We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got engaged here!”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We love Positano and got engaged on the balcony of the Miramare hotel. The location is ideal and the balconys are incredible and the service is friendly however having stayed in other hotels in Positano I dont know whether Miramare can justify the price. We found the decor old fashioned and they were unable to provide an iron to the room. In saying this we still loved our stay and for Postiano it has a lot less steps than most hotels! The hotel did a great job at getting us great tables in the restaurants we wanted to go to however i would come with your own ideas of where you want to dine as we found some of their best suggestions dissapointing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lexjade677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramarepositano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guests, The staff of the Hotel Miramare would like to thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We want you to know that the four stars which you gave us are appreciated, but we wish your experience had been worthy of five stars. Please know that by sharing your displeasure you will help us make efforts to regain your confidence and satisfaction. Thank you as well for the positive words about our location and our lovely balconies. How Special it is to us that your became Engaged to be Married here with the shimmering Mediterranean as the perfect backdrop. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our Staff. We all take a great pride in the Hotel and strive to make each and every guest have a wonderful holiday.
We regret that you found our decor unsuitable. Overwhelmingly our Guests approve of the decor. But, in truth, this is a personal choice and one about which there will never be complete agreement. You describe it as 'old fashioned', although many characterize it as "old world European'. Many find it a departure from the modern world we live in.
We apologize that we could not provide an iron for your use. Most hotels, including the Miramare consider this a safety issue and therefore do not allow their use in Guest rooms.
Thank you for enjoying our skill at arranging great tables for your dining experience. It is disappointing to the Staff that you were dissatisfied with some of our restaurants here in Positano. We on the Amalfi coast pride ourselves on our local cuisine. Our splendid tomatoes, fresh fish, scrumptious pizza, beautiful, savory pasta...luscious cheeses and wine. We consider ourselves fortunate to live and work and eat here.
We truly hope that you will come again and stay with us. We would love another chance to give you a five star Holiday. Whether you stay with us or not, please come and say ciao when you are in Positano. After all, you were Engaged here ! We always try and remember our Guests with Love.
Rosita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 753 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our family from Australia of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenage sons) absolutely loved this hotel. We were located immediately next door in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa (owne by the Miramare) with a huge private terrace and the most spectacular views of Positano and the ocean. The villa (Casa Prever) was very large and clean, the bathrooms a little dated, but the space of the villa and the views made up for this.

My sisters and their families stayed in the hotel in rooms that were more recently furbished and which they were thrilled with too. Very clean, very pretty and beautiful views.

This hotel is very well located - not too high up, and not too low. Like most places in Positano, you face the challenge of either a lot of steps going up to the shops along the main road or a lot of steps heading down into the central village area close to the beach. My parents (both in their 70s) managed the steps reasonably easily (I believe they counted 270 steps from the hotel down to the village at beach level), but for my family and our boys, this was not an issue - like the locals you just get used to it! From the hotel you can walk up to the main road (via steps) which takes you about 2 minutes. You can then meander down along the main road (which is narrow but which is lined by shops and restaurants) into the village area at beach level. Or from the hotel you can walk directly down the steps into the village (which is again about a 2-4 minute walk). If you want to avoid the steps, you could stay at or close to village level if you want to but you miss the views!

Restaurants are all within walking distance, and many restaurants do offer free transfers if they are located further along the main road or in the next village. There are also several churches within a short walking distance.

The hotel offers a beautiful buffet breakfast daily, served from the breakfast room which has to be one of the prettiest rooms you will ever see (with an internal flowering vine spreading over the entire ceiling and down the walls). Coffees (lattes, etc) were served on request. Late at night we would sit in the adjacent lounge area and be served tea and drinks.

The service was splendid and our room and sheets were cleaned daily.

We booked a one day private boat cruise which took us around to Capri, the blue lagoon and other incredible spots, which turned out to be the highlight of our trip.

I now know why this hotel is as highly rated as it is - an excellent location, spectacular views, splendid accommodation, super friendly service and reasonable prices. Why would you book elsewhere??

The hotel is close to several small supermarkets for supplies (warning: take your own sunscreen unless you want to pay stupidly exorbitant prices) with some of the freshest cheeses and meats on offer. Wine is cheap and you do need to buy your own water (which is also cheap).

What did surprise us was that most of the beach in front of the village is a private beach and they charge for use (I think 18 euro per person per day which is ridiculous for us Australians). But you can jump on free water taxis to reach other (less expensive but still private) beaches in nearby coves, or you can walk to one around a cove to the west (about a 10 minute walk from the hotel all up) and they charge 4 euro per person for a lounge (and they offer great service, decent food and great coffees (only 1 euro so who cares!) and have great play equipment for the kids to use such as pedlo boats, slides, canoes, etc). You don't need to pay for your kids, you only need to pay for the number of lounges you will use, which you have for the entire day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a wonderful experience.. The hotel staff, were so helpful and friendly.. But, the View won us over.. I could have sat on the balcony for hours just watching the never ending changes on the water.. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rettendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The view is great, breakfast is good. The hotel is 150 plus steps up hill from the beach, which won't be good if you carry heavy luggage or have physical problems. It is not on the little heart of Positano, but it is close enough. Not that easy to find at first. Overall it was an alright hotel. I was only impressed with the view. Shower needs to be scrubbed and bleached.

Room Tip: We spent 1 night only, and for that I think a hotel by the little beach area would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaccioStoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday in the Hotel Mirimare in Positano in September. The welcome from Rosita was exceptional! From the moment we arrived until we left she looked after us. She helped with journeys, restaurants and even parking! The room, no. 210 had the most amazing views and a large balcony where you could watch the world and the boats go by. The other staff were also helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: We were advised to book room 210, wise choice!! Sun stayed on the balcony until about 4pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseandJoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Superb location with gorgeous views. Rosita, the manager was unbelievably wonderful in tourist advice and went out of her way to plan my itiniery. Highly recommend. Only negative is that you have to climb 200 steps to reach hotel, but then Positano is a vertical town and other places have similar climbs. They will send you porter to bring luggage.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Miramare during the last week of August and first week of September. I cannot say enough positive things about our stay. First, Rosita and the staff are fantastic. They truly go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Rosita helped us plan all of our day trips. Her guidance was invaluable and I would recommend following her recommendations. She offers you all options from public transportation to private tours. If you are going to the Isle of Capri, I would recommend that you let her set you up with a private tour. My husband and I did not and we came to regret that decision. Also, Rosita helped us decide where to eat dinner every night. Again, we were not disappointed. Be sure to go to La Terra. Honestly, my husband and I agreed it was the best dining experience we had had. The food was so fresh, the view was phenomenal and considering the amount of food we ate, the prices were reasonable.

The hotel is very well-kept, and has a special charm. I am a person who loves modern and contemporary, which this hotel is not. However, I can honestly say, I would return to Hotel Miramare without hesitation. Although our room was small(it was the last room available when we booked), it was fine as we spent most of our time on the huge patio facing the Sea. The view from the balcony was breathtaking and quite honestly could not be beat. Note: Every room has a sea view. Every evening my husband and I would sit outside and enjoy a glass of local wine and cheese before dinner. Rosita had recommended we visit the grocery store at the top of the steps and what a find. The wines from Ravello were 10 euro and we bought two huge chunks of cheese and olives for less than six euro.

The breakfast at the hotel was very enjoyable. The dining room itself overlooks the sea which is just beautiful. There are plenty of options including cereal, eggs, fruits, yogurts, cheeses, meats, breads, and cakes. Also, cappuccino and espresso are available in addition to regular coffee.

The one word of caution I have for anyone who is contemplating a trip to Positano is that you will ascend and descend many steps on a regular basis. My husband(49) and I(43) did not have any problem, but we exercise daily. Also, I walked the stairs at work(22 flights) from May until August so as to avoid muscle soreness. If you cannot walk steps, this is not the place for you. We loved it because we ate and drank as much as we wanted and actually lost weight from all of the walking and climbing we did. There are approximately 223 steps down to the beach from the hotel, and 150 steps up to the main road. I was very happy to be away from the main road b/c there was not any road noise at the hotel.

We did spend time at the beach. Again, Rosita recommended that we visit the beach away from the hotel (about a 10 minute walk) as it is quieter than the main beach. We loved it there. We rented chairs and an umbrella from the young men at the beginning of the beach. It was 8 euro and included a changing area and bathroom. I was able to negotiate 2 bottles of water the first day for the 8 euro, and negotiated a lower fee on the other days. There is no sand on the beach, so be sure to have "beach" shoes so you don't hurt or burn your feet on the rocks.

The trip to Positano for us was long. It took 19 hours from door to door. However, it was well worth it and we would do it again. We flew into Naples and had a car service drive us to Positano. It was 120 euros each way and worth every penny! I emailed Rosita after making the hotel reservation, and she set up the car service for us.

When we return to Positano, we will stay at Hotel Miramare. The funny thing is rather than feeling like we are going on vacation, it will feel like going back home to our family. Thank Rosita for such a memorable and wonderful vacation! I think of you often and miss having our evening chats.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria32746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Trara Genoino 29, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $257 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Miramare (rated four stars) is located in one of the world's most beautiful bays,which offers a combination of undisturbed relax and incomparable scenery.The historic centre of Positano and the main beach are just a short walk away. Hotel Miramare is well known for its excellent staff and for its panoramic breakfast room overlooking the bay. The spacious and comfortable drawing rooms and bar assure an enchanting and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing