were woken up by the noise of glass collection. We spoke to the hotel reception (got different replies from different persons) but it seems that it is the municipality of Positano that collects glasses at dawn so it would affect all the hotels in the area. Clearly, it is something that the hotel owners should get together about and speak to the authorities about. Still, that should not keep you from staying in this gem of a hotel, as I am sure something will be done about this soon (we just got up and shut the window and slept on until 8.30 am).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Tartana

Property: Villa La Tartana
Address: Via Vito Savino 6/8, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa "La Tartana" faces the beautiful sea of Positano. It takes only a few minutes to reach the famous "Spiaggia Grande" going down the Lion Steps. Villa "La Tartana" is a typical Positanasian house. Recently renovated, it has not lost any of its original characteristic architecture, which has instead been enhanced. The hotel can be reached only by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa La Tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Tartana Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing