We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view.......”
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and stayed in the apartment on the top floor. The reception ladies were extremely helpful and really enjoyed the children. They recommended restaurants, provided beach towels and assisted whenever they could. The top apartment is fantastic, it had a large double bed and two single beds in a seperate room. It also had two bathrooms, both with toilet/shower. The balcony is the reason this hotel was so great, very spacious, with the best views in town. Breakfast is very basic, only bread with jam and yoghurts. Extra's need to be ordered and paid for. The breakfast however is served on the balcony making up for any shortcomings. We really loved this hotel and it was extremely child friendly. We will definitely go back one day.

Room Tip: Choose top apartment or rooms for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 732 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

we spent 4 nights in Villa Rosa - first time in 15 years back to Positano. Hotel is across the strett from Sirenuse and on the sole one-way road thru town. We had a seaview room that had a an excellent view of the opposite hillside, from the sea to mountain tops. I think level 4.
Like others said, be prepared to walk up a few flights for the rooms with a view - but frankly, if you can't take a lot of steps skip Positano completely and try Amalfi instead.
Nice sized room, nice bath with tub and excellent water pressure, lovely terrace with that view.
Nice breakfast each day, croissant and jams, good coffee - though got pretty boring by day 3.
You can walk down to the sea in less than 10 minutes. On the church side of town (south?) which is more interesting and navigable than the other.
Staff was excellent, especially the porter who carried our heavy (month in Italy) luggage. Like most good Italian hotels could steer you to Touristy and not-so-touristy restaurants, most would comp the taxi rides if you needed one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Look no further - STAY HERE!

We stayed at Villa Rosa for 3 nights in July. The service was fantastic. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast on your private patio is delightful. The view is perfection and the sun lounges on the patio were an added bonus. We were happy on our sun lounges admiring the stunning view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife, daughter and daughter's friend stayed here on a trip around Italy. The rooms were fantastic and the view from the terrace sublime. They stayed in the "apartment", with two bedrooms, a bathroom and shower room. If you can afford this, the views are worth it. Breakfast was delivered every morning and laid out on the terrace. A little bit of heaven on earth. One warning....when they say Positano is hilly, they are not kidding. Be aware, most, if not all, hotels will involve a stiff climb to your room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Positano is one of my favorites places in the world and Villa Rosa made our time there even better.

Let's start with the location. It's not on the water, but this is a good thing. The beach area is crowded. Most hotels are up along the hillside. It's a short 10 minute stroll through the main shopping/restaurant area right to the beach. The views are amazing.

Now the service. The hotel was clean, bright and prepared with the things you need when traveling in Europe -- wifi and A/C. The staff was extremely helpful. They got us whatever we needed for our stay, booked us restaurant reservations, called car services, etc. And your stay comes with complimentary breakfast.

It's reasonably priced as well. I hope to go back to Positano many more times and I would stay at Villa Rosa every time.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesthair_utopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June 2013 - it was in a great location in Positano, easy to walk down to the beach. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. They helped us translate medication directions when I was sick, organized our scooter rental, and were great with restaurant recommendations and reservations. Spend the extra money for a sea view room a floor above the regukar rooms. We had a regular room the first night and the view was still lovely, but a bit obstructed bt the large hotel across the street. Once we moved a floor up it was absolutely breathtaking! The verandas are large and great for a lazy day sunbathing and taking in the view and the breakfast was nice as well, but pricey if you want any extras like eggs. Overall a nice play to stay while in Positano.

Room Tip: Pay extra money for the sea view rooms on the top floor - although be prepared for a lot of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I took a room with sea view at this fantastic Villa July 2nd for 5 nights and had the best stay with the most wonderful and very friendly hotel staff who couldn't do enough for you. My room had an amazing verandah were breakfast was served to me daily that had sweeping views of Positano and the coast im just sad I didn't stay in Positano longer and would stay at Villa Rosa again for sure. Big rooms, light and airy and again serviced by really great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $268 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing