We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think it depends on how long you stay and what room you get...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Positano
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I think it depends on how long you stay and what room you get...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived by bus on a Sunday afternoon the first week in September and stayed for 5 nights. When we first arrived, Marco was at the front desk and he was very nice and helpful. He had our luggage taken to our room and gave us recommendations to grab a snack at International Bar to hold us over until dinner. He made reservations for us for that evening at Il Ritrovo (one of the best meals of our trip) and arranged for us to be picked up for dinner. He continued to be very helpful and sweet for the rest of our stay there. We were in room 202 - small view of the sea, tennis courts, and pool area. Although the hotel is a bit of a maze due to it's location on a mountain, it's not difficult to figure out if you can read signs IMO. The carpets are dingy but the room we had was nice and clean. The annoying thing was that we requested to not receive housekeeping and the room was cleaned anyway. Also, we are a healthy young couple and can handle steps and this place has a lot of them and there are a lot of steps in order to get down to the town center as well. Certain staff there are indifferent but there are others who really do go out of their way to remember your name and room number and try to be helpful. Colombo, for example, walked us up to the main road to meet the driver who was to pick us up for another dinner reservation, La Tagliata, another great meal. BTW, swim caps for the pool cost 3.50 euro per person and they tell you when you check in that you will be charged if you get them (and so we did not). All in all, I think it's a worthwhile place because we got a decent deal (170 USD/night) for a spectacular and convenient location (near the bus stop) and breakfast with a view was included. OH, one last thing, they need to fix their WiFi set up. It's a mess - it does not work throughout their hotel. The best thing is to do all your WiFi use at breakfast if you can. Call the front desk to get the code, sign in, and use your ipad or device while eating breakfast.

Room Tip: 202 - second floor - was a good room. Sounds like it's a good idea to avoid the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank othynguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    132
    95
    56
    53
See reviews for
130
160
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very much looked forward to our stay in Positano after travelling around other parts of Italy and experiencing great service and people every where we went, we were expecting to find the same - wrong we were! On arrival all seemed ok, recommended a nice place to eat on our first night ( found out later the staff get commission from restaurants when they book on guests behalf). Our first night in room 306 was terrible we had rooms 306 and 306.1 these were on the third floor and below the outdoor part of the restaurant. The noise was very loud of tables and chairs being dragged around until 2am at night then starting at 6am again. We complained to the reception and the guy couldn't careless about it and more or less said tough put up with it. We demanded new rooms immediately after his attitude was couldn't careless. He offered us one room for 3 of us, even though we booked 2 rooms. We were told 2 rooms not available until following day. We accepted this, and carried on for the following night. The following day back at reception another employee was there and unaware our rooms should be changed, after lengthy and frustrating discussions we got moved. One room was not the same size so we were disappointed, the other room given to us was flooded, smelt damp and the AC was leaking everywhere. Back at reception told the staff this was unacceptable and a room was required immediately, I was happy to say this loudly as I could see other English speaking people checking in (a gentle note to them of what to expect). We eventually got another room, and this room was good. On returning to the room we had been told our luggage would be moved for us, but no it was not there. I asked at reception where it was and the receptionist (a female) shrugged and said no idea. After demanding answers she made calls and found it had not been moved at all. She told us to go out and come back later (at 22:00!) I demanded it there and then and asked what she was going to do, which was not much. She did then find in a note book details of our problems and offered a €20 discount. We demanded the manager ASAP and she said he was at home, I told her unacceptable as it seemed her and all other staff incompetent and he was to return in 1 hour. After calls to him she got him to come in. When we met him we went through all the issues and he couldn't have been more helpful he was great, unlike any of his staff. He looked after us personally going forward and arranged a very good discounted rate.

I recommend not to be given room 305-308 if you are offered them say NO. If you have an issue demand the manager immediately as the staff are very poor and don't give a s**t about guests. The porters are very helpful and carried our luggage to the top of the hill which was 10 mins walk away up hill. If you use the pool take a swimming hat!!

Overall recommendation go to a different hotel, I did laugh when I saw a trip advisor certificate on the wall. Seeing that drove me to come here and write feedback.

Positano was a very beautiful place and all other places to eat and shop people were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Positano hotels

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Positano itself was lovely and very relaxing.

The hotel was not good value for money - at £160 per night. Called for an iron and ironing board one evening at around 7 and told we couldn't have one as room service had gone home. Finally after another call and a more direct request one was promised in about 20 minutes - iron came no board.

Avoid staying on the third floor - especially 305 to 308. Right below the main dining area - all that can be heard most of the time particularly during meal times was the sound of furniture being dragged on the tiled floors above.

Internet access was not available in the room. There are two Internet providers in the hotel - and you need codes for each which change every few hours.

Lastly we had experienced noise from the room next to us - only to find that the rooms where we were staying were used as staff accommodation. This explained the poor quality of the room. And all the more annoying due to the noise coming from the rooms at night with chatter etc.

Definitely would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBoothey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service was great. They took care of our luggage immediately upon arrival and into our room. Everyone was extremely nice and polite. The hotel is a maze. Definitely not wheelchair accessible by any means. No matter what, you will have to climb stairs up and down. We didn’t have the best view as the lower floors had trees blocking the windows, so I recommend staying higher up. The room was spacious and nice. I didn’t think the beds were uncomfortable like other reviews. We didn’t get a chance to experience the pool, as it has terrible open hours. During the day, we were in town and it would have been great to cool off at the pool after, but it closed at 6 pm. It would have been nicer to be closer to town, but the bus stop was right in front of the hotel, so we had no issue. I highly recommend using the bus, as the stairs down are steep and honestly dangerous. Breakfast was great, the terrace was amazing, but the restaurant wasn’t. the food wasn’t good and it was expensive. However, they had no problem recommending great restaurants. Over all, we had a great time, but it was a little pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meli50meli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall I am pretty easy to please when it comes to hotels, but this hotel actually inspired me to start writing reviews in the hopes that others would not make the same mistake we did. I will start off by saying that we had an amazing week in positano, amazing town and would go back in a heartbeat.

As far as the hotel goes, the positives of it were that our room was kept clean and... Well okay that was really the only positive. The negatives are as follows and again, they are not trip ruining by any means just not good:

1. Hotel hallways are gross - the whole hotel needs a fresh coat of paint (and washing) and the carpet are disgustingly dirty.
2. Hotel is a maze - I saw this mentioned before and really it cannot be changed but all you need to do is put up additional signage and possibly give a small map of the hotel when people check in.
3. Bedding - the bed was hard as a rock and I am pretty sure the sheets are made of some sort paper product, I am no expert on this but does thread count 1 exist?
4. Pool - the pool is actually really nice but ends up being a complete waste because the hours are from 9am-6pm (extend your hours to at least 8pm!). Also, I was okay when we got there and we're told we had to wear bathing caps in the pool (weird but whatever), but then to charge us for them at check out...that is crazy! We were even told that we would be charged.
5. Staff - although some members of the staff were polite, overall the service is poor

Another thing, if you have booked this hotel and are locked in, whatever you do, DO NOT eat at the restaurant. There was a bad storm one night so we were stuck and decided to just eat there, it was the worse meal we had on our trip and it was actually pretty expensive (for what it was). The hotel entertainment is actually funny, they had a keyboard player who knew about 7 songs and played them over and over. I gotta say that his mambo number 5 was really funny (not that it was suppose to be).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabsyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I hate doing this but I dont think anyone should be disappointed when spending good money in one of the most beautiful places on earth. We were so excited for our stay in Positano but I am sorry to say the hotel was a true let down. I must first say the staff was very nice and the restaurant made us the best Mozzarella and tomatoe sandwich I ever ate as they were closing by the time we were able to get there to eat. Other than that..we arrived and were dropped at the top of the driveway(as the driver could not navigate down the steep driveway) so we lugged our luggage down ourselves. We were brought to our rooms through beat up hallways, dirty stained rugs and walls and entered into a musty smelling room with dingy bedding, cobwebs in the bathroom and curtains partially hanging on the sliding doors. Very dated furniture.The view was also not as good as we had expected. I did complain about the bedding and they came and changed it all and we sucked up the rest but I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone. There are so many nicer places to stay. When we left they took our luggage from our rooms to the main landing and we then had to lug it up the stairs and up the driveway out. The dining area is nice as is the pool. Again the staff was very nice and helpful and gave us good recommendation for where to eat etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My Husband and I selected this hotel from trip advisors advice. Working for The Ritz Carlton Hotel Company for 10 years can make it difficult for me to be satisfied with a hotel and its service. But Trip Advisor was a great resource in planning out whole trip in Italy. Although the hotel itself needed a bit of updating (new hallway carpeting and possibly add some artwork to warm it up) the service levels of the staff made all of that go away. When we first arrived we were greeted by Roberta at the front desk who graciously welcomed us and congratulated us on our recent wedding. She explained the hotel to us and let us know she was there if we needed anything else. Throughout the stay we were in the main bar/restaurant and had encounters with Enzo the main Bartender... Not only did he remember our names from the first encounter he took great pride in his job and executed his tasks with great pleasure and enthusiasm. Enzo thank you for making us feel at home and special!! And it seemed as if he was always there but when he did have a day off he told us and wanted to make sure that if we weren’t going to be there when he returned that he said his good byes to us. Another time we slept in and thought breakfast was until 10:30 when we arrived we then realized we were too late. The waiter in the restaurant was very accommodating anticipated our needs and sent us to the pool snack bar where he arranged a breakfast for us. By the time we walked down to the pool it was waiting for us with Gernardo who was very friendly. I also want to mention another front desk agent that was wonderful and helped us with sightseeing in Ravello - Marco He recommended places to see that made the day a perfect day! Thank you to all the staff that made out stay so memorable. We would very much recommend this hotel and will stay there again when we return to Positano!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Royal Positano, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the wonderful review.
We are honored to have made special your stay helping to make unforgettable your honeymoon.
We hope you can come back soon in Positano maybe on the occasion of your first anniversary.
The Domina Home Royal is waiting for you to spend another wonderful stay of relaxation and good food in a setting of incomparable beauty.
In the meantime Roberta, Enzo, Gerardo, Marco and all the staff are pleased to have you left a good memory, they renew the greetings and waiting for you soon.

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#29 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#27 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Positano

Property: Hotel Royal Positano
Address: Via Pasitea 344, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the rocky ledge overlooking entirely Positano, The Hotel Royal Positano is a discreet and simple hotel. Its neat architecture is perfectly integrated in the extraordinary context of the surroundings. The skyline is breathtaking and collects into an unique setting "sky, rocks and sea." Everybody can admire it while immersed in the pool, while dining under the stars, or while resting in the room Framed by the colors of the Mediterranean flora, the hotel offers 4star services to meet every kind of demand. The hospitality is discreet and attentive. with an eye to what is served at the table . The 77 suites are a tribute to the magnificent view onto the sea and onto the spectacular hills of the Amalfi Coast . Equipped and furnished with every comfort, they are designed for a pleasant stay in the room, with air conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and DVB-TV. From the spacious terraces, a symphony of colors and scents embrace the body and the soul. The Sun, the sea and the land represent a perfect mix. And the sweet aromas of citrus and orange blossoms will capture all the senses. Don't miss an excursion on the sea at Amalfi Coast: it will be possible to admire all the shades of the coastline: from the transparent green, close to the shore, to the gloomy indigo of the deep sea. And a memorable diving away from everything and everyone will be a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Royal Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Royal Hotel Positano
Domina Hotel Royal
Domina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing