We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location, Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Location, Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were given a warm greeting at this lovely hotel and were offered a free upgrade to their most amazing room. Our room had a stunning ocean view from the shower -- actually standing IN the shower. The entire outside was glass, so you could look out onto the ocean and the hillside. I'm not certain what this upgrade would have cost, but I'd consider it next time -- if we aren't fortunate enough to get the free upgrade.

The hotel is situated at the top of roughly 200 steps, so be prepared to walk. In general, you'll be doing a lot of this around this beautiful, old-world, coastal town. The rooms are fairly simple and cozy. This isn't a place that you'll want to be in the room.

The staff is incredibly friendly and eager to answer any question you have. The breakfast is good, not great. Overall, this is an outstanding launching off point to tour an amazing city. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you can, try and land a room with a shower overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMergott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    90
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
64
477
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have to start this review by saying that I have been meaning to post a review for quite some time. We stayed at the Hotel Miramare in 2012 and it was one of the most amazing experiences and vacations that we have ever had. The hotel is definitely not The Four Seasons....but that isn't the point. We could have stayed at Le Sirenuse for triple the price...but honestly...I don't think we would have had any better of a time. (On a side note..we did have dinner and drinks one evening at Le Sirenuse and it was beautiful and something to certainly do while in Positano). The hotel is nestled mid way up the cliff side and as many guests have pointed out..there are many steps to climb. Porters helped us with luggage which was wonderful and the steps never once bothered us. I am often confused why people complain about the stairs anyhow when they have come to this town to take in its beauty being built on the side of a cliff and maintaining its 'old world' charm and beauty. Anyhow...the rooms are tasteful and simple and do not distract you from focusing outward onto the beauty of the scenery and flowers and just perfect place that Positano is.
Everyone raves about Rosita...and we became friends on Facebook and have stayed in touch over the past 2 years since our stay. She is a gem. She is friendly and works so hard to make sure that everyone feels special and has the best time during their vacation. Honestly...she was as much a part of our wonderful time and stay as the hotel room was or the beach..or the restaurants....she was part of this beautiful trip and beautiful experience and it is no wonder why guests return year after year and maintain friendships with her and other members of the hotel staff for years after their stays. You CANNOT go wrong with this hotel...and I mean that with genuine sincerity. No need to look any further when it comes to a hotel in Positano..the location...the staff...the feeling...it will leave you dreaming of the next time you can return.

Room Tip: The room just to the left as you enter the hotel ( cannot remember the number) but it is to the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had the most amazing experience here. The views were absolutely breathtaking. We ordered numerous bottles of wine and they had them to us immediately. Rosita was very friendly and helped us with dinner plans each evening. She also gave us a map and suggestions for a hike. We plan to come back for our 5 year wedding anniversary and definitely will be staying here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel that is made extraordinary by Rosita. She and I had communicated via email prior to the trip, so when I met her it was like meeting an old friend. She arranged private drivers for the round trip from Naples/Positano. She is warm, gracious and absolutely charming. And, she clearly loves her job. She goes out of her way to satisfy your every need and makes recommendations for excursions, restaurants, etc. Every recommendation she made was fantastic. When we arrived, my husband was desperately needing coffee. Rosita immediately had some delivered while we checked in. On our last night we were too tired to go out and she recommended a restaurant that delivered and she added a bottle of wine. If every establishment had a Rosita, they would be incredibly lucky. Leaving was like saying goodbye to an old friend. We booked one of the special rooms and had a lovely view of the water. The rooms are a little old and could probably use some updating, but lovely nonetheless. I would stay here again as long as Rosita still worked at The Miramare. Re the stairs--we didn't mind a bit. We loved the exercise and needed it after the fantastic food in Italy. And, the gentleman that carried our 65+lb suitcases was truly extraordinary. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rp917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Last summer we visited Positano for the first time. I had been dreaming of going there for 25 years but couldn't get a reservation at San Pietro so we booked 4 night at the Miramare and 2 at the Maricanto. Our experiences couldn't have been more different. First, there is no elevator at the Miramare so Bruno the Giant has to haul your bags up 4 flights of stairs for which he expects to be handsomely rewarded. Our room, which did have a nice view of ocean, smelled like sewage so they used a lot of lemon scented room freshener to hide the smell. The hotel is old and should either be refurbished or torn down so that the space on the hill can be put to better use.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mrperfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramarepositano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr Perfect
The situation you faced during your stay at the Hotel Miramare was completely unacceptable and unfortunate. I could explain to you that sometimes guests are less than careful with paper, or that there have been occurrences when children have sent a toy down the toilet, but this is of little solace to your memory. Thank you for recognizing that your room did have a nice view of the Sea, but we understand this in no way lessened the problem.

The housekeeping staff used the lemon infused room fresheners in a effort to mitigate the issue, but this was, obviously merely a cosmetic attempt.

This matter has been addressed but not in time to redeem your experience with us and we apologize. We also regret that you were inconvenienced by the absence of an elevator. We are disappointed as well that you felt that our Porter expected an exaggerated gratuity. We will seek to remedy this matter.

The staff of the Hotel Miramare tried to make the best of an unpleasant situation and we are disappointed that we fell short.
Kind regards
Rosita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After a week in Tuscany, we headed south for the second half of our trip in Positano. True to it's reviews, Hotel Miramare is fantastic. The customer service was wonderful - we were treated incredibly well and were provided with great restaurant suggestions. The hotel's location is also perfect - high enough for a view, but low enough for a short walk to the beach. There are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. We had a room with a balcony and it was worth the extra cost. The view of the sea and the other hillside of Positano was stunning, and the balcony was large enough that we could sit out there comfortably and enjoy a glass of wine. If you are honeymooning in Positano - this is the perfect hotel - spring for the room with a balcony!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlmams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were a group of 2 couples travelling together from Canada to Italy. I found this hotel on the web and read about the reviews on Trip Advisor before we made our choice of where to stay for 6 nights in Positano. Our experience excelled our expectations. From the warm and friendly greeting from Rosita on our arrival and the other gracious staff to the exceptional views, comfortable rooms and beautiful hotel, we had an wonderful first experience to Positano and the Amalfi Coast. Our breakfast which was included was a great start to the day. Rosita took the time to give us details of excursions and her suggestions were excellent. We would definitely recommend Miramare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LianeWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Trara Genoino 29, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#8 Family Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Miramare (rated four stars) is located in one of the world's most beautiful bays,which offers a combination of undisturbed relax and incomparable scenery.The historic centre of Positano and the main beach are just a short walk away. Hotel Miramare is well known for its excellent staff and for its panoramic breakfast room overlooking the bay. The spacious and comfortable drawing rooms and bar assure an enchanting and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing