We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa Franca for 3 nights ..we had friends recommend the hotel. We found the location to be more to our liking ie not in the main crowds. Considering we were in Positano in middle sept it was still very busy so it was so nice to retreat to Villa Franca. It is high on the hill..very easy walk down to the shops and marina..about 15-20mins. Not so good walking back up..use the free shuttle service. Close to a laundry and hairdresser etc. We got a deal on a great room but still not that inexpensive. Wouldnt pay full rate as not worth it. Room clean and well equipped, Breakfast very nice and breakfast room has beautiful views. Nice library area with free internet. Great restaurant..we had a beautiful meal with excellent service and not expensive. Great small pool and wow what a view!! Staff very helpful and polite overall a good hotel.Try the little restaurants just past the hotel on walk down to shops..all very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 840 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

Positano is one of the most gorgeous places my wife and I have been to and that is largely due to the views and space at the Villa Franca. We had an amazing view from our balcony of all of Positano. Literally jaw-dropping. We also lucked out by coming towards the end of June because there were constant spectacles. One day was a holiday for the Saints of Positano so there was music echoing off the mountains, canons being blasted, and fireworks and music all night in the town. Then we wake up to rainbows across the sky and a lunar eclipse at night. Talk about surreal. It was almost too much like a dream. Villa Franca was just gorgeous and had one of the best breakfasts of any place we'd stayed across our trip from Spain and France and into Italy. It was also definitely one of the most expensive places we stayed but ended up being worth every penny.
Other notes
- Pool and the pool area is amazing. We should have made more time to just relax there.
- The "Four Hands" massage.
- The great restaurants within a short (but hefty stair wise) walk to great restaurants.
- The easy shuttle service to and from town.

Really the star is Positano and Amalfi itself. Definitely one of the most gorgeous and wonderful places on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Villa Franca is a magical place on the cliff top of Positano, the view from the roof top pool and bar has to be the best view in Positano. The rooms are beautifully presented with a tight space but more than enough room. The staff is well trained and presented and just enjoying breakfast with the view is amazing in itself.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdRock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I visited this hotel for the second time in October 2011, the first time was April early in the season, and both times it was unfortunately only for one night. It is an excellent value-for-money 4-star hotel, not easy to find this level of quality in such a rated hotel in Italy.
The welcoming atmosphere is that of a local family-run business, and the dominating location means that it is a bit of a hike if you are walking uphill from the beach or downtown, but the hotel has a free shuttle service which is very convenient.
The atmosphere is typically Mediterranean and what you would expect from the Amalfi coast with lots of white walls and colourful tiles. The room that I had both times had a partial view, and was most spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms very nice – benches in volcanic lava stone – bathroom amenities very generous and classy. Free internet in the rooms. Comfortable bed with fine linens. I saw other rooms with fantastic hanging terraces overlooking the sea. All very tasteful. Quiet sleeping conditions.
The restaurant was superb, where we dined for dinner, with original and beautifully presented dishes of pasta and fish, seafood etc. the suggested local white wine was excellent and reasonably priced.
Breakfast here is unforgettable. Apart from the view – the variety of cakes, pastries and full cooked buffet breakfast with the usual cereals, fruits and yoghurts, plus excellent American coffee (which I prefer – but I have no doubts that their expresso is superb too) – means you don’t want to rush over breakfast. What a way to start the day on holiday. I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 days at this hotel and loved everything about it!! Amazing views all around. Everyone on staff is very kind and helpful. Shuttle was extremely convenient. We took a taxi one night to have dinner (I was dressed up and didn't want to walk down all the stairs & shuttle wasnt heading out for a while). Taxi was 25 euro for less than a 5 minute drive! Made us appreciate the shuttle service even more. Breakfast was delicious!! Im still craving those pastries :) A great selection of eggs, bacon, pastries, cereal, yogurt, cakes. We can't wait to go back! Positano is so romantic!

Room Tip: Spend extra for a view! It really is worth waking up to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Villa Franca in early October 2011 to relax after doing some sightseeing in the Sorrento/Naples area. The hotel is in a fantastic location, the views from the roof top pool area are amazing, and it looks down on to both bays in Positano. We never used the shuttle service the hotel provides on a surprisingly frequent basis, but if you don't want to navigate the steep steps or the less steep road down to the main bay/beach it would undoubtedly be very useful. We found it helped us build up an appetite for dinner and walk it off afterwards!

The staff were friendly, the breakfast was good (lots of choice of pastries, bread, cereal, fruit, some cooked food) and served in a light airy room with the doors open looking down the coast to Praiano. We also ate at the pool bar and the food was also very good there.

We had a room on the front with a lovely balcony and a fantastic view. Our room seemed to have too much furniture and ornaments in it, for me a bit less clutter would have made it more relaxing and seem less full. The bathroom was fairly pokey with the toilet behind the door, and the shower pressure could be a little intermittent. The major drawbacks for us were the bed was very hard, a problem we'd had in our previous hotel, and as the floors are tiled throughout there was a fair bit of noise which echoed around. It does make a big difference if the quality of sleep is good, and it may be possible to offer mattress toppers to provide a slightly softer bed - we would certainly have welcomed that.

Notwithstanding the negatives, we did enjoy our stay at the hotel because of its location and the views.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the front if you aren't having a suite, with a balcony, the views are definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bino33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My boyfriend treated me to this fantastic holiday for my 40th! we had a great 4 days here where we took a boat trip around the amalfi coast, we swam in the sea and in the caves which was amazing , we also had a lovely meal on the trip which was out of this world 4 course meal would strongly recommend this day trip. The hotel villa franca was a fantastic choice to stay, the rooms were a little small but very tasteful, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was great, we really enjoyed the beautiful vews in positano and we would love to go back someday ;)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
666 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Magia
Villa Magia
#21 of 38 in Positano
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $503 - $1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing