We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views with a warm friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First time in Positano and found the perfect spot with an unbeatable view and a clean, well layer out interior, with just a great friendly and professional staff. Has a very warm feeling and you get the feeling that everyone genuinely cares and you will be well taken care of. There were 6 of us in 3 different rooms, all were comfortable and had all the things that make you comfortable. Rooms all had incredible views, they were quiet, clean and well appointed. Lobby was like sitting in your living room and I would only stay here if ever I came back to Positano.

Room Tip: All rooms from what I can see have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 830 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love Villa Franca and its family and each time we vacation elswhere we wish we were there. We started going there in the late 90's and will be back this May.

The food is amazing, the views breathtaking and the staff friendly. It is like going home to your Italian family.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you have been to Positano before, you know the hotel situation is rough. There are 2 main properties which are the best, but during July and August they are $1,500 plus per night. So for five hundred or so you get Villa Franca, which has probably the best views of any hotel there. Once you get over the initial shock of the quality of the room, you will find it to be somewhat cute and charming. Recommend this hotel if not willing to pay for the only two 5 star resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 weeks in southern Italy and Sicily in Sept. 2012, staying at four different 4-5 star hotels. We spent 5 nights at Villa Franca and renewed our vows on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Med and all of Positano. The manager, Giovanni, prepared everything for us and officiated. Bartender Matteo was our official photographer. Our experience was so powerful that my wife cried buckets. Of all the places we stayed on our trip, Villa Franca was the most fun. The staff was fabulous: extremely courteous, helpful, and funny! We also want to mention Angela who was very helpful. The location of this hotel overlooking Positano cannot be beat. From the hotel, it's easy to walk around Positano, and the hotel provides its own shuttle around town. The bar scene with Matteo and the hotel guests was fun every day. The hotel serves a wonderful breakfast buffet where you can overlook Positano and the Med, and dinner at the hotel was delicious and romantic, though we also tried out the local restaurants as well which were very nice. Our suite was terrific, and my wife always had her breakfast on our private terrace overlooking the Med and Positano. The hotel has a nice spa, exercise room and rooftop pool. You can spend a lot more staying at a couple of the more famous hotels in Positano, but I'll be surprised if you have a better time. This hotel has numerous return guests, a few of whom we met, and we can see why.

Room Tip: southside rooms overlook the Med, north side rooms overlook Positano, end rooms overlook both
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeenieWeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Franca for two nights in the off season (mid-January) with last minute reservations. There were only a few hotels open in the town, so I was a little worried what it would be like. All those were put to bed as soon as we arrived - even late in the evening, everyone was extremely helpful with luggage and getting our car parked. They upgraded our room to a beautiful, nicely sized room with a gorgeous balcony view of Positano and the amalfi coast. The bathroom was large as well with a jacuzzi tub with shower - deluxe bath products too. All aspects of the room were fabulous - comfortable king bed, clean crisp linens, desk area and lounge, plenty of outlets, hairdryer (not an antiquated tubular thing), clean, and nicely decorated. Claudia at the front desk and Franco at the bar were wonderful hosts and never failed to get whatever we needed. We even had a day of rain and just stayed at the hotel - enjoying the numerous salons on the main level. Played games while watching the rain from the sun dining room. The breakfast every morning was delicious and better than expected (by European standards) - yummy pastries, yogurts, great espresso/capuccino, and even some meats/cheeses for non-carb loaders. We walked into the main part of town - lots of stairs down, but it was nice that the bus service runs late into the night to bring us back to the hotel. The bus driver even remembered what hotel I had inquired about earlier in the evening and dropped us at the door. I can't recommend this hotel enough, and Positano as well- will definitely stay there again on my next trip to the Amalfi coast. :) :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 3_blondies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Positano is beautiful beyond words. The Villa Franca is at the very top of the town so you have an amazing view. The rooms where okay, the bathroom was a little dirty with no real ventilation but it"s not a big deal. The actual hotel is lovely, fantastic breakfast, one of the best in Europe I would have to say. Great pool. Staff are pleasant, some a little more so than others, but you get that. All in all, a good choice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2munsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days during a Writers Workshop. Had a wonderful room with a private terrace and great amenities. The room was large by European standards, the linens were lush and the bed very comfortable. This hotel is immaculate and beautifully appointed. The entire staff was excellent. The owner was always around the hotel, taking personal care to make sure everything was running smoothly. Contrary to other comments, I found him to be very nice and friendly. My morning capucciono's were delivered to my room quickly. Great service at the hotel bar and on the rooftop deck where there is a 360-degree view that will take your breath away...it's the best view in Positano! The restaurant has amazing views and the chef is superb, it's fine dining at its best. The morning buffet is well done, ample selections. This hotel's location is fantastic. You step right out onto the main rode that takes you down to town. A short walk up and you'll be at the regional bus stop to catch the bus to Amalfi, Sorrento, Ravello and other coastal towns.

Room Tip: Rooms down by the Wine Cellar are very quiet with wonderful private terraces. Even if you get a ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $380 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing