We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

In the off season Positano reverts to a quiet elegant state of perfect seaside charm and the Hotel Villa Franca is the perfect place on this very perfect coast to enjoy the essence of Amalfi. With a commanding view of Positano and environs from every angle and a tiled white and blue decor, the Hotel seems to have concentrates the best of the coast in one venue. A stroll above town to beautiful Montepertusa rewards even more with stunning views, friendly people and wonderful restaurants overlooking the sea. "See Naples and die"? No, make it Positano.

Room Tip: Don't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Louis
Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We wish to see you back in Positano.
Kind Regards
Villa Franca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    182
    69
    34
    30
See reviews for
101
487
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great experience at Hotel Villa Franca! The hotel is beautiful and has breathtaking views! In the mornings we enjoyed breakfast overlooking the town. The hotel is near the top of the mountain so anticipate the many steps you'll need to take to get down to the beach/ main shopping, eating area. We were told there are approx. 700 steps to get there. The hotel does offer a shuttle (so you don't need to take the steps). We walked most of the time and the walking up the steps is a lot harder! The staff was so helpful and gave us good info. regarding ferry to Capri, bus to Sorrento, and calling cabs. The rooftop pool is beautiful and our room had a nice balcony with great views. The hotel does have two buildings that I heard were both nice. We stayed in the one with the restaurant where breakfast for all guests is served.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stunning hotel: incredible decor, delicious food and the most beautiful views imaginable. The pool is quite small and unheated, the gym is modest and the service is occasionally inconsistent but overall a truly excellent hotel which I would thoroughly recommend and very much hope to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kempe_SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevy chase, md
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

You can be assured of great views at Villa Franca, and what a view! The hotel is situated high above the beach & more touristy shopping areas. The walk up and down the winding road seems formidable, but it was quite manageable (even for someone who had recent knee replacement), and even enjoyable. There are stairs next to the hotel that provide a good shortcut, if you don't mind +/- 350 stairs. The shuttle service was certainly convenient enough, just be sure to arrive early so you can get on if there are a lot of hotel guests waiting. Our superior room was a reasonable size, though the bathroom was rather small. While the decor is a bit dated, it definitely had a Mediterranean charm. The breakfast was good, lots of choices & the staff there were very nice. The front desk staff we fine, but not particularly warm or welcoming. The WiFi was spotty at best.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChevyChase_MdSzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our stay here was very nice. There are no better views on the Amalfi coast.
Positano requires non stop walking and climbing of steps. Even for those of us in shape, we were happy to see and take advantage of their complementary shuttle.
This hotel has a beautiful pool and nice rooms. The rooms are smaller than they appear in the photos on their website; however the views make you disregard that quickly.
The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were great. There was a good Italian style presentation and the staff always remembered how you took your cafe, Espresso o Americano !

Room Tip: Be sure get rooms with great views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Villa Franca is beautifully situated and the shuttle service is a great advantage, though I do agree its a bit inconvenient the way it stops through part of the day. The staff are very helpful especially the cleaning staff and breakfast and bar staff. All are friendly approachable and cant do enough for you. This is a great spot for families or couples. Will definitely stay again if in Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thejman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

fabulous location, fantastic food in the dining room, helpful restaurant staff, room and view were delightful. Front desk staff were helpful, internet was included without any hassle. Some of our fellow travellers were a bit irritating, ie scrappy shorts, tee shirts, and generally a rumpled look, loud & boisterous, with a general disregard for the quiet enjoyment of other guests of the hotel. Oh well, there are rude travellers everywhere. do you recognize yourself? Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Property: Hotel Villa Franca
Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing