We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C'era una Volta

C'era una Volta
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The place to go if you want to eat like the locals and eat with the locals! Open all year round and with pizza takeaway service, C'era una Volta is family run and the perfect place for a traditional meal.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was one of the best meals we had during our 2 week trip to Italy. It was a short walk from our Villa which was handy, although I hear they also offer a pick-up service. Everything we ordered was excellent, we especially would recommend ordering from the daily specials menu, the Gnocchi and the Zucchini Flower were amazing. In all, we ordered 2 starters, 2 main meals, 1 ltr of wine and 4 Limoncello's, we couldn't believe our eyes when the bill only came to 44 euros, it was much better value for money (and better food) than we found in the more touristy restaurants in down-town Positano. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolajane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    291
    64
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We went twice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Honestly, best resturaunt in Positano! Off the beaten path; very authentic. Federico was an amazing host and had us laughing the whole time.

The food was amazing... And CHEAP!! Compared to everything downtown and by the beach, this place is a steal!! We got a liter of house vino for 6Euro and pizzas from 5.50 Euro. The specials all sounded amazing and fresh, although I did not personally get one. There was plenty on the menu to keep me occupied.

It is everything you want! We had to return two nights later for some more delicious food and fun!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtneyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great food, wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were visiting Positano with Tauck tours, and had a free evening on our own for dinner. My daughter found this this great restaurant on Trip Advisor. They picked us up right from our hotel, and we were treated to a wonderful meal and even better service and hospitality! We loved Frederico, he made the evening so special for Mom, myself and daughter! The food was excellent, I highly recommend you try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horstrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of Positano's Best!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband & I enjoyed our last evening in Positano at this excellent restaurant! It is situated up in the hills, with outdoor tables overlooking the cliffs and they provide a free shuttle. The food is excellent, a lot of choices for their nightly specials, we enjoyed lightly battered, stuffed sardines with cheese, Caprese salad, fresh Tuna, also a beef steak done in a tomato sauce, and finished with the lemon cake suggested by our waiter--again I stress: excellent! Frederico is a prized asset to the restaurant, he was very charming, caring, providing wonderful attention, making us feel special (something other restaurant servers could learn). Prices were very reasonable, our meal including a bottle of Proseco came to less than 90 Euros. We intend to make this a favourite place to eat when we return to Positano! Molto grazie Frederico, from Luisa!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
280 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A fantastic lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were a large group (10), for lunch on the patio at the end of May. The view of Positano from the terrace was fabulous and this was a great way to first see and experience Positano. The service was great and our food came out very quickly! Amazing food and good prices. We very much enjoyed our lunch here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TLWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'era una Volta also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to C'era una Volta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing