We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our romantic Italian trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our romantic Italian trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Fiorenzo at the front desk with incredible friendly service. The hotel is so beautiful, our view was breathtaking and the hotel staff was more than willing to accommodate and help us in any way. . The owner of the hotel Marco is always around and warm and freindly, he even bought us drinks while we were at the bar one evening. The pool is beautiful the rooms are very spacious and comfortable... The location is perfect for walking into the center of town and down to the beach. I greatly recommend this hotel to anyone and I know that we will return in the future.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sofywasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    142
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
103
504
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at the Poseidon for 2 nights in early May 2014, I wish it had been longer.

The position of the hotel, overlooking the main part of town and its sea from allowed us to enjoy a most beautiful stay in this charming and romantic seaside town.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, everything worked including air conditioning and the bathroom was a generous size and well equipped.

We dined one night at their restaurant and the food was excellent, in fact it was better than many of the restaurants in town, but it's setting was breathtakingly beautiful. As the sun went down, the shimmering lights of the town and the swaying lamps of fishing boats bobbing in the bay, gave this balconied restaurant a very special, magical feel. Little wonder that the town seems engulfed in honeymooning couples, strolling around in mesmerised euphoria.

I can see that you need to be fit in Positano. Any movement from A to B certainly will involve numerous steps or very very steep gradients with lots of energy expended. This was also true in the hotel , but there is a lift, " The first lift in Positano" as the notice proudly proclaims.

We loved it all - visit and stay at the Poseidon, it is a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: if you do not like lifts/elevators or stairs ask for a room on the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Why the "3" rating you ask? Well maybe it's not their fault, but in almost all the descriptions of this hotel it was listed as having washer and dryer (in the room) and laundry facilities ON the premises. We packed and planned accordingly ..well, it doesn't have either. Just the usual very expensive laundry service...which is fine ...IF the descriptions of the hotel said that.
Hate to hold it against the hotel, but in the end they are responsible for the description of their facilities.
Rooms are very nice (AC didn't work in April), views are tremendous, staff is friendly and efficient. Nice bar, nice pool, quite a nice place and for a reasonable price. I'd stay there again, I'd just bring more clean clothes.

The dogs barking all night was kind of a pain ...course we had to keep the door to the terrace open because the AC didn't work.

Room Tip: Mountain view with partial sea view is all you could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TogaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment we stepped on the old oriental rugs until we got to our room and saw the view we were impressed. Someone wrote that the decor was mis matched... Yes old rugs don't match. We met the guest relations manager and she was a delight. Very helpful young woman. Not only in Positano but helped us in Florence.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2013. The hotel was unbelievable! The view of Positano was excellent, the walk to town was short, and the prices were much lower than other hotels we priced out. The staff was extremely helpful when it came to planning excursions and recommending activities. We were able to have breakfast on our terrace overlooking the ocean each morning (and it was complimentary!).
We stayed in the suite the "funny room" on recommendation from a friend and it was an excellent choice! The room is less expensive than other suites because the access to the terrace is through an oversized window. It was entirely unproblematic - a very tall person would merely have to duck and there are stairs leading up to the window.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,
Thank you so much for writing this review.
We are glad to read all your positive comments about our Hotel and the staff!
We always do all we can and we are always pleased when guests appreciate all our attempts to make their stay a memorable one.
I enjoyed your feedback about our Funny Suite, whose private terrace definitely offers one of the best views in Positano!
Hoping to welcome you back again, we sincerely wish you a lovely day!

Margherita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel is a gem of gems. The grounds and public areas are straight out of a movie of another era. Everything is so well maintained and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is endless with selections, served on the terrace overlooking the sea. We had a wonderful dinner one night as well. The rooms face the water and are very comfortable. Samer, director of guest services, made our 4 night stay one we will never forget and we look forward to returning. We absolutely loved this place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Maggie! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relation Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards to all the members of our team ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Poseidon on our honeymoon and returned in August 2013 for our tenth wedding anniversary. It's still a beautiful hotel and the views were as stunning as we had remembered. This time we were able to afford a bigger room which was lovely with a great bathroom. I was slightly disappointed that despite telling the hotel we were returning for our tenth anniversary, they did nothing to mark the occasion...a glass of prosecco would have been nice! We've stayed in other hotels to mark previous anniversaries and been greeted with various things from a card to a bowl of fruit or some bubbly.

On the actual day of our anniversary we went to Le Sireneuse and here they pulled out all the stops. Yes it was expensive, but we felt like royalty for the evening and it was worth every penny!

The Poseidon from ten years ago seemed to make more effort, perhaps things have been scaled back in the current economy...there was one attentive pool boy and a bar person on duty but ten years ago we were treated to tasty morsels by the pool, our loungers were moved to get the best spot and service was definitely friendlier. We had a lovely few days but it's a shame that things feel like they've slipped and next time we come to Positano (and we will, as we love the place) we will probably stay somewhere else.

Future trips will have very different criteria though, as now we a baby on the way (made in Italy!) :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarlsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest!
Greetings from Positano!

I'm Sonia Ferrera, Guest Relations Manager, here at the Poseidon.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Becouse
honest criticism give us the motivation to improve and also to solve problems that
might creep into the daily work routine.
We hope to welcome you again and do our best to make you happy and totally satisfied.
We are at your disposal for any request or question, you can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it You can follow us as well on fb "Hotel Poseidon"
We have a lot of news and surprises ready to the new opening, 16th of April.

Best Regards from all the Poseidon Team ;)

Sincerely,

Sonia Ferrera

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing