We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love it but only liked it.”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“I wanted to love it but only liked it.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Poseidon has lots going for it. It is well located, the staff is professional and friendly and the bones of the building are classy and expensive for Positano. The views from the room balconys and from the bar, pool and breakfast terrace are tremendous. We had a deluxe bedroom with a sea view. The space was fine but the quality of the furniture and soft goods are not up to the price point. The hotel is frankly in need of some updating. They are able to charge premium and I mean premium prices even though the soft good haven't been changed in decades.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying here, get a room with a view but be prepared to pay through the nose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdcCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
and we hope a second stay with us will make you love Hotel Poseidon....
Thank you for your review and please know that we take your comments very seriously: a hotel in Positano, due to the geographic nature of the town, is in continuous need of maintenance and since it all can' t be done together it's a continuous "work in progress" here, so one year we dedicate to take care of the rooms and some infrastructure and in other years the furniture and so on....but nevertheless Hotel Poseidon will always have that charm of an old school property with carefully chosen furniture and rooms that reflect the spirit of the Amalfi Coast.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    149
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
109
538
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A beautiful old hotel, it has kept all the wonderful vintage features, enjoyed it more than some six star establishments I've stayed at. Best nights sleep ever! And the view from the balcony - amazing! Perfectly positioned to walk down and up the hill to all the fab eateries. Most helpful staff, went out of their way to help organise transfers and trips. A must do if you can: take a boat with Barche Lucibello out for a private cruise to Capri (ask for Paolo to be your skipper - he was wonderful) and have lunch at La Conca Del Sogno, a restaurant which can only be accessed by water. This day out, albeit expensive, is one you will always remember! Unfortunately (or fortunately) during our stay a heavy storm came through for 2 days so we spent hours relaxing and reading in the comfy downstairs bar, and being cheerfully served coffee and snacks, never rushed, never pressured. I suppose the only negative was the day spa, the massages we booked to loosen sore muscles after a long flight/drive were very disappointing and insipid. If you visit the Amalfi coast, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for this review. I am glad to know that your stay at Hotel Poseidon met your expectations. I am also sorry to hear that your experience at our beauty center was disappointing.
I have extended your comments to my colleagues there and please know we'll make our best to make sure that the quality of the massages treatments offered be up to the standards that always distinguished Hotel Poseidon.
We look forward to seeing you again in the new future.
Best Regards
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and i had a great time in Poseidon Positano,everything was perfect!! The location the room....the breakfest is served on a wonderfull terrace!!!Samer was always helpfull!!!!!They also have a great restaurant!!! Too bad we had to find out by ourselfs..
At the reception we felt a bit "pushed" (expecially by Forenzo a funny gentleman but sometimes "hurried" and maybe too much involved with personal interests we believe...)to go to other restaureants such as Mediterraneo or Siroco.PLEASE try the Poseidon Restaurant they have the best view in Positano and it is served a great food!!! thanks everyone! Mr. Crooke

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferdinand c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

i can't say enough good things about this place. The people are the best. Room with view is a must, breathtaking.
The food in their restaurant is the best Italian meal i have had, wow.
also their complimentary breakfast, you have to be there to believe how wonderful it really is. I will definitely be back and stay longer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your warm review.
I am happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations. I have also extended your comments to our staff and they all send their warmest regards.
Looking forward to having you again here at Hotel Poseidon in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed here 2 nights. We had little choice owing to our late arrangements.
We were given a large 2 room suite on the top floor, with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea and the villages.
The suite was quite spartan and needed some updating. The bathroom was huge.
The staff was very helpful and Samer is a gem. He went out of his way to help us with restaurants etc on the next leg of our journey. He was even there in the evening to offer advice.
We ate at the restaurant here and it was extremely good.
The sitting areas in the hotel are warm and inviting in the evening and breakfasts are good.
Did not use the pool as it was cool. We noticed the rules too!
This is an expensive hotel which does not come up to the standards of other 5 star hotels and therefore I can only award it a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for writing us this review.
It was our pleasure having you here with us and please know that we take all your suggestions seriously and always working to improve our services and the quality of our rooms.
On a more personal note i am flattered by your kind remarks so thank you.
I really hope to have you again here at Hotel Poseidon.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We think that Positano is most certainly the most special place in Italy to be priveleged to visit. The Poseidon Hotel was an absolute delight in every way imaginable. The rooms are large and spacious with high ceilings. Comfortable bathroom and stunning patio that overlooked both the mountain and the ocean. The landscape envelopes you and you actually become the mountain. We will never forget those spectacular views. Eating breakfast every morning on the magnificent terrace was another speciality. Everything your heart desires is laid out for you. The staff are totally wonderful. Samer is the guest relations manager and he is always there offering sound advice as to where to go and how to get there. There is a little delhi right over the road offering the best mozarella, salami, tomato and basil samdwocjes, plus everything else you'd like to eat. You are right next to the best restaurants and can take a stroll down to the beachfront. We just adored having the pool at the hotel which is tended by a man who sees to it that you have your chairs and towells the minute you approach. We made excellent use of it. The five days we spent at the Poseidon in Positano will be one of our most precious and cherished memories and we would not consider staying anywhere else on our next visit. Thank you all at the Poseidon, we had the most special time. Moira and Allan.

Room Tip: We just asked for a room with a patio. It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Moira and Allan,
we can't wait to have you back here at Hotel Poseidon.
Thank you for this detailed review.
I have extended your comments to the rest of our staff particularly to Luigi the pool tender and they all send his warmest regards.
I had the pleasure of having you here and I really hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a really nice 3.5-4 star hotel located 1/2 way up the hill in Positano. Being in the center, it makes it easier to reach the beach and the top of Positano, than had you stayed at either extreme.
The service is wonderful, food at night is super. ( Don't miss Pizza night on Saturday...) Nor Sunday eve cocktails on the gorgeous terrace listening to the town's Mayor and buddy play traditional local music on mandolin and guitar. The view of town is superb! The 5th star is their Social Director, Samer. He makes you feel like you are the only ones at the hotel. Not stuffy, nor phoney, Samer will see that your stay there is first rate!

Room Tip: If you have problems getting about make sure your room is serviceable by elevator. Some rooms requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a warm review. It was our absolute pleasure having you among us.
We are happy to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you particularly appreciated the food and the evening atmosphere on the Hotel's terrace.
On a more personal note i am flattered by your kind remarks and I can't thank you enough.
We look forward to having you again with us.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing