We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with nicest people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with nicest people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Franca for two nights in the off season (mid-January) with last minute reservations. There were only a few hotels open in the town, so I was a little worried what it would be like. All those were put to bed as soon as we arrived - even late in the evening, everyone was extremely helpful with luggage and getting our car parked. They upgraded our room to a beautiful, nicely sized room with a gorgeous balcony view of Positano and the amalfi coast. The bathroom was large as well with a jacuzzi tub with shower - deluxe bath products too. All aspects of the room were fabulous - comfortable king bed, clean crisp linens, desk area and lounge, plenty of outlets, hairdryer (not an antiquated tubular thing), clean, and nicely decorated. Claudia at the front desk and Franco at the bar were wonderful hosts and never failed to get whatever we needed. We even had a day of rain and just stayed at the hotel - enjoying the numerous salons on the main level. Played games while watching the rain from the sun dining room. The breakfast every morning was delicious and better than expected (by European standards) - yummy pastries, yogurts, great espresso/capuccino, and even some meats/cheeses for non-carb loaders. We walked into the main part of town - lots of stairs down, but it was nice that the bus service runs late into the night to bring us back to the hotel. The bus driver even remembered what hotel I had inquired about earlier in the evening and dropped us at the door. I can't recommend this hotel enough, and Positano as well- will definitely stay there again on my next trip to the Amalfi coast. :) :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3_blondies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    182
    69
    34
    30
See reviews for
101
487
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Positano is beautiful beyond words. The Villa Franca is at the very top of the town so you have an amazing view. The rooms where okay, the bathroom was a little dirty with no real ventilation but it"s not a big deal. The actual hotel is lovely, fantastic breakfast, one of the best in Europe I would have to say. Great pool. Staff are pleasant, some a little more so than others, but you get that. All in all, a good choice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2munsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days during a Writers Workshop. Had a wonderful room with a private terrace and great amenities. The room was large by European standards, the linens were lush and the bed very comfortable. This hotel is immaculate and beautifully appointed. The entire staff was excellent. The owner was always around the hotel, taking personal care to make sure everything was running smoothly. Contrary to other comments, I found him to be very nice and friendly. My morning capucciono's were delivered to my room quickly. Great service at the hotel bar and on the rooftop deck where there is a 360-degree view that will take your breath away...it's the best view in Positano! The restaurant has amazing views and the chef is superb, it's fine dining at its best. The morning buffet is well done, ample selections. This hotel's location is fantastic. You step right out onto the main rode that takes you down to town. A short walk up and you'll be at the regional bus stop to catch the bus to Amalfi, Sorrento, Ravello and other coastal towns.

Room Tip: Rooms down by the Wine Cellar are very quiet with wonderful private terraces. Even if you get a ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Villa Franca one night. We toured the Amalfi coast and we didn't have any reservations prior to the trip. When we arrived to Positano we talked to some locals asking them about accommodation (many hotels close during winter season, from November through March). They recommended Villa Franca and luckily there were rooms available. I have to say that staff are extremely efficient, kind and friendly. Some people might not like the hotel because of its interior (a bit kitsch but nice at the same time).

In my opinion, this hotel boast the best location in Positano with superb view of the sea and the whole vertical village. It's not too far from the center (a 15 minute walk). Rooms are spacious enough, light and clean with some floor and wall decorations. We got a room with small balcony overlooking the sea. It felt so good to wake up the next morning, open the balcony door and smell the sea air. We also loved eating breakfast there looking out to sea.

Food was also good, we liked very much Italian cakes they served for breakfast. Apart from traditional Italian sweet breakfast, they also served continental breakfast.

We enjoyed taking photos from the rooftop where they have small, puddles like pool, but the view is spectacular. If you plant to go there with your kids, they'll enjoy playing in the pool, while you enjoy total serenity and relaxation in the sun.

Price was acceptable, we paid 150 EUR (two of us), which is not to much considering that it was high season (New Year).

I would warmly recommend this hotel because of it's location, fabulous view, kind staff, good food, nicely decorated rooms and acceptable price. Go for it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veccili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

While only there one night, we had a cozy room with a gorgeous view of the sea, Clavel Tower and the town cascading down the hill. The service was excellent and breakfast very filling. We liked being up the hill a bit and out of the main stream with only a short walk down the hill to some good restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayorpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Italy for our honeymoon, and after visiting Venice, Tuscany and Rome, we saved the best for last. Positano, (by far,) was our favorite spot. The hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was surprisingly helpful. Based on some earlier reviews, I was a little concerned about the staff involvement...or lack thereof. However, everyone we encountered was delightful. The hotel itself is nothing less than breathtaking. Our room was large and the view was outrageous. The location is key, on upper tip of the city, so the scenery is expectantly fantastic. Also, there's a pool on the roof....um...yes please! Would return to that location in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msparksthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in November with my boyfriend originally we booked a superior seaview but upon arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to a deluxe seaview (I am a travel agent back in Sydney) so was very happy with this upgrade! The room did not dissapoint! Location wise it is located on a big hill & it is a bit of a walk into town lots of steps ! But there is a public bus that runs every hour and takes you into the town or down to the beAch! Make sure you eat at CHEZ BLACK located on the beach bit expensive but beautiful food! Tey the spaghetti with mussels... Delicious! Spacious room, beautiful decor & the most comfortable bed I have slept in on our 9 week trip around Europe! We had a private balcony overlooking the sea the views are amazing! This made our stay! Breakfast was nice there was cereals, cold cuts & cheese, bread, fresh fruit, sweets, pastries & yoghurt. However the man at breakfast was lovely and came out each morning asking if we would like eggs & capuccino. Also got some bacon! View where brekky is held is spectacular. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was great. Overall I can't see how people have been putting this place down... Fantastic place!! Loved Positano!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brookey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Property: Hotel Villa Franca
Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing