We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Poseidon
Nearby Hotels
$1,154
$1,119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
$896
$792
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden Roc(Positano)
$605
$557
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Marzoli Resort(Positano)(Great Value!)
$550
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
$826
$770
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
$422
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Buca di Bacco(Positano)(Great Value!)
$445
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)(Great Value!)
$524
$488
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$2,051
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
716
163
30
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
163
30
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvw beetleour honeymoonamalfi coastpool areabeautiful hotelsuperior roomhalf waygreat terracebreakfast buffet iscommon areasoverlooking positanothe hotel's restaurantbreathtaking viewslarge terracethe location is perfectbottle of proseccoloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 931 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This was our second visit to this gem of a hotel on the Amalfi Coast. In fact, a return visit to the Poseidon was the stimulus to planning a return to Italy rather than several other possible Itineraries.

This is a family-owned and operated hotel. Perhaps that is why each and every employee we met seemed to be genuinely committed to our comfort and determined to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Our room (#48) was wonderful with a comfortable king-sized bed and a balcony with a million-dollar view of the harbor. There were fresh flowers and a complementary package of local pasta in our room on arrival. The full-length shutters at the doors opening to the balcony permitted control of light while still enjoying the perfect temperatures existing during our visit. The glass doors to the balcony make the room virtually sound-proof when closed, which can be helpful in early morning when the trucks and school buses become active.

Turn-down service each night set the stage for restful sleep. The bathroom was beautifully tiled in green (I am amazed that that occasioned a negative comment !). The tile was obviously expensive and the designs were typical of the local ceramics.

The restaurant and bar are staffed with true professionals. Among many outstanding people there I must single out: Domenico, surely one of the world's best maitre d',
Alessandra, who combines the functions of concierge and hostess in such welcoming and gracious way ; and
Elio, the "second chair" in the restaurant who is becoming a masterful maitre d' himself. The service in both the restaurant and bar is impeccable.

Breakfast on the patio overlooking Positano and surrounding by flowering trees and plants lead you to believe you are too fortunate for words to be there. The breakfast options are extensive and marvelous including the option of freshly squeezed orange juice. Chilled Prosecco is available on the buffet for those who want to start the day with a Mimosa.

The hotel provides an opportunity for guests to take a cooking class with one of the chefs on a couple of days each week. We booked one of those sessions which are limited to about 8 people. The class was organized by the charming Alessandra and led by Chef Gennaro Esposito. At the completion of our class ( Eggplant Parmigiana was our lesson) we each were served the delicious product of our class with a class of wine. We also received a recipe for the dish, an apron with the Poseidon logo, and an "official" certificate of accomplishment.
All this was free of additional charge.

Upon leaving the hotel we were transferring by boat to Capri. The personnel of the hotel arranged for transfer of our bags to the boat and instructed us how to manage the process on both ends of the trip so that it went smoothly. We ourselves had only to stroll downhill window shopping and stopping for one last cappuccino at the dock.

A word about Positano: this is NOT a place for folks who mind walking up and down hills. This town is built on the side of a steep hill! If you stay anywhere in Positano you will have to walk up and down this hill!

We left the Poseidon feeling as though we were leaving good friends behind--with last minute gifts of additional recipes and warm farewells and well wishes from all the staff.

We have stayed in "grander" hotels but none as warm, inviting, and well-run.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Poseidon for 6 nights. There were three of us - two adults and a 9 yo child. We booked one of the suites and it was a roomy two rooms plus spacious bathroom. It was towards the top of the hotel, and reached by two external staircases after the lift, which only goes to the 4th floor. This was no hassle as there was someone to carry the bags. Check in and out were easy and our reservation was all in order.

The room was great - well maintained and kept clean with an amazing view over Positano. We had a large balcony which we made good use of. The bed was comfy and the couch was made into a bed for our daughter which she said was also good.

The restaurant has two areas - inside and outside. You eat outside if the weather is fine but otherwise inside. The food was delicious! We had plans to try other places in Positano but after the first night, we just didn't bother. There were three specials each night and a menu with a reasonable choice. The food was fresh and well prepared. Dinner cost on average about EUR100 for entrees, mains and drinks for the three of us. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was a buffet of cold and hot food. Fruit, cereal, toast/breads, meats, eggs, cakes, bacon and eggs. All you could want.

The staff were just exceptional and really made our stay great! They were so friendly and helpful, especially the pool staff and waitstaff. The love kids and were very friendly with my daughter who easily warmed to them. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was quick.

The pool area was great too. The pool was cold but we did have a few swims. Towels were quickly brought out for us and laid on sun beds. It was easy to get snacks and so on from the pool bar. The view from the pool area was great - right over the town and the sea. The sun set behind the hotel at about 3.30pm so we lost direct sunlight and some warmth but it was still fine to sit and enjoy the view.

The location of the hotel is up the hill on the left side of Positano as you look at it from the sea and it's about 10 minutes walk from the beach. It's hilly but not too bad. There is a shortcut which is all stairs (about 400 of them!) so the brave can try that. We went into town most days to swim in the sea and do some day trips and it was nice to be based at a hotel that was away from all the hoardes of tourists that seem to come to Positano every day. The beaches and beachfront restaurants are just jammed for most of the day and this was September so it must be frantic in summer.

This was just a magical stay. We were sad to leave and could easily have stayed on longer. This is one of the few "must return" hotels and experiences in our view.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We just returned from a trip to Italy where we spent 3 glorious nights at the Hotel Poseidon. Everything about the hotel was perfect! The setting and views were like no other and the location of the hotel was wonderful. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful and the breakfast on the terrace was delightful. I hope to be able to return to Positano again and I look forward to staying at the beautiful Hotel Poseidon!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank travelforfunFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed at the Poseidon for our 2nd wedding anniversary as part of a little tour of Italy. We had to cut our previous stay in a different area short and the staff here were so friendly and accomodating - very glad that we in fact increased our stay at The Poseidon. It is such a beautiful and unique Hotel. Rooms and views were amazing, definitely on the right side and height of Positano, all the food was divine and staff so friendly & v helpful - without fault at all. Such a romantic place to either spend your honeymoon or an anniversary, or even get married!! We absolutely loved it and wish we were still there! Positano is a jewel ;-) Thank you to all for making our stay so memorable and amazing. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and try your best to stay in a room on 4th floor with sea view (room 39 was ours). I could easily sing praises all day!! (Thank you for our very thoughful bottle of Prosecco for our anniversary).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BankerGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

What a great place Positano is!! Can't wait to go back some day! We will definitely stay at the Poseidon!!

You will have to walk a ways regardless where you go in Positano and the Poseidon is in a great spot and the pool, restaurant and staff couldn't be better!!

This hotel was easily the best spot for us in our three week adventure thru Italy!! The beach and ocean was great but starting the day with breakfast and some sun by the pool was perfect!!

If you go to positano stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schultzie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews