We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with Beautiful View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Positano
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Minnesota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice with Beautiful View!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend Susie, Erin and I were traveling to Positano and needed a place where we could have 3 stay in a room. We were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was and could accommodate 3 girls and their bags! The hotel view of Positano is incredible...the breakfast is so lovely on the terrace! We were impressed they also had a juicing machine. We particularly liked we had to use the stairs to get down...to the street (or you could go street wise)...it was a good workout for us! And, we liked the pool but never used it. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and also helped with logistics of travel to Naples airport. All and all we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    141
    105
    61
    60
See reviews for
138
181
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The room was clean and provided the basics. No cold fridge though which was an issue. The pool was nice but you need bathing caps or no go. The tennis court/soccer pitch was fun for the kids - they played with oither kids in hotel.

The breakfast was gret - fantastic coffee to start the day was nice.

Walking distance down to beacjh was 20 minutes - good fun walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFoxFamily3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We are staying here at the moment. The hotel is quite far up from beach and town centre but if walking isn't a problem, no problem. The resort of Positano is just simply beautiful. The views and flowers and restaurants are outstanding. The beach is a bit rocky sand and pebbly but waves are good for bobbing up and down in the sea. Hotel's restaurant is very nice. Pool area and bar very nice. Relax on upstairs bar terrace and enjoy view.

The room is enormous with two bathrooms and three bedrooms for just three of us and it had a very nice terrace with seating. Housekeeping very friendly. Some staff nice and others just ok.

Stayed here with my husband and daughter aged 20. We loved the table tennis and pool and bar areas. I think there is a spa and kiddie club but did not use these.

Room Tip: This hotel is a maze of corridors and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shieky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

From Toronto and will be staying here for the fifth time.
Very good experience each time. Pool is fantastic and from what we have gathered the biggest one in the area. Rooms are very clean and the hotel always takes care of us as we have three kids. The walk down to the ocean is perfect as we like to have the step challenge. It's definitely vertical but in a good way.

Room Tip: Very clean and very safe place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

For the money, you get a sweet little spot up the mountain. I read all the negative reviews and agree with some of their comments. But those were not deal breakers. The bottom line is that the rooms are clean, with a nice lanai. The view from the restaurant veranda is quite lovely. The morning breakfast was delicious with many choices. There are 400 steps down toward the center of town...but then I took the city bus back up for only 1.30 euros. And the bus stops right at the hotel...convenient! I'd stay here again...a decent hotel that didn't break the bank!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indygirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beautiful view, clean room. AMAZING breakfast! Fresh croissants and great quality products. The terrace is enchanting! Very friendly and professional staff. The only negative point (but that is true for pretty much all hotels in positano) is that there is not much room for parking. Expect between 18 and 22 euros per day for parking.
Also the 400 steps are clean and safe. It gives you a little workout on the way back but its worth it. They bring you right in the middle of the town and the view is extraordinary!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eda3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice place, location, very polite and friendly personel. Gave great service. Had fun with Sabatino, Luca and Pasquale the last night before leaving. The guys were funny and extremely nice. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#28 of 38 in Positano
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Positano

Property: Hotel Royal Positano
Address: Via Pasitea 344, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the rocky ledge overlooking entirely Positano, The Hotel Royal Positano is a discreet and simple hotel. Its neat architecture is perfectly integrated in the extraordinary context of the surroundings. The skyline is breathtaking and collects into an unique setting "sky, rocks and sea." Everybody can admire it while immersed in the pool, while dining under the stars, or while resting in the room Framed by the colors of the Mediterranean flora, the hotel offers 4star services to meet every kind of demand. The hospitality is discreet and attentive. with an eye to what is served at the table . The 77 suites are a tribute to the magnificent view onto the sea and onto the spectacular hills of the Amalfi Coast . Equipped and furnished with every comfort, they are designed for a pleasant stay in the room, with air conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and DVB-TV. From the spacious terraces, a symphony of colors and scents embrace the body and the soul. The Sun, the sea and the land represent a perfect mix. And the sweet aromas of citrus and orange blossoms will capture all the senses. Don't miss an excursion on the sea at Amalfi Coast: it will be possible to admire all the shades of the coastline: from the transparent green, close to the shore, to the gloomy indigo of the deep sea. And a memorable diving away from everything and everyone will be a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Royal Hotel Positano
Domina Hotel Royal
Domina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing