We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Positano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Positano
Ranked #39 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice place, location, very polite and friendly personel. Gave great service. Had fun with Sabatino, Luca and Pasquale the last night before leaving. The guys were funny and extremely nice. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    125
    90
    55
    52
See reviews for
118
155
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
181 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The grounds of the hotel are quite lovely, but the staff is rude and so un willingly to be helpful.

The hallways are threadbare, but the room was quite lovely..especially the balcony.

The restaurant was a horrid experience. We attempted to have a cocktail in the outdoor longe, but were told that we could not do that. Then in the dining room we asked for a cocktail and the most angry waiter said that we had to drink in the bar. So confusing. The restaurant was lighted like a cheap kitchen. No candles or soft glow. The menu was very confusing and offers very little that we cared to eat. Angry waiter and poor food was a sad occasion. A ruined night in paradise.

The worst was when the food came and the lobster was rotten. The smell could not be mistaken. How the chef could allow it to pass out of the kitchen was u believable. It was moldy and plain rotten.

A beautiful evening was totally spoiled and wasted. Then in the lovely bar, deck area where we might have had a drink there was someone singing an interrupting the starry silence.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MassimoLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Positano hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is high up in Positano so you aren't in the heart of the town, however I preferred that because it was very quiet and peaceful when you get back to your room at night... you don't have to hear all the loud tourists and restaurants... To get down to the main town/beach is 400 steps and same steps to come back up. There is a shuttle to avoid walking back up but it comes every half hour and always full of people... just easier to take your time and climb, only 10-15min. I had a balcony, sea view and part view of the town and was amazing. Service of the hotel was fantastic and breakfast on the terrace was nice. WIFI works only in lobby and terrace bar... there is also a nice big pool. Great place to stay in Positano away from the crazyness of the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is set on a steep cliff face. They were great with our car, as once you arrive they take the vehicle and bring it when you need it. We just spent one night here, but after the hustle and bustle of Naples and Sorrento, we found this refreshing. The room was fine and staff friendly. They warn you of the 400 steps to the town but the there are another 150 or so to the beach. We found Positano really charming and the cliffs behind the hotel were stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justintforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is in need of an overhaul. The carpet is threadbare, the corridors are a rabbit warren and it's easy to get lost to your room. Majority of staff don't care & can be rude ( especially in the breakfast dining room).
The wifi service is so antiquated you need 2 different passwords which mostly don't work as for whatever reason they change passwords every 2 hours. It's a hit & miss.
For what they charge per room this hotel is a real disappointment and they have the audacity to have some plaques on the wall recommending them.
There are plenty of other places in Positano that are further down towards the centre, are cheaper and MUCH better service. The exception on service would be Marco on the front desk who is the only competent person around.

Room Tip: Cannot advise on where to find best room as you have to walk a long way and up/down stairs and maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PHDSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived by bus on a Sunday afternoon the first week in September and stayed for 5 nights. When we first arrived, Marco was at the front desk and he was very nice and helpful. He had our luggage taken to our room and gave us recommendations to grab a snack at International Bar to hold us over until dinner. He made reservations for us for that evening at Il Ritrovo (one of the best meals of our trip) and arranged for us to be picked up for dinner. He continued to be very helpful and sweet for the rest of our stay there. We were in room 202 - small view of the sea, tennis courts, and pool area. Although the hotel is a bit of a maze due to it's location on a mountain, it's not difficult to figure out if you can read signs IMO. The carpets are dingy but the room we had was nice and clean. The annoying thing was that we requested to not receive housekeeping and the room was cleaned anyway. Also, we are a healthy young couple and can handle steps and this place has a lot of them and there are a lot of steps in order to get down to the town center as well. Certain staff there are indifferent but there are others who really do go out of their way to remember your name and room number and try to be helpful. Colombo, for example, walked us up to the main road to meet the driver who was to pick us up for another dinner reservation, La Tagliata, another great meal. BTW, swim caps for the pool cost 3.50 euro per person and they tell you when you check in that you will be charged if you get them (and so we did not). All in all, I think it's a worthwhile place because we got a decent deal (170 USD/night) for a spectacular and convenient location (near the bus stop) and breakfast with a view was included. OH, one last thing, they need to fix their WiFi set up. It's a mess - it does not work throughout their hotel. The best thing is to do all your WiFi use at breakfast if you can. Call the front desk to get the code, sign in, and use your ipad or device while eating breakfast.

Room Tip: 202 - second floor - was a good room. Sounds like it's a good idea to avoid the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank othynguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very much looked forward to our stay in Positano after travelling around other parts of Italy and experiencing great service and people every where we went, we were expecting to find the same - wrong we were! On arrival all seemed ok, recommended a nice place to eat on our first night ( found out later the staff get commission from restaurants when they book on guests behalf). Our first night in room 306 was terrible we had rooms 306 and 306.1 these were on the third floor and below the outdoor part of the restaurant. The noise was very loud of tables and chairs being dragged around until 2am at night then starting at 6am again. We complained to the reception and the guy couldn't careless about it and more or less said tough put up with it. We demanded new rooms immediately after his attitude was couldn't careless. He offered us one room for 3 of us, even though we booked 2 rooms. We were told 2 rooms not available until following day. We accepted this, and carried on for the following night. The following day back at reception another employee was there and unaware our rooms should be changed, after lengthy and frustrating discussions we got moved. One room was not the same size so we were disappointed, the other room given to us was flooded, smelt damp and the AC was leaking everywhere. Back at reception told the staff this was unacceptable and a room was required immediately, I was happy to say this loudly as I could see other English speaking people checking in (a gentle note to them of what to expect). We eventually got another room, and this room was good. On returning to the room we had been told our luggage would be moved for us, but no it was not there. I asked at reception where it was and the receptionist (a female) shrugged and said no idea. After demanding answers she made calls and found it had not been moved at all. She told us to go out and come back later (at 22:00!) I demanded it there and then and asked what she was going to do, which was not much. She did then find in a note book details of our problems and offered a €20 discount. We demanded the manager ASAP and she said he was at home, I told her unacceptable as it seemed her and all other staff incompetent and he was to return in 1 hour. After calls to him she got him to come in. When we met him we went through all the issues and he couldn't have been more helpful he was great, unlike any of his staff. He looked after us personally going forward and arranged a very good discounted rate.

I recommend not to be given room 305-308 if you are offered them say NO. If you have an issue demand the manager immediately as the staff are very poor and don't give a s**t about guests. The porters are very helpful and carried our luggage to the top of the hill which was 10 mins walk away up hill. If you use the pool take a swimming hat!!

Overall recommendation go to a different hotel, I did laugh when I saw a trip advisor certificate on the wall. Seeing that drove me to come here and write feedback.

Positano was a very beautiful place and all other places to eat and shop people were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Prisco Hotel
Royal Prisco Hotel
#31 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#33 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Positano

Property: Hotel Royal Positano
Address: Via Pasitea 344, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the rocky ledge overlooking entirely Positano, The Hotel Royal Positano is a discreet and simple hotel. Its neat architecture is perfectly integrated in the extraordinary context of the surroundings. The skyline is breathtaking and collects into an unique setting "sky, rocks and sea." Everybody can admire it while immersed in the pool, while dining under the stars, or while resting in the room Framed by the colors of the Mediterranean flora, the hotel offers 4star services to meet every kind of demand. The hospitality is discreet and attentive. with an eye to what is served at the table . The 77 suites are a tribute to the magnificent view onto the sea and onto the spectacular hills of the Amalfi Coast . Equipped and furnished with every comfort, they are designed for a pleasant stay in the room, with air conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and DVB-TV. From the spacious terraces, a symphony of colors and scents embrace the body and the soul. The Sun, the sea and the land represent a perfect mix. And the sweet aromas of citrus and orange blossoms will capture all the senses. Don't miss an excursion on the sea at Amalfi Coast: it will be possible to admire all the shades of the coastline: from the transparent green, close to the shore, to the gloomy indigo of the deep sea. And a memorable diving away from everything and everyone will be a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Royal Hotel Positano
Domina Hotel Royal
Domina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing