We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Villa Rosa far exceeded my expectations. We had the family apartment on the top floor (room 39) and we loved it. The location is outstanding, and the view breathtaking. The apartment is made up of a large master bedroom and an alcove bedroom that is quite separate to the main bedroom plus 2 bathrooms and a huge terrace. It was perfect for our needs.
Each morning I watched the sun rise while sitting on our wonderful terrace marvelling at the amazing view.
Breakfast was served on the balcony each morning. Juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cereal and a basket of baked goods. We ordered a fruit bowl on our first morning which actually lasted us three days, it was so large. The breakfast was simple but it was so nice to have a relaxed breakfast enjoying the view.
The staff at Villa Rosa were always available at the front desk and extremely friendly and helpful.
To put it simply, we loved Positano and Villa Rosa and wish we were still there.

Room Tip: The apartment, room 39, on the 4th floor is wonderful for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    157
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
82
350
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Without the HUGE private terrace with incredible sea views, I would probably give this hotel 2 or 3 stars. But, the gorgeousness of the views and the breakfast on the terrace elevates the status a bit.

Positano is expensive, and I think this is a relative good value for what else is out there. Aside from the terrace (which was probably the same square footage as the hotel room), the rooms and amenities are quite basic. We were particularly disapointed in the bathroom. It was small, with very old fixtures, and a plastic shower that flooded incredibly easily (and the bathroom did not appear to have a drain).

70's style bathroom aside, this was an immaculate hotel, with a fabulous location, and a great view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLO32781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The service is excellent, ther rooms clean and confortable.
The terrace is beautiful, full of flowers and with great view of the bay and Positano.
The breakfast is served at this terrace in your own room, is not delicious but, again, the view is everything.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank valeria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Fourth time at Villa Rosa and hopefully it will not be my last. I cannot say anything negative. Love everything about. The view is exceptional, the breakfast on the balcony is heaven and the staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: Third floor with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed on the third floor. The lack of an elevator and a standing shower (it is was a European jacuzzi with a handle shower head) was quickly overlooked by the tremendous view, clean, large room and fresh flowers throughout the place. The daily breakfast served on the terrace was amazing. Simply put, it was our favorite hotel while in Italy and rivals one the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff was very helpful and professional. They arranged both Pompeii and Capri boat tours for us without inflated prices. I can't say enough about this place - we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Request the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firehawk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

After spending five days in Tuscany and taking the Rapido from Florence to Naples with a driver to Positano, we were very happy to find our home at the Villa Rosa and the town of Positano very relaxing. In fact it was so relaxing that we decided to spend the three nights and four days we had set aside to see the Amalfi Coast exploring Positano, Capri and wonderful Mediterranean beach right in town. That is pretty amazing considering my wife loves being on the move. Even our very white and bright room was a joy overlooking the most expensive hotel in town and the sea beyond. This reasonably priced villa was close to the stairs leading to the beaches, ferries, shops and restaurants. We would definitely return to this very pleasant location and its welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a seaview terrace on either the top or next floor. It would be worth the added cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The first time I took a look at the pictures of Villa Rosa, I knew this was THE choice for our group's stay in Positano. The rooms,the terraces overlooking the ocean was breathtaking to say the least. And to wake up to that view every morning and have breakfast brought to our room every morning - Heaven. The staff was so kind and accommodating and always with a warm smile to greet us. Their restaurant suggestions were all excellent.

The hotel is centrally located, very clean, breakfast was always hot and delicious. We all said this was going to be our last trip to Italy, but now we all want to go back to Villa Rosa and Positano.

And if you need a tour guide for your stay there, I highly recommend Elizabeth Sommer Fusco. She is fabulous, fun, and goes the extra mile to see that you get to see what you came for.

Cookie T.
Lafayette, LA

Room Tip: All rooms have their own terraces overlooking the bay and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ct70508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Property: Villa Rosa
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing