We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had Our Dream Wedding Here”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just over a week ago my now wife and I had our wedding at the Hotel Poseidon. But our relationship with the hotel started far earlier via email with their guest relations manager and now someone I consider a good friend, Samer. Countless emails including location, menu, music, and flower arrangements were sent back and forth. Samer was always very accomodating, and handled the situation perfectly. He arranged live music, local flowers, custom built a menu for our party, and made the overall experience flawless.

When we arrived at the Hotel Poseidon we were greeted by the most welcoming hotel staff I have ever encountered. Samer then introuduced himself, and we set up a time to meet and go over and finalize wedding plans. We were shown to our room which was amazing, with original tiles from when the hotel was built back in the 50's. The pool, terrace, and bar location became our favorite hangout and even people who were not staying at the hotel were always welcome to join us for a drink. (Sit out here at sunset and have some wine!)

Fastforward 3 days and it's wedding time. The weather is horrible, and yet there is the staff of the Hotel Poseidon all smiles, setting a table for 18 people outside and another inside just in case. Talk about taking care of your guests. The weather cleared and my wife and I had a beautiful ceremony. After that a prosecco toast and finger foods were passed around.(The staff never let a glass go empty!) The dinner began and it was out of this world, and the hotel staff and restaurant staff could not have been better. After dinner and some live music the hotel presented us with a local made from scratch lemon cake that was to die for. On top of that, we were given 2 bottles of Veuve Cliquot to toast our marriage with our wedding party. We invited the staff to join us for cake and champagne as they greatly deserved it. We had also become very close with other guests staying at the hotel (Reg, Laurie, Mark, Paige, Jonathan) and they joined in the festivites. After dinner, cake, music and some drinks the party really started. Marco the owner brought out a laptop (and some vintage beatles records) and a group of us sang Dean Martin, Sinatra, and some old italian songs while sipping (or slamming..) limoncello and sambuca. The staff behind the bar, Nino, Maria, and Salvatore were the best and I cannot thank them enough. Gaetano, the manager of Il Tridente was so graceful and accomodating it blows my mind.

What I noticed about the hotel is that if you are having a wedding or just staying a night, the staff was so great and they knew everybody by name.

Overall this will always be the best hotel I have stayed at. They have my business, and the business of my family for life. The memories made at this beautiful location will never fade. This, in my opinion is heaven on earth, and what makes it even more special are the people who work here. It's never too big or too small, and whatever you need will be taken care of swiftly and with a smile. If ever in Positano stay here, you will NOT be disappointed.

Thank you all at the Hotel Poseidon for everything.

Connor + Lauren

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Lauren & Connor,
Thank you for such a heartwarming review. We can't be happier to know that you fully appreciated the Poseidon experience.
It was our utmost pleasure having you all here and sharing with you such a special occasion
I have extended your comments to Monica, Marco and all our staff members and they all send their warmest regards.
Personally I enjoyed every single moment with you all and it was an absolute joy for me seeing you having the time of your life and will always cherish the memory of those days.
We look forward to having you with us again in the near future ( perhaps for you first anniversary?!) and congratulations again! Wishing you the happiest life together.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 905 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Poseidon for 3 nights in August and we wish we could have stayed longer! We arrived via rental car from Naples and pulled up to the front of the hotel and the staff quickly unloaded our luggage and took our car to the garage so we didn't have to worry about a thing.

Check in was quick and Marco gave us great information about the area and took us on a quick tour of the hotel and showed us our rooms. My husband and I stayed in the funny room which was on the 4th floor, the super large terrace is accessed by a small set of stairs and you have a panoramic view of the sea and town of Positano - simply stunning! My parents had a room on the 3rd floor which I believe was a superior room (they were upgraded at check-in) - with beautiful terrace and similarly stunning views. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The entire hotel was absolutely charming with antique furnishings and flowers everywhere. The staff was incredibly friendly, professional and helpful in every way possible.

Breakfast was on their beautiful terrace and the spread provided so many options from eggs to meats and cheeses, pastries, fruit, yogurt, juices, mimosas and bloody marys, exceptional cappuccinos and more!

One of the afternoons we decided to drive to Ravello and Angelo at the front desk helped orient us and gave us detailed suggestions for our day trip along with a wonderful restaurant recommendation (Cupma' Cosimo) and sites to see. Our rental car was quickly brought up to the front entrance and off we went.

We wanted to take advantage of the boat trip the hotel offers during our stay, but unfortunately it's only offered three days a week and we were leaving the day that they offered it next.

On our last full day we spent it by the hotel pool as the beach was so crowded. We had a nice peaceful day by the pool and quick and friendly drink service to go along with it. Later that evening there was live music on the pool terrace and we had our aperitivo and went out to another great restaurant recommended by the hotel - Mediterraneo.

At the end of our stay, Samer chatted with my family and asked about our stay. We said we'll be back again and WE WILL. It's so refreshing to visit a hotel where the staff truly cares about your experience and goes out of their way to make it as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatdessertfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for such a heart-warming and detailed review.
I have extended your comments to our staff members particularly Marco and Angelo and they all send their warmest regards.
I am glad that your experience at Hotel Poseidon fully met your expectations and this means a great deal to us.
We wished you stayed here longer but we' look forward to having you again here in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is located in the middle height of Positano, making it not too far from the beach and town center ( which is important as it is all steps!). The views are stunning from the rooms and the beautiful pool restaurant terrace. The staff is very professional and friendly. In all this is the perfect choice for a stay in Positano.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rpean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review.
I am happy to know that your stay with us met your expectations and we hope to see you again in the near future.
I have extended your comments to the staff members and we all send you our warmest regards.
Best Regards
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A week at the Poseidon was like a week in heaven! We found the hotel to be perfect in every way; service, location, features; food and overall ambience. The staff was incredibly attentive to us and our needs and made us feel like family. The pool was a welcome respite from 104 degree weather (it was August afterall!). I highly recommend this hotel and envy anyone that goes before we can get back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your warm and generous review.
We can't be happier to know that your stay with us was fully satisfying and we can not thank you enough for recommending Hotel Poseidon.
We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was to be the final leg of our Italian adventure. Having covered some serious miles since our arrival at Pisa we wanted a bit of luxury & a place to relax. The Poseiden scored on both counts. As was a theme for our holiday we needed a car park for our hire car & nowhere more so than the Amalfi coast where space is at a premium. The hotel has its own parking garage - you simply unload out front & hand your keys over for your car to be gently hidden in the bowels of the building until it is time to leave. I would not even think about driving here - the roads are too narrow to enjoy the view & to find a space would be almost impossible. The way to travel is of course by the ferries - the ride to & from Amalfi was amazing fun - from there it was easy to get a bus to Ravello & the amazing sights it had to offer.
The hotel was well kept & set on many levels into the side of the hill. The pool area was on the top floor & appeared to have plenty of free loungers when we were there. Our room was of reasonable size but had a lovely balcony with a stunning view over Positano all the way down to the beach. This was one of the reasons we chose this place - some of the other "luxury" hotels are situated much lower down the hill towards the water which we felt defeated the object. To really enjoy Positano it is better to be higher up to really see the place.
The down side to the location of course is the steep climb down to the town & more importantly back up again. There are a lot of stairs & after two weeks of travelling we did not have a lot of energy left so you may wish to take this into account. We would have loved the opportunity to go on some of the climbs in the area but we had simply run out of steam.
The breakfast was one of the best & most varied we had in Italy. The staff were attentive & helpful.
In summary we were more than happy with our choice & I would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your warm and detailed review.
We are happy to know that your stay at Hotel Poseidon met your expectations.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Best Regards
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better lodging experience in Positano. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly. The food at the hotel was excellent. The pool area and lounge areas were great with an amazing view. The only downside of this hotel is the walk up and down the hill to the beach and ferry area of Positano. Small price to pay for a wonderful stay if you ask me.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Bull-Shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We are happy to hear that your experience at Hotel Poseidon fully met your expectations.
I have extended your comments to the staff members and they all send their warmest regards.
We look forward to having you again at Hotel Poseidon in the near future.
Best regards
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When you search the web for a hotel, you never quite know what you will encounter. As we approached Positano by boat, we found it to be picturesque! Initially surprised to be told when we arrived that our luggage would take a cab and we would need to climb 300 steps (NB- give them as many bags as you can!) we were so happy to be on this beautiful coast that we obliged and began our climb. After checking in, we found the Hotel Poseidon to be everything we could have wanted and more. To start, the location was central to excellent restaurants and shops. Samer was “the man” in guest relations giving us one excellent suggestion after another ranging from what to do to where to eat. The rooms, pool, bar area, and restaurant were fantastic and the breakfast buffet was worth our early morning adventures to neighboring towns. We came back and ate enough for two meals. Make sure to take advantage of the hotel boat and VW bug. We used the car to drive the coast with our new British-BFFs…but make sure to check with Samer for availability. The Hotel Poseidon matched Positano in charm. We’d recommend taking advantage of the terrain by staying active; after a few days of running the stairs, we were like old timers. Can’t wait to come back …Samer, beware! John&Sue : )

Room Tip: Stay on the top levels if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Sue and John,
I do accept the challenge and am looking forward to having you back here in the very near future! Thank you for all your kind remarks, It was a pleasure having you here among us and can't be happier to know that your experience at the Poseidon met your expectations.
I have also extended your comments to the rest of the staff and they all send their warmest regards.
See you soon
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $281 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing