We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great service, would stay again”
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my husband's and my first trip to Italy. We were pleasantly surprised by the large room and the ocean view was mesmerizing. The room has beautiful tiled walls and floors. The staff were constantly cleaning the room and leaving fresh towels. The only thing a little odd was after our room was cleaned, they opened the french doors which turns the ac off. So, when we returned to our room in the evening the room was hot. Thank goodness the air works great and kept us cool through the night. The hotel offers a shuttle drop off and pick up to the main town, don't miss out on that feature. It usually runs every 30 minutes, but there are some times of the day were it doesn't run at all. They have a handy little piece of paper with all the times on it at the front desk. But even with that, we missed the shuttle the first night and walked down literally hundreds of stairs to get to the beach, my thighs were quivering by time we got to the restaurant. The cool pool water was a great relief to my sore legs the following day. We had our best breakfast in Italy at Villa Franca (compared to our stays in Florence and Rome). They have excellent coffee and pasteries. They also have an assortment of cereals, fruit, scrambled eggs, meats & cheeses. We did not encounter one staff member who wasn't friendly and engaging.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreLimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 843 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were extremely disappointed with the service we received after finding ants on my husbands pillow biting him at 3 am in the morning! Reception staff couldn't care less when we informed them the next morning... Definitely would not recommend this place to anyone! Such a shame!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BecStarTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked the hotel 2 months in advance from New York for my 2 boys, my husband and I for 4 nights in the middl of the busiest summer week. When we arrived to the hotel we were told that the rooms had a leak and could not be used but they offered reservations at another hotel down the road. After trying to talk to the manager for 45 minutes we were told that he or she was out of town and could not be reached. We realized that in fact the hotel was overbooked and finally the manager/owner showed up. She told us that they had overbooked the hotel. She did not give us any explanation why they failed to contact us or our agent two weeks ago when they realized the overbooking. She also made a comment that when she travels to New York with her kids the overbooking always happens. In the end we were asked to move our luggage to another hotel and be happy that we found a room.

Room Tip: Don't go there, you might not have a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TantorThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Villa Franca is a top of the hill very nice hotel with breathtaking views from the rooms and roof top deck and bar. Courtesy limo is available to the center of town. Also a nice roof top swimming pool that is a bit cool in late September but doable. Rooms are a bit small, not much room for suitcases and ours had a balconey over looking the sea. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent. Internet is very slow from the room and cut you off regularly. Internet works best in the lobby but still very slow. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Villa Franca is a beautifull and clean hotel. The views are breathtaking. The staff is very kind and attentive. Rooftop pool is a big bonus ( check out the view from the pool). Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent. Rooms are small, but who wants to stay in the room, you are in Positano! Internet is slow and works best in the lobby. Overall great experience.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank gaboian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first stop of our honeymoon for four nights. We stayed in the a deluxe sea view room and it was such a nice room with a great view. The room was spacious and clean with a nice strong air conditioner that beat the heat and humidity of Positano in July. The buffet breakfast is also amazing and they have best croissants we have ever had!

The hotel's location is great at the top of the hill, but it is somewhat of a climb starting from the beach. The hotel provides a shuttle to get back from the beach and with the abundance of stairs in Positano, it's actually a nice to walk up in small segments and take in the sights.

Room Tip: If you can swing for a sea view room, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taewon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved our 4 days at this fabulous hotel.From the moment we entered the hotel, we were treated royally. Our room with large balcony was magnificent,larger than expected and beautifully decorated. Morning breakfast was not a small affair,the service by Angela and Franco was wonderful. They also served our special last dinner in the elegant though casual view restaurant.A special thanks to our great bartender,Matteo,who kept a lively bar and engaged people in getting to know one another.Our whole experience was memorable and we plan to return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: First floor with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassidyrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $487 - $1,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing