We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view, service, and overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, service, and overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

For Positano, the hotel is a great location - close to the beach, but not so close to the beach that you have to walk up 600 steps to some of the good restaurants further up. Great, helpful service, tremendous view of the sea, and an experience that left us wanting to stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jverses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    90
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
64
472
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Positano for our 2 year anniversary, among other cities in Italy. As we arrived we were so warmly greeted by the staff, Rostia in particular. That is how great she was, we remember her fondly. She was eager to help us plan our time there. The room was amazing. We had a balcony overseeing the beach and town. The view was so incredible we hardly wanted to leave our room. The hotel was very romantic. The room and bathroom were spacious and first class. Much better than any other hotel we stayed in while in Italy. The breakfast was great and the restaurant had just as great of a view. Free internet, bathrobes & slippers, and personal service. We cannot express in words how pleased we were with this hotel and Positano in general. We highly recomend it!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jck001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We had the absolute pleasure to stay in this wonderful hotel. Our room had the most spectacular view of the Amalfi coastline and the beautiful town of Positano. Waking up each morning and stepping out on our terrace brought a smile to our faces each wonderful morning of our stay. Rosita, who initially welcomed us to the hotel took such good care of us. She made some amazing recommendations for us that made our stay in Positano one of our most wonderful vacations. Thank you so much Rosita! We will be back! BTW - for anyone who goes there and moans about the steps up and down from the town...get over it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

My now fiancee' and I voyaged from Milan to Verona, Venezia, Piobbico (to visit La Tavola Marche), Rome in less than 10 days and wanted to be alone and to rest prior to a week in lovely Calascibetta, Sicily with family....The plan was to find a hotel in Positano and pop the question on the beach. We stumbled over Miramare and were so happy to have done so! Italians are not necessarily known for friendly service, so this hotel was immediately unique. That, along with the very elegant room, modern bathroom and large balcony with a truly spectacular view of the sea, made Miramare the perfect accidental find. The balcony provided the perfect place, along with the sound of the sea ebbing and flowing over the stony beach below, to receive a positive response to my proposal. Grazie mille Rosita and Miramare for a visit we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MODERNITALIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

My wife and I just got back from a 12 day trip throughout Italy and this was the nicest place we stayed in the nicest town we stayed in. We had originally planned on staying in Sorrento and visiting places from there, but when we got to Sorrento we realized that it was not the place we wanted to be so we cancelled our reservations and hopped a bus to Positano.

We stayed at another place the first night as we just found the first thing we could so we could dump our bags and head to the beach. You can read my review of that hotel as well as it was very nice and affordable. Anyway, we decided to treat ourselves to a nicer place for the last 2 nights of our trip and proceeded to walk around the small town and check a few spots out. We stumbled upon the Miramare which is not located on the main road, but along one of the many stepped "alleyways" if you can call them that. Its an unassuming entrance tucked away and you could have easily walked by it. We asked if they had any rooms and sure enough the wonderful hotel manager had a room available. Since we didn't know anything about the place, she showed us a room and it looked wonderful. She took our name, no credit card or anything, and told us to come back tomorrow and it would be ready. We arrived early in the morning, the room wasnt ready so they held our bags and gave us some beach towels and already I was feeling good about this place.

The room (#219) was in the annex of the hotel. It was super large with a very high arched ceiling and very comfortable. The furniture was antique (at least looking) and was very tasteful and really complemented the room and location. The bathroom was very clean and had a window that opened up in the shower to a view of the ocean. Nothing beats showing with the fresh ocean air blowing in and total privacy. We had a lovely patio/balcony what overlooked the ocean with Praino to the left and the Galli Islands to the right. One of the best views in the whole town. There was a retractable sun visor as well if you wanted to enjoy the shade and a table, 2 chairs, and 2 lounge chairs and some nice plants to go along with it. I would recommend picking up a pizza from one of the restaurants and grabbing a bottle of wine and spend a night just enjoying this place because no restaurant will be able to rival the view. Of course we did and the hotel sent up 2 wine glasses and a bottle opener!!

I have done a lot of traveling and stayed in many places and this was one of the most memorable. It would be hard to beat for the value. I dont know what the other rooms are like, but if they were as nice as this, then I dont think you can go wrong.

For those complaining about the ants and the steps: Positano, if you havent been there, is perched up on very steep cliff face. There is one long winding road that goes through town that is basically a series of switchbacks. Between the roads there are multitudes of stepped alleyways to descend down to the ocean. If you have bad knees or have a hard time getting around and cant handle steps, I would consider skipping Positano all together and go somewhere that is flat. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the base of town. Being where it is, you have amazing views of the coastline with the sound of the ocean in your room. They have a sister hotel that is closer to the beach I believe and you could probably get around by bus from there and avoid the steps. But if you are in average shape I would not be worried about what other reviewers said. Besides, you should be working off all that pasta and bread anyway! Also they can arrange to get your baggage down or up if you need it.

As for the ants, they are everywhere in Positano. Especially on the handrails of the pedestrian roads. They probably have some type of relationship with the local vegetation and are very tiny and dont seem to bite. I cant imagine that anyplace would be immune although we didnt have any problems in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We loved this hotel and the staff goes out of there way to help. Views were fantastic, breakfast was nice and I would recommend this hotel to any looking in Positano. Stop at Cafe Positano for a bite to eat at the top of the stairs! Free wireless is great.

Although they were the first to not really give an upgrade for our honeymoon as the one in Capri and Rome did, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmulliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

My husband and I originally booked this hotel and were greeted in our outdated room by a trillion ants. I have been to Santorini, Greece (similar to Positano) and understand ants are an issue in these type of locations. The ant spray was sitting in our room and obviously wasn't utilized. We weren't crazy about the 50 steps to get to the hotel itself and decided to change to their sister hotel "Punta Regina".
I do have to say that the staff was extremely nice and helpful. I think that because this hotel is located in a steep location, you better have some good knees to walk all the steps!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophster216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Trara Genoino 29, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Miramare (rated four stars) is located in one of the world's most beautiful bays,which offers a combination of undisturbed relax and incomparable scenery.The historic centre of Positano and the main beach are just a short walk away. Hotel Miramare is well known for its excellent staff and for its panoramic breakfast room overlooking the bay. The spacious and comfortable drawing rooms and bar assure an enchanting and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing