We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

We just returned from a trip to Italy where we spent 3 glorious nights at the Hotel Poseidon. Everything about the hotel was perfect! The setting and views were like no other and the location of the hotel was wonderful. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful and the breakfast on the terrace was delightful. I hope to be able to return to Positano again and I look forward to staying at the beautiful Hotel Poseidon!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelforfunFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    142
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
103
504
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kingston upon thames, Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed at the Poseidon for our 2nd wedding anniversary as part of a little tour of Italy. We had to cut our previous stay in a different area short and the staff here were so friendly and accomodating - very glad that we in fact increased our stay at The Poseidon. It is such a beautiful and unique Hotel. Rooms and views were amazing, definitely on the right side and height of Positano, all the food was divine and staff so friendly & v helpful - without fault at all. Such a romantic place to either spend your honeymoon or an anniversary, or even get married!! We absolutely loved it and wish we were still there! Positano is a jewel ;-) Thank you to all for making our stay so memorable and amazing. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and try your best to stay in a room on 4th floor with sea view (room 39 was ours). I could easily sing praises all day!! (Thank you for our very thoughful bottle of Prosecco for our anniversary).

  • Liked — Everything, hard to say one!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BankerGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

What a great place Positano is!! Can't wait to go back some day! We will definitely stay at the Poseidon!!

You will have to walk a ways regardless where you go in Positano and the Poseidon is in a great spot and the pool, restaurant and staff couldn't be better!!

This hotel was easily the best spot for us in our three week adventure thru Italy!! The beach and ocean was great but starting the day with breakfast and some sun by the pool was perfect!!

If you go to positano stay here!

  • Liked — the food and the pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schultzie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Positano. The location was excellent as we could park our car outside whilst unloading. The car was then taken to the hotel's garage and was brought round for us when needed. The staff were very helpful both at reception and in the restaurants and bars. The room was quite small but the terreace made up for this and had sunbeds, a table and chairs for us to enjoy.
Although the terrace had a partial sea view, the scenery was spectacular.
The bar terrace and the breakfast terrace had breathtaking views and it was a pleasure to be able to sit and enjoy the food, drinks and surroundings. Don't however expect a large pool and I would suggest that this pool would not accommodate an ardent swimmer.
I would however recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Reception area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon when the Tripadvisor rating was #2, and its current rating has now dropped further down the list. We feel that it is with good reason, as this hotel has a beautiful location, but it is extremely TIRED!

Our junior suite was located down a very musty smelling hallway and our bed was actually in a loft that smelled musty, as well. To the cleaning staff's credit, our bathroom was immaculate, but the towels were very thin and in need of replacement.

The pool area was a slate patio with overgrown grass between the tiles, which made it seem unkempt. We did think that the staff at the pool were very friendly, though, and we feel they deserve that credit.

We ate dinner at the restaurant one evening, and although the food was nice and Alessandra stopped by our table to greet us, our waiter was very condescending and rude as soon as the owner and his four boys arrived to the table next to us.

If you are looking for a lovely hotel in Positano, we strongly suggest that you may want to try elsewhere.

  • Liked — Staff at the pool
  • Disliked — Rude waiters at dinner and musty/tired decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtlebaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

My wife and I stayed at The Hotel Poseidon for 8 nights in July 2008. We are independent travelers in our late 30’s. This was our third trip to Italy.
I researched this hotel on Trip Advisor prior to booking and most of the reviews (more recently not so much) are relatively accurate of what we experienced and what you can expect.
This is a great hotel which offers absolutely fantastic service. Some of the previous reviews have got me really perplexed. Our experiences at this hotel have differed so much? I know a good hotel and great service when I see it and this is exactly what we got at The Poseidon. I also understand that different people have different experiences and expectations.
I did not see one iota of bad service, staff walking on egg shells in the presence of the owners, pompous attitude by the management, nothing as stated by a previous reviewer. If you are looking for an “Intercontinental Hotel” experience then this hotel is not for you, but if you want an authentic Italian setting and hospitality then get on board with the Hotel Poseidon.
The clientele at the hotel whilst we were there was a good mix – honeymooners, seniors, young families, independent travelers, groups of girls on an Italian get away etc. The majority were Brits but there was a good mix of Europeans, Australians, Americans as well as Italians.
We arrived at Naples via train from Rome. We organized with the hotel, a taxi to collect us from the Naples train station and take us to Positano. I can highly recommend this – so simple and easy and no bartering with the shady taxi drivers. A well groomed limousine driver will greet you on the train platform and take you to a nice clean car. It costs 110 Euros which was money well spent. The journey from Naples to Positano is about 90 minutes. We also did this on our return to Naples.
We arrived around midday (earlier than the published check-in time) and were promptly checked in and escorted to our room on the second floor. I had asked for (and the hotel had confirmed) a room on a high floor so was a little disappointed at first but in the scheme of things it was of no difference.
The room, although simple in its décor, was extremely clean and bigger than what I was expecting. The furnishings, although not super modern, were conducive with the simple Italian theme and what we had experienced at other similar rated hotels in Italy over the years. The bathroom was big and very clean but was a shower over bath – something I don’t like but again, immaterial in the scheme of things. The terrace was relatively large and whilst mostly private, could be deemed “semi private” – the floor above can see down onto your terrace if you are in the front section of it.
I was a little surprised with the view at first. I was probably expecting a little more of the ocean and the Positano beach front but instead 60% of the view was of the opposite hillside of the village, 35% of the ocean and 5% the Positano Beachfront area. Regardless, the view was stunning. There are probably hotels in Positano with better views I would say? But again, after I got over my initial surprise, it was not something that bothered me and does not change my perception of this property.
The Poseidon is located about ½ way up the hill from the beach. It is a nice 20 minute walk back to the hotel from the beach – the first and last sections the steepest, the middle bit is OK. It helps with burning off the calories!
We also chose the Poseidon because it had a pool but in the end we only used it on one day, preferring to go to the beach and swim in the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean (even if it did cost us 30 Euro per day for two people to go to the beach, something in AUS, we are not accustomed to!) The pool area, whilst lovely is quite small and felt a bit “crowded” at times. The casual seating areas and bar around the pool are great.
The food at the restaurant was excellent. Whilst mainly focused on seafood, there was good choice of other meat and pasta dishes (I am a not a Seafood eater but Mrs. Jove99 is!) My wife also did a cooking class with the Executive Chef which she said was a lot of fun. She even got a certificate and a Poseidon apron which was a really nice touch. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was also excellent with a wide choice of fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, breads, eggs, bacon, fruit juices, homemade jam tarts and pastries etc. Sitting having breakfast in the mornings on that fabulous terrace was one of our favorite times of the day.
The service we received in the restaurant at all times was nothing short of excellent. All the staff were very polite and attentive. I could mention some of their names but won’t as to not offend those whose names I can’t remember (sorry!)– they were all excellent.
We ate at the hotel on 3 of the nights during our stay and found the prices comparable to other restaurants in Positano. Can also recommend Café Positano (2 minutes uphill from the hotel) and Buca di Bacco (on the beachfront). Both are also very nice. One of the nights we ate at the hotel was a “Mozzarella” evening which was hosted by the owners – it was very nice, the food was excellent as was the company. Bugs are a little problematic at this time of the year though for a short period each night. If you have a real bug phobia maybe eat later/earlier. They were quite bad on 2 of the 3 nights we ate there but this is not the hotels fault and they deal with it best they can.
We can also highly recommend you go to the private “One Fire Beach” at Priano. It is managed by Genaro, one of the waiters at The Poseidon. It is just excellent. A boat will pick you up from Positano and take you on the short 20 minute ride over to One Fire Beach. You don’t actually pay for the beach but you can buy great food and drinks at very reasonable prices. There is a great feel at this private beach. The service by the entire One Fire Beach crew is nothing short of excellent.
The WiFi access at the hotel is also excellent – the best I experienced in any hotel in any country. Only 25 Euros for 7 days access – it was fast, simple and very reliable.
And last but by no means least is the fantastic Alessandra. Alessandra could be best described as the Guest Relations Manager for the hotel – she is just delightful. She is so engaging and full of local info that will help you during your stay. A great person with a bright and bubbly personality – just great to have a chat with each evening. She made us feel very welcome and even organized a surprise for me as it was by birthday during our stay. She even met us at reception when we left and gave us a lovely gift and waved us goodbye.
Overall, a great hotel. The worst thing was leaving!
Thanks Alessandra and the entire team for a very memorable holiday. We’ll be back…

  • Liked — Service, Location, Cleanliness, Food & Wine!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

We have just returned from a two night stay at this treasure of a hotel. I agree with the last comments that the hotel staff were superb. We had a superior room with a lovely balcony overlooking the town, church and beach. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet (we slept through until 930am one morning...we were on the floor two flights above the restaurant area).
The pool verandah has plenty of sun loungers and a permanent attendant who provides towels and sets them up for you.
There are also areas within the hotel and on the vine covered verandah for those who prefer shade.
The gym had a number of good aerobic machines and a few weights but a poor multigym that needs repairing. It could also do with a water fountain rather than having a coin operated machine for bottled water. We drank from the taps in the shower room attached.
We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was excellent. The staff were absolutely delightful and charming. Encouraging our childrens' " poco italiano" and making them feel relaxed. The views over the town and down the Amalfi coast from underneath the vines were superb particularly with the full moon on display during our stay. The wine list was great and pre dinner drinks came with both cold and hot nibbles.
All in all we had a fantastic week in Campania having stayed for 5 nights at the Weber Ambassador on Capri beforehand and then here at the Poseidon. We flew in and out of Naples and transited to Capri then Positano and then back to Naples by the fast ferries. The bus from the airport to the port takes about 15 minutes and is airconditioned and very comfortable.

  • Liked — The food, the views and the fantastic staff
  • Disliked — No cold water in the gym and poor multigym.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#12 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing