We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Our stay at the Hotel Poseidon was the highlight of our trip through Italy. Not only were the accommodations perfect, but the hotel staff provided us with the best service. Everyone was friendly and went out their way to make you happy and comfortable. The minute we arrived in our room, we were sent fresh flowers and champagne. The front desk happily spent an hour with us trying to help us to plan some side trips. Even the restaurant staff was exceptional. The night before we left, the maitre'd sent breakfast (a thermos of coffee and a some danish )to our room when he learned we had to leave at 3:00 am to catch our flight back home.
I'd love to go back again and would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GJPClifton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    149
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
109
538
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

My husband, two sons and I stayed here in late June '07, as part of a two week trip around Europe. This was our favorite hotel of the trip, for many reasons. First, each member of the staff goes out of their way to make guests comfortable. This includes bringing little blankets to guests sitting out on the terrace bar at night when it gets chilly, etc. I have not encountered a friendlier staff anywhere. Service was always very prompt. Our junior suite, #16 was very nice with a very large tiled bathroom, separate sitting room and lovely terrace. Our boys were in a standard room which also had a nice terrace, not as good a view and the room and bathroom were much smaller. The front desk was extremely helpful. The breakfast buffet was the best of our trip. We could have lingered on that terrace all day.

Dinner in the restaurant was extremely good with wonderful food and service. One of our kids didn't touch his fish and retired to the room early, so the waiter came over and suggested that we might want to cancel the entree fish that my husband had ordered and enjoy our son's instead. He kept it warm until we were ready for it. The restaurant is lovely and candlelit with a beautiful view- -not a place I would have taken my children if they were any younger (they're 14 and 11). However, I'm sure that the staff would have made us welcome, even with small children. This was a very special meal.

There are 330 steps down to the beach or you can get a taxi most of the way.

I'm sure Le Sirenuse and Il San Pietro are amazing, but for me, I'll stay at the Poseidon when I return.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Size of bathroom in standard room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rileypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Wow...what an introduction to the Amalfi Coast! This hotel is in the perfect location in Positano. It is high enough to be away from the tourist crowds but not high enough to be a long walk from all the things you have to do while in Positano. The gym in the hotel is great, no one was ever in there when we were. The pool is a great option if you don't want to deal with the crowds and the expenses on the beach below. The room had an unbelievable view...one I will not soon forget. Breakfast was amazing as we ate way to much but got to overlook the town and the the coastline. Angelo is the only person whose name I remember because he checked us in and was
so helpful....I must say everyone there is helpful. Not the cheapest place to stay but worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scienceteach14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Another 5 star review for the Hotel Poseidon. We stayed for 3 nights in Room 48 with a ocean view and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious, the bathroom clean, and the service exceptional. The view is just as it is advertised -- spectacular.

We had dinner at the hotel one evening, and it was top notch. Breakfast (included with the room) had a little something for everyone.

We spent a lot of time researching hotels in Positano and the surrounding areas, and am so happy that we chose well.

We would love to return to beautiful Positano, and will stay again at the Poseidon.

  • Liked — The service and the view.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Treslabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Just spent another wonderful 8 nights at the Hotel Poseidon (this was our 5 year of staying there). The setting is fantastic with wonderful views over the town and the beach. The food is excellent - some of the best to be had in Positano. However it is the staff that make this place great. Nothing is too difficult and Gianni (pool side ) is a gem.

Would only have one issue - the gym only opens at 9.00am which is too late for a morning workout before breakfast.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ANON31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Poseidon for 5 nights. Our travel agent was a bit tentative because he didn't know anything about it but the "hot" hotel, Le Sirenuse was completely booked. We booked what seemed to be
the only room left anywhere, a suite at the Poseidon. What a wonderful surprise! We had a magnificent view, a lovely spacious room, great breakfasts, and best of all a friendly and welcoming staff. It is a family owned hotel and you can feel it. The hotel even
comes with some mascots: 3 adorable dogs who love to hang out with guests at the bar (looking for food or limoncello, I presume). We couldn't have been more surprised by the relaxed and familial atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jll1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We had a chance to stay at the Hotel Poseidon on June 10, due to the fact that our previous hotel, the Albergo Miramare, had no room for us on the last night of our stay in Positano. I think I would have been more impressed with the Poseidon had it not been for the exquisite experience I had just had at the Albergo Miramare. Not only was the Miramare less expensive (210 Euros/night to Poseidon's 273 Euros/night), the terrace we had at Albergo Miramare had a MUCH better view. If you doubt my claim, you should visit the Trip Advisor page for Albergo Miramare and check out the candid traveler photos. You'll see what I mean. I suspect you could get those views at the Poseidon, but it would no doubt cost you an arm and a leg. My 273 Euros/night didn't qualify me for a sea view at the Poseidon.

The Poseidon does have lots of nice amenities (gym, spa, pool, etc.), so if you're into that, then the Poseidon is probably the better choice for you.

There is one other thing that I believe is worth mentioning -- the hotel is apparantly dog-friendly, as there were a number of large dogs roaming around during my stay. I don't have a problem with dogs, and usually I think it's cute when a hotel has a mascot. However, on my way up to my room after check-in, I noticed a puddle of dog urine on the marble floor of the staircase. Yuck! Fortunately, it was gone when I came back down the stairs a couple of hours later, but still... doggie piddle doesn't exactly scream "upscale hotel" to me.

Overall, I do consider this to be a lovely hotel, but I know for a fact that a better experience can be had elsewhere for less money.

  • Liked — The amenities (gym, pool, spa, etc.)
  • Disliked — Expensive, no sea view, dog urine on the stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenthumb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing