We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is hard to fault this place.

We stayed here for our 10 year wedding anniversary/vow renewal. The staff went out of their way for us which we truly appreciated.

The views are stunning, the breakfasts were good, the staff were very helpful and welcoming, the location is outstanding, the rooms are lovely. The stairs are a bit challenging for those with mobility issues but everything else was perfect.

The apartment we stayed in could sleep 5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 730 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recommended by friends, the Villa Rosa met our expectations. Our room was on the “terzo piano” (the third floor), which I am led to believe is the level with the largest balconies. And our balcony was grand. Tiled, with privacy provide by large potted shrubs, vines and bamboo screenings: an ideal place for drinks and the views of Positano. An extra bonus is that continental breakfast is delivered to your terrace each morning and served on white table cloths.
Villa Rosa is directly across the street from the Sirenuse, one of the town’s most expensive hotels. Villa Rosa has the same vistas, at vastly lower pricing.
Our room, colorfully tiled, with a clean, all-white look which was very appropriate for sunny Positano.
The staff was courteous and helpful.
To be picky, the bathroom was petite -- the shower stall even smaller and the shower floor dangerously slippery. We used a towel on the shower floor to provide friction; otherwise it would have been impossible to stand.
Positano is a town on a steep hill (mountain) and one should be aware that there are stairs to climb to get to the reception and more stairs to get to your room. But then again this is what one encounters in Positano. Its beauty is why we come and love it.
We do recommend Villa Rosa.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Villa Rosa 3 years ago and loved the place so much I decided to stay there again. This place a small, quite, very clean, Bfast n nice and filling, and overall a great little hotel. I highly suggest a room with a sea view, especially of you don't have to walk up to high ( the top floor is a serious hike). The staff is alway very friendly and warn. The location is only about a 5 min walk to the beach. For the price, this place is Grt.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 5 days in Positano at the Villa Rosa . What a wonderful place to stay. From the minute we arrived til the day we left. The staff were so lovely , they were always greeting you with a smile. Most helpful and always available. We had a 2 bedroom villa room#30 which was beautiful, with a large patio ,lounge chairs and lemon trees on the patio which was so nice. the rooms easily accomodate 4 adults .Didnt feel crowded at all. The rooms were very bright and reflected the Positano theme. The view of Positano was amazing
And so was the breakfast served every morning on our lovely patio/terrace. It consisted of bread, croissants, yogurt, cereals , cream cheese, marmalades, fruits etc and of course the best cappucino ... the location of the hotel is perfect located near the square which has everything. 5 minutes To the beach area, where many restaurants are located as well as shops and mini-groceries where you could get fresh fruits, water, wine,beer etc.. there is a lot of steps to climb everyday, but isn't beeing in Positano the purpose!! We took daily trip to surrounding towns . ferry to Capri was lovely a bit rough but worth the trip to Capri and Anacapri .. breathtaking views. excursions to Nocelle , path of the God was lovely, visit of Amalfi and Ravello as well traveling on local bus SITA quite an experience to remember. Positano was everything that I hoped for and more . Hope to be back there one day.

Room Tip: highest rooms are better for magnificient view from 3rd floor or top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth29867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in June/July and it was absolutely amazing. We left making the booking fairly late so the superior room was the only one available and it was well worth the extra money. We seemed to get a balcony that was twice the size of the other balconies with the additional bonus of sun lounges. These combined with the view made it hard to leave! The breakfast served on the balcony every morning was a nice touch.

There were quite a few steps to get to the hotel from the beach but it wasn't too bad. If it was any lower you wouldn't have the same view but if you had mobility issues this may not be the place for you as there's no lift within the hotel and there's another couple of sets of stairs to get up to the rooms.

The room itself was very clean with a nice bathroom. Would definitely stay at again for the view alone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get the superior room with the huge balcony!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SarahD772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here in mid-August for 5 nights. It was a lovely hotel in a great location. The best part was definitely the view. I don't think you could get a better view in Positano. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was a good size. In the Superior room you get lounge chairs on the patio in addition to the table and chairs, this was great for watching the stars at night. The only negatives were all the stairs (although they were also a blessing because we ate and drank alot so the exercise was good), the breakfast is all carbs it would be nice to have some protein added and the bed was a bit hard. But all things considered, the location, the view, the rooms, and the price...Villa Rosa is a fantastic place to call home in Positano.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanCityG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of 4 with two adult children for which the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom family room was fantastic! We had plenty of space, never feeling crowded. The smaller bathroom isn't great but everyone just showered in the main bathroom. The rooms are very clean and well kept. Breakfast on our terrace every morning was very enjoyable. The front desk is friendly and helpful. We like to walk so location was great with a short walk down to the beach and everything else within a 30 minute walk. We loved this hotel! When booking ask for a room on the 3rd floor or higher for best views.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $114 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing