We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not as nice as the photos!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa dei Fisici

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa dei Fisici
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not as nice as the photos!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ok we stayed at Villa Dei Fisici recently and from afar it looks great but up close ; it needs upkeep! The bedroom ceilings need to be redone as there is some black stuff on them and with the intricate paintwork , no way they can be pressure washed! There are a couple of light fixtures partially pulled out of wall with exposed wires and the fake flowers in the boat on the main floor and throughout the villa need to be replaced. Don;t get me wrong , the views are fabulous BUT even the outside areas of villa need to be repainted and patched for numerous cracks , etc! For the prices they charge they should really take better care of this place because it should be gorgeous. UPSIDE ; FABIO ....he cooked three incredible dinners for us and is marvelous , make sure to request him and hope the villa never loses him , because he is great!

Room Tip: Many rooms are interconnected , so some people have to walk thru other bedrooms to enter/ exit their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BA135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this villa in mid Sept 2012, which was a great time to go as the weather was ideal (low 80's) and not as busy with tourists. We had 17 friends stay here and once we found the place (very challenging!) we throughly enjoyed it. The views from each floor are spectatular as all the window/doors pretty much face the town & water. What you gain in view means quite a challenge in getting up to the place, since it sits higher up the cliffs than most of the other homes etc.. Lost count of how many steps you had to climb down to get to all the shops and the water but it is quite an ordeal coming back up and the town's bus helps but still drops you off down a ways from the villa. We opted to hire the private chef & waiter which was available for extra charge. At first we thought we would use them for 3 or 4 nights but after seeing all the steps to town we decided to use them every night of our stay. Food (4 courses) varied but was well prepared and served to you like a restaurant. You can give them ideas of what you would like. Well worth the $ A few minor issues with the villa (broken clothes dryer was probably the biggest hassle for 17 people) but overall everything was working well and very clean thanks to daily mail & pool service. The biggest recommendation to the owners would be to put precise directions and landmarks to find the place on their website or in the pre welcome package. I spent nearly 2+hours driving around in my car and asking residents where the place was. We got different answers each time. The villa is also known by a few other older villa names so there is a bit of confusion with the locals. Some in our villa had Garmins (GPS) which did help them find it fairly well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Villa dei Fisici for my daughters wedding in Positano. Our stay at the Villa was magical. We had cocktails on the morning of the wedding before going to church at the Villa and Paola made sure that everything was perfect. She added her special touches that made the wedding seem like a fairytale. The rooms were impeccable, each one beautifully decorated with their own ensuite. Paola made sure she was there to answer every question and all our needs were met. Her staff was amazing and made sure the Villa was sparkling. Every room had a view that was breathtaking. I highly recommend the Villa to anybody celebrating a special occasion or vacationing with a group of friends. It will be a experience of a lifetime. Thank you to Paola and her family for making my daughters wedding a dream come true.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rosa12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been a week in July at Villa dei Fisici, we rented this amazing place for our wedding anniversary, we were 12 people each one had a large comfortable suite with an unforgettable view! I cooked almost everyday in the kitchen it was very well furnished including all our needs, the day of my anniversary we hired a professional cook he cooked for us the best local seafood, Paola arranged everything even the little fireworks at the end of dinner,we had a great dinner in the large terrace and cocktail on the pool floor with bar, I can say that was one of the most beautiful evenings of my life, thanks to the housekeeping Ms Adriana and Julie and Ms Paola.Thanks again from all my friends, sure we will back in this amazing place!Craig and Susan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Villa dei Fisici is the absolute best vacation property you will truly ever experience.
The location is stunning, the villa's staff is terrific and Paola (the manager) will bedazzle you with her sparkling personality and attention to every detail. It is the most beautiful villa of all in Positano and we know because we've stayed at a few and would now only stay at Villa dei Fisici.
I could write a book on all the wonderful things about this villa; but you should really go and see for yourself. I guarantee you will be so impressed that you chose this one!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This past May we had the good fortune to spend a week at Villa Del Fisici in Positano. All 14 of us agree that it was the most memorable week of our lives.
The Villa is magnificent. It was very clean, has a well stocked kitchen and the bedrooms and bathrooms were beautiful. The grounds around the Villa are spotless.
The views of Positano from our terraces were awesome.
It was an honor to meet the Fiorentino family. They are gracious hosts. Paola is so warm and kind. She cooked the most wonderful dinner for the 22 of us, served on our terrace.We all received presents made by talented family members. What a special night in a special place!
Paola also gave 5 members of our group cooking lessons in our Villa. They had so much fun. We were able to eat all the food they prepared.
I hope to return to Villa del Fisici or Villa Fiorentino (they are on the same property) someday soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank thedollis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Fisici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Fisici

Property: Villa dei Fisici
Address: Via Santa Croce 12,14, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Fisici 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa dei Fisici in Positano on the Amalfi coast is a wonderful 18th-Century historical home for unforgettable holidays and events. The villa has a total area of 750 sq.m on three floors, all of which overlook the sea and Positano bay: The main floor leads to the large drawing room with period furniture and genuine masters. This floor has the suite Brothers Montgolfier. All the rooms on this floor lead to the villa’s large terrace, which is an excellent location for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The upper floor has 4 bedroom suites overlooking the sea and with balconies opening onto a long terrace with a breathtaking view. The suites have frescoed domes with original paintings, period furniture, marble fireplaces, doors painted by artists from the School of Naples and terracotta floors with ceramic decorations. All the bathrooms have been restored recently and are decorated with antique tiles. The "Romeo and Juliet" suite with an independent entrance located on the lower floor has an enchanting atmosphere, which can be experienced by looking out over the balcony of the suite to admire the wonderful view of Positano and the elegant "Afrodite" swimming pool. The floor with the swimming pool also has a solarium with showers, bar, and dressing rooms with toilet. This property has all the mod cons: swimming pool, telephone, fax, wi-fi, independent heating, air conditioning, high-quality linen, DVD player, stereo, satellite TV, ice-maker, washing machine, dryer, hair-dryer, dish-washer, freezer and fully-equipped professional kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing