We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with an Amazing View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Room with an Amazing View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We loved the Villa Rosa. Our room was cheerful and beautiful, with flowers painted on the closet doors and a large marble terrace with a view of the rooftops and the sea. Breakfast was brought to the room to be enjoyed on the terrace or in bed if it was too chilly outside.

The location was perfect. We just walked down the stairs and to the right and were in the middle of all the wonderful shopping and restaurants, views and narrow steep streets winding down to the beachfront.

The Villa Rosa staff were extremely helpful in making recommendations for dinner, setting up transportation to restaurants, and otherwise helping us with our plans.

Thank you. We will be back.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    166
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
90
387
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and stayed here for 6 nights last week for part of our honeymoon. We stayed in room #32. It's a superior double with a balcony. The balcony and the view from it were spectacular. This was the best part of the room. The negatives were the the bed, it felt like we were sleeping on a concrete floor, trust me I'm not over exaggerating. I've be been to Italy 6 times and knew were to expect and this bed was not comfy. Their wasn't a traditional shower. Just a bathtub with an adjustable shower head that stood at my waist when standing in the tub. It's very difficult to apply soap and stay wet at the same time. Also don't expect to iron any of your clothes because this hotel doesn't have one available. They told us that we can rent one. For over $300 dollars a night they can at least have one on premise for guest to use. I know I'm in the minority but for the price and what this hotel offers its not worth it. Don't get me wrong the view is spectacular but you will sacrifice a lot.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bcp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Since many years we are frequent guests in the Villa Rosa - and we love it!!!
It is for us the best hotel in town (in this price-category) and still very Italian!
The rooms are very nice and clean with an unbeatable view over the city and the sea.
It is very relaxing. The staff is so friendly and helpful with any kind of informations.
The breakfast is simple (like it is typical in Italy), but very tasty with an excellent coffee, directly served on the terrace. The bus stop to Amalfi or Sorrento is very near and all the restaurants and shops are in short walking distance.

I read the previous reviews and can add some comments to the view things who are described as "negative":
The location is outstanding (but the inexpensive rooms without seaview/with partial seaview will not have the extra pleasure to enjoy this view fully - you always get what you pay for...).
I would recommend to pay more and just get blown away from the unique scenery. This is the wrong occasion to save money!!!!
On the terrace, the room-spaces are devided with plants/bushes - of course if you have impolite neighbours who shout around, you will hear it. But in all the years we had been here, we rarely met this kind of people (and if, a short remembering talk for more quietness was always the solution).
There is barely no noise from the street, and if - it is the normal noise from a small living town, which you will hear in every hotel in the center of Positano.
To the room size: rooms in Italy are never big (compared to Asia or the USA), but the higher the room-price, the bigger the size (as in every country).
The breakfast is simple - like it is typical in Italy (everyone who travels a lot in Italy will notice this).
If you go to a cafe in Positano, you will not get a bigger breakfast - that is the way it is in Italy. Otherwise it would not be Italian! Especially tourists from the USA or Canada will expect more (like hot food, ham and sausages - this is not the way the people eat in Italy!). You get good fresh products which are typical for Positano and eat like an Italian.
The staff at the reception is very friendly, but you have to talk to them like human beings and not give orders and instructions (Italians in general will not like this). An Italian will always find a good solution if you are polite and talk to them with the same respect you also expect for yourself.
I love the hotel and am waiting in anticipation to visite it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Villa Rosa. The staff was attentive and welcoming. The views from the terrace were terrific! Having breakfast was great on the terrace. Positano is a nice beach town. We will definitely go back to Positano and to Villa Rosa.

Room Tip: Rooms will full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVS-DC-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We loved this hotel, the people and the entire town. It's in a great location to the city center. We stayed here 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were fair sized, not cramped by any means. The bathrooms were clean and we had a great shower. The terrace was amazing. We stopped at the store down the street every night and bought a bottle of Prosecco to finish off our evening, sitting on the terrace watching the lights go out throughout the town. In my opinion, the in-room breakfast was fantastic, although my wife did not care for it too much. It was the absolute best cup of coffee I've ever had in my life.

I've seen some other reviewers comment on the steps. Yes, there are steps, but the town is built on a cliff, what did they expect?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We went to many places in Italy but this is the first time we came to Positano. The accommodation was very nice with great views. ok there are some steps to go up and down but this was not a problem as we do need to get some exercise from time to time. Staff was very polite and room was always clean and tidy. Highly recommended hotel in Positano.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Villa Rosa was not what I'd expected; I'd to go up the steps and then go down to reach the front office and that slightly put me off. But, the simple & bright decor, pleasant and helpful staff and exceptionally beautiful view from terrace more than compensated for the stairs.
Parking service cost € 25.
Hotel serves the breakfast on your room's terrace, it's an out of the world experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azher_Ali_Choudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Property: Villa Rosa
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing